Taste&Create: A Frugal Foodie’s Smoothie

May 24, 2009 at 7:59 am 3 comments

Talk about waiting until the last minute. But better last minute than late, right?

I’m just not one of them early types. Early bird gets the worm never applies to me. I’m wormless. No matter how hard I try I am always fashionably late. Hmm… what’s considered fashionably late before you’re rudely late? These are things I ponder when I am running late. Because if I know where the line is I can at least to tip toe around it.

Obviously from the logo, I am talking about my second participation in Taste&Create event. My partner for this round is Alisa from One Frugal Foodie. I have to admit when I first browsed her blog I wasn’t sure how this would work. Let’s just say. I’m cupcakes and she’s health and fitness foodie living. Can you say opposites? But the first thing that popped out at my from her blog was a smoothie. A strawberry smoothie.

Now I’m a Californian. We’re all about Jamba Juice and Smoothies here.

Thanks for inspiring me this month, Alisa!


Strawberry “Julius” Smoothie
Recipe adapted from One Frugal Foodie

INGREDIENTS

2 Cups Strawberry Halves
1/2 Cup Water
3 Tbsp Honey or Agave Nectar or 1/4 Cup White Sugar (I used honey)
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Pinch Salt (optional)
2 Cups Ice
1-1/2 Tbsp Egg Protein Powder (or about 16-18g of favorite protein powder) (I substituted with half-and-half)

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine the strawberries, water, honey, vanilla, ice, and salt (if using) in your blender and blend it to a nice smoothie consistency. Add more water or ice as you see fit. Add in the protein powder and just give it a few quick pulses to blend it in.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: N/A

Wifey rating: A-
I think if you aren’t a sugar addict like me, you’ll enjoy the refreshing strawberry flavor with a hint of sweetness from the honey but for me I wanted to add more sugar. But that still didn’t stop me from drinking the whole thing.

Entry filed under: Taste & Create.

Bunday Monday TWD #66: Cooknie or Brownkie?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisa - Frugal Foodie  |  May 24, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Hehe, glad you enjoyed it even though my recipes are a little more on the healthy side! I guess that explains my dilemma with your cuppycake blog!

    The best sub for the protien powder is actually pasteurized egg whites; the egg is what gives it that authentic “julius” foaminess. And of course, you can add more sugar! Shake away. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  May 24, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    LMAO I can’t believe you put half and half in a smoothie. This is why I love you. You turn a healthy treat into a not so healthy treat in a matter of seconds

    Reply
  • 3. stephchows  |  May 26, 2009 at 7:46 am

    MMMMMMM looks delicious!! And there is nothing wrong with cupcakers and health nuts being friends if you ask me :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,315 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


