Caramel Chex Mix aka Bruin Mix

December 7, 2008 at 8:22 am 11 comments

Yesterday was the BIG game and I am late for the blog party.

Forgive me Mary from Food Librarian and Linda from Tender Crumb. I am sure you have those annoying friends that are always fashionably late right? Well… add me to that list. When I leave the house I always feel like I am forgetting something and run back to double-triple check which of course doesnt help the late factor. Sorry, punctuality is not a quality I possess much to the frustration of my husband.

By now you’ve probably seen the UCLA-USC score so you’ll understand why I am recovering from a post pity party hangover. They gave a valiant effort but alas they could not overcome. I did learn something at the party though. I love chocolate martinis! Mmmm…

… and the food was awesome. LOL

Bring on basketball season!


Recipe adapted from Baking Blonde

INGREDIENTS

12 cups Crispex Cereal
3/4 cup light corn syrup
1 stick of butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
Dash of salt
3/4 cup chopped pecans*
3/4 cup almonds*
3/4 cup honey roasted peanuts*
1 cup M&M candies (plain, peanut and/or peanut butter)*
1 cup mini marshmallows*

* You can adjust the amount to your taste. I really don’t measure anymore. I just kinda throw as much or as little as I want in. Sometimes I mix it up with walnuts or Reeces pieces too.

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 250F.

Line a very large roasting pan (or two rimmed cookie sheets) with quick release foil and lightly spray with PAM.

In a medium size sauce pan over low/medium low heat, stir together the syrup, butter and brown sugar. Stir constantly until melted and sugar has dissolved. Place the cereal, pecans, almonds and honey roasted nuts into the prepared roasting pan or cookie sheets. Carefully pour the brown sugar mixture over the cereal and nuts. Use a butter spatula to toss and coat the cereal and nuts completely with the brown sugar mixture. Evenly sprinkle lightly with salt.

Bake for 45 minutes removing every 10 minutes to gently toss with a buttered pair of tongs or spatula to ensure even baking/browning. While snack mix is baking, spread a few large sheets of parchment paper on counter. After mixture has finished baking, turn mixture out onto parchment making sure to spread out to prevent large clumps to cool. Add the M&M candies and marshmallows. Stir to combine.

Gently toss every 15 minutes to prevent further clumping together, breaking up clumps as needed. Store in airtight container.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s not a caramel fan but he loves to munch on this snack. He says its very addicting and he challenges anyone to eat just one handful.

Wifey rating: A+
I only make this when I am going to parties or pot lucks b/c if I have this laying around the house I’d eat the whole bag myself. Its TOO good.

Other rating: A+
Whenever I bring this to parties my friends go nuts. I always have requests for the recipe and there’s never any leftovers no matter if I double or triple the recipe. It has fondly been renamed: Crack mix. Of course the USC fans at the party wouldn’t eat the blue M&Ms. One die-hard fan even went out and bought red M&Ms. Sheesh. HAHA.

Entry filed under: snack.

NFR: Vinyl Letter Love Bunday Monday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steph  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:37 am

    ooo.. that looks delicious! I’ve always wanted to make snacks like this. Everytime we come down to the states for shopping, we buy bags of chex mix because there are so many more flavours! Making your own is so mcuh better though. Clara, have you ever added peanut butter to the mix? I wonder what that tastes like or would it be too much.

    Reply
  • 2. zebe912  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Another thing definitely not on my allowed foods list, but you have me craving it now anyway! Buying replacement m&m’s seems pretty extreme….hahaha.

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  December 7, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    These are great! Yes, not our game, but basketball season is a whole different game! I can’t believe that Trojan…but I am trying to be nice so I will withhold comment! :)

    Goooooo Bruins! Thanks for coming to the blog-luck! It was great fun and let’s do it again soon!

    Reply
  • 4. Di  |  December 7, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I’m definitely bookmarking this one. Sounds like something my girls will really like, though I’ll have to sub pretzels or something for the nuts. But marshmallows and m&ms? They’ll devour it. =)

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  December 8, 2008 at 7:36 am

    STEPH, I’ve never added PB but my hubs love this with PB M&Ms. If you try it with some PB let me know what you think! My PB-loving hubs would totally dig it!

    ZEBE, It aint called crack mix for nothing! ;) Uh yeah… he was ahem… loyal… to his school. Maybe a little “too” loyal. Its a damn M&M! haha.

    FOODLIBRIARIAN, Heck yeah! I can’t wait for BB season. I like football but I LOVE basketball! We definitely need to do it again!

    DI, ooohhh pretzels sounds like a great idea! Let me know what your kids think if you make it! :)

    Reply
  • 6. Mary  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Ok this one is bookmarked and I’m waiting for a party invite! It looks way better than the standard chex mix! :)

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:04 am

    MARY, Why wait for a party? Just make it for yourself. You have self control right? HAHA. (I am such a saboteur.)

    Reply
  • 8. katie  |  December 8, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Yay! I’m also a fellow bruin! Love your blog!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  December 8, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    KATIE, w00t! More Bruin love! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Di  |  December 17, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Boy, Clara, you weren’t kidding about the crack factor of this one! I made some this morning to take to Brianna’s school holiday party. It’s a good thing it’s all leaving the house tomorrow, because I can’t stop nibbling on it. I’ll blog about it soon, but it is quite good with the pretzels.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  December 17, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    DI, LOL. Awesome. Glad you enjoyed the crack factor. I bet the pretzels were delish! Definitely have try that addition next time. I love me some pretzels!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,368 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter