TWD #66: Cooknie or Brownkie?

May 26, 2009 at 7:30 pm 19 comments

Um. I cheated.

I’ll just get that off my chest right now.

Ok here goes. *deep breath*

I only made the brownie part of the recipe and used frozen cookie dough from my freezer for the “chipster” part.

I know. I know. I’m a bad person. {hangs head in shame}

Does it help if I pinky-swear-promise that the next time I bake these (b/c there WILL be a next time) I’ll bake the cookie part too?

The thing is. I couldn’t bail on this week b/c my good friend, Beth of Supplicious is this week’s Tuesdays With Dorie hostess with the mostess. You can find the complete recipe on her blog. I’ve met her in real life and she’s just as sweet as she comes across from her blog. Me and Beth go way back. What’s it been, Beth? Like 2-3 years now? Remember when we were clueless brides. And now we’re equally clueless wives? HA! Wow. Time flies when you’re having fun…

What I learned this week:
I want need another KA mixer bowl. If I had another bowl I couldn’t use dirty dishes as an excuse to take shortcuts on multiple recipe desserts. (That’s almost believeable, eh? Do you think that would work on my husband?)


Chipster Topped Brownie [Cups]
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I used bittersweet and semisweet chocolate instead.


I halved the brownie recipe, weighed each frozen cookie dough about 0.5oz and got about 12 chipster cups. Baked for about 20 minutes.


When they first came out of the oven they looked so cute, like a cookie topped brownie, but as they cooled they kinda sunk. Boo!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
Nothing but raves for every bite! But he did suggest the next time I make them to substitute peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips in the cookie part.

Wifey rating: A+
Cookie good. Brownie great. Chipster AH-MAZING! I’m thinking butterscotch chips next time. Yum!

Next week: Cinnamon Squares pages 210-211

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Taste&Create: A Frugal Foodie’s Smoothie Bunday Monday {raincheck}

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steph  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Your cupcake cooknies/brownkies look so cute! I finally found those cupcake liners and now I don’t want to waste them..haha.

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I LOVE my second bowl. Best purchase thus far for the KA – well only purchase thus far for the KA. I used it the other night for lemon cheesecake bars — one bowl got the lemon, one bowl got the cheesecake part. Poured one on top of the other right away — instead of having to wait and wait.

    Reply
  • 3. Girl Japan  |  May 26, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    These look so, so delish.. oh my goodness.. I think it is time that I break down and buy a kitchen aid…

    Reply
  • 4. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:50 am

    I love how you made them as cupcakes. They look delish :-)

    Reply
  • 5. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  May 27, 2009 at 4:57 am

    you are forgiven for using store-bought dough, because those look fantastic!! i wish mine had come out like this!

    Reply
  • 6. pamela  |  May 27, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I like that you did them in the cupcake cups. What a perfect portion for smothering with ice cream!! Butterscotch chips next time would be very good.

    Reply
  • 7. chocolatechic  |  May 27, 2009 at 5:47 am

    I need another bowl to mine too.

    I love that you made cuppiecakes out of them.

    Reply
  • 8. Erin  |  May 27, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I love the way you baked them in cupcake cups! Great idea.

    Reply
  • 9. Di  |  May 27, 2009 at 6:49 am

    I think we can forgive you for cheating, just this once. =P I love the cupcake version.

    Reply
  • 10. Wendy  |  May 27, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Your brownie bites look fantastic. I’m glad they were a hit!

    Reply
  • 11. stephchows  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    sometimes life needs shortcuts, it’s all good girl :)

    Reply
  • 12. teaandscones  |  May 27, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    LOVE those little cup cakes. They look perfect!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Tracey  |  May 27, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Nice – I like your version a lot!! My cookie batter sank into the brownie batter and made quite a mess. They were tasty though – glad you liked them too!

    Reply
  • 14. Mary  |  May 28, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Two quick things….I love the little white cupcake papers….sooooo cute…also, you do NEED a second KA mixer bowl…in fact, I think I do too :)….good idea…

    Reply
  • 15. Vibi  |  May 28, 2009 at 6:08 am

    AH! ha! great minds think alike! minis I think, was the way to go for that recipe! Bravo… well done!

    Reply
  • 16. carolina  |  May 28, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Brilliant! I love your shortcut and presentation. Seriously, my favorite so far. I thought of doing the same thing to see if it would work, but I was even going to cheat on the brownie part. Thanks for sharing this with us!

    Reply
  • 17. Karen  |  May 28, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Those are adorable!!! I can understand the cheating part since they are so cute!

    Reply
  • 18. Linda  |  May 28, 2009 at 10:30 am

    We call them brookies in my house. All u need is some chocolate ganache on top. Drool.

    Reply
  • 19. Nic  |  May 28, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Those turned out cute as cuppies!

    I have an extra bowl and the mere thought of having to wash two mixer bowls makes me to lazy to get it out of the cupboard.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,389 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter