Ranch Chicken Wontons Cups

November 19, 2008 at 7:36 am 16 comments

Damn you April aka SB (said with love of course). It’s all your fault.

I was all set last night to eat a healthy salad (ok who we kidding I was totally gonna order pizza) and then I see her “heaven in a wonton” post and I got a craving. Cravings are evil. They make you do bad things like go to the grocery store just for some Hidden Valley Ranch dressing b/c thats the only thing you don’t have in your pantry to make April’s heaven in a wontons.

… and my friends know how much I hate driving.

That’s why you should make these. They were worth the drive.


Recipe from Wine Lovers Cooking Diary

Makes about 50 wontons

INGREDIENTS

1 pkg wonton wrappers
3-4 chicken breasts, boiled and shredded (I used pre-cooked chicken strips, chopped)
2 packages shredded taco cheese (I used cheddar-jack cheese)
1 (16 fl oz) bottle Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing (not light or fat free)
1 tsp chili powder + extra for garnish
green onion to taste, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 425F.

Line cupcake pan with wonton wrappers. Bake 3-4 minutes until edges are brown. Continue with all wrappers until they are complete. Arrange baked shells on cookie sheets.

In a large bowl, mix shredded chicken and entire bottle of ranch dressing. Add 1 tsp chili powder (can add more depending on your taste). Fill shells with chicken mixture and sprinkle each one with additional chili powder. Top with cheese and green onions.

Bake until cheese is melted, about 3-4 minutes.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He wasn’t very delicate eating the wonton b/c he stabbed himself in the lip trying to eat the whole thing in one bite. (Dork!) but after he got over the initial pain he raved about it and had 5 more. HAHA

Wifey rating: A+
I ate way too many of these little suckers. You think they are small and harmless but before you know it you’ve eaten 10+, barely breathing and in a wonton coma. I am looking forward to leftovers for lunch.

Entry filed under: chicken, finger foods. Tags: .

No TWD, Orange County Fires and Question CEiMB #7: [Oven Fried Chicken]

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. April  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:00 am

    YAY! So glad that you guys enjoyed these! They are definitely one of our favorite things by far to eat. They really do get you though before you know it!

    Reply
  • 2. Cathy  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Oh, these look like they’d make a great appetizer around the holidays, too! I’m totally trying these.

    Reply
  • 3. Nikki  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:33 am

    mmmm now I want wonton deliciousness damn you SB and CB

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:59 am

    APRIL, I am all about spreading the chicken wonton love. I am totally making these for my UCLA pot luck in a couple weeks. They were SO good.

    CATHY, Definitely try them! I bet they would be fabulous app at any party. Let me know what you think!

    NIKKI, Just make some you lazy B. HAHA

    Reply
  • 5. Shari  |  November 19, 2008 at 9:41 am

    This is a great way to fill wontons! Love it!

    Reply
  • 6. April  |  November 19, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Yeah, NB. Just make them. They are so worth any trouble that you might think they are. Trust me. I am the world’s smartest SB. :)

    Reply
  • 7. stephchows  |  November 19, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I was just looking at a recipe like this in “the food you crave” last night, they look so good! And I totally agree I hate driving, I wanted coffee at lunch today but refused to drive the mile to the place, so I walked… in 24 degree weather, and snow on the ground… I got issues. :)

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  November 19, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    SHARI, It wasn’t too hard either. A couple steps but well worth it.

    STEPH, You did more than me! I wouldn’t have walked either. HAHA. I’ll have to check out Ellie’s book for the wonton cups. I don’t remember seeing those and if she can make them “healthier” all the better!

    Reply
  • 9. zebe912  |  November 19, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    I can’t help but think that with a couple of modifications these could be made relatively healthy. I may have to experiement now that two of you have posted about it. Otherwise, it might be a good way to use up a bottle of ranch dressing that I don’t like so much for salad!

    Reply
  • 10. Carolina  |  November 19, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I am making these for my next partay!

    Reply
  • 11. Jacque  |  November 19, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Oh, holy cow, do those ever look good! Ranch dressing makes EVERYTHING better, lol. You were totally justified in a special trip to the grocery store :)

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  November 19, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    ZEBE, Definitely make your mods. I’d be interested in seeing how to make it “healthier” so I don’t feel guilty about eating 10+. HAHA.

    CAROLINA, Sweet! Let me know what you think!

    JACQUE, LOL. No doubt. Ranch is pretty darn good with anything…

    Reply
  • 13. susan  |  November 22, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I tried these and they are great- I did a test run today -for company tomorrow. Thanks for the yummy idea! They will love them!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  November 22, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    SUSAN, So glad you liked them! Aren’t they addicting? I dare anyone to eat just one! HAHA

    Reply
  • 15. Jaime  |  November 27, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    those look delicious. you should try the chicken squares in my blog, they are similar but use pillsbury dough instead of wonton cups so they’re a little less time consuming

    http://www.goodeatsblog.com/2007/10/savory-crescent-chicken-squares.html

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  November 27, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    JAIME, Just looked at your blog. My little bro loves Costco chicken bake so I am totally gonna have to give these a try! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,418 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter