No TWD, Orange County Fires and Question

November 18, 2008 at 7:19 am 25 comments

I am so sorry to this week’s TWD host, Isabelle of Les gourmandises d’Isa. I had every intention of making the rice pudding on my usual Sunday TWD baking day but…

I had a little girl 1 year old birthday party cupcakes to bake which took more time than I originally thought and sadly I was also spending time with family and friends who had been evacuated from their homes during the OC fires this past weekend.

Some of you may have read about or watched on the news about the fires. There were fires in the LA and OC areas. I was about 8-10 miles from the fires in OC. The air is smoky, ashy and hard to breathe but its slowly subsiding. That’s nothing compared to some friends that have lost their home. I can’t even imagine.

To Anna, Sarah, Joe, Tyler, Kathy, Stan, Jane, Wesley – You are in my thoughts and I am so thankful that you are safe.

To friends that called, sent text messages, emailed me over the weekend – I am so grateful for your friendship and concern about me and my family’s safety.

Question: If you were told you only had time to grab 4 things from your house before you had to evacuate, what would you take?

Anna asked me this question after she was evacuated with her 4 kids.

I am sure you’ve pondered this question before but never thought you’d actually have to do it, right? Same with me. So I didn’t have to think about it very long before I told her I’d grab my bunnies, laptop, wedding pictures and KA mixer. Answering her question I assume that T would be safe though but I’d drop everything if my husband needed me. He is my priority. He is my life. I can not live without him.

Entry filed under: NFQOTD, Tuesdays With Dorie.

Bunday Monday Ranch Chicken Wontons Cups

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mari  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Amen sister!

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Well we already talked about my THREE things (dude you can’t pick four … it’s three of five … have I taught you nothing :P)

    1. My Animals – Dog, Cat, Husband

    2. My lappies

    3 – My Camera

    4 – My Wedding box with all of G and I’d cards and love letters

    5 – A change of clothes …. being practical can pay off if you’re out of your house for a few days

    Reply
  • 3. Cristine  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:37 am

    My thoughts are with everyone affected by the fires.

    I would grab my kids and scrapbooks. That is assuming, like you said, that my hubby doesn’t need to be grabbed! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Carolina  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Yes, our thoughts are with you. We talked of the fires this morning. The kid’s pictures and toys we saw on the t.v. hit home. My friends’ kids went camping this weekend with their troop and went walking on the beach. They found “treasures” which used to belong to famlies before the hurricane.
    If my family is all safe, then I would grab:
    1) my pics
    2) my hard drive with my pics
    3) my purse
    4) and my KA mixer
    Take care, your Texas reader

    Reply
  • 5. macduff  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Aw honey, be safe. I hope all your family and friends are safe. We’re all thinking of you and your family.

    Reply
  • 6. food librarian  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Clara, thinking of you and your friends! This has been a really hard fire season for all of us. 4 things: my cat, laptop, photos and, well, I can’t grab the last thing because I’m sure I’ll spend all my time trying to grab the cat…

    Reply
  • 7. Jessica  |  November 18, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I grew up in OC (but no longer have any family or many friends there – even so, I am thinking of everyone affected there). I still remember getting a call in Fall ’93 while I was back east at college. My mom said that she was evacuating as a precaution; what should she grab from my room? I picked a few childhood momentos, but that was about it. Now, 15 years later, what would I take? My husband and daughter, my safety deposit box key, my computer backup disk, family photos, and…that’s about it.

    Reply
  • 8. Cathy  |  November 18, 2008 at 8:18 am

    My heart goes out to people who are suffering in CA right now. What a tragedy. Please stay safe!

    Reply
  • 9. Mike Spoodles  |  November 18, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Oh wow. My laptop, hard drive, iPod, and records box. And maybe my family if I’m feeling motivated.

    Reply
  • 10. chocolatechic  |  November 18, 2008 at 9:23 am

    So glad that you are safe.

    You really didn’t miss anything with the rice pudding.

    4 things I would grab???

    1. My hard drive~~my brain is in it.

    2. My pictures

    3. My camera

    4. My clothes. I am a large woman, and I KNOW that no Red Cross has clothes to fit me.

    Reply
  • 11. Tanya  |  November 18, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Glad to hear you and your family are okay, Clara! I actually had this conversation with my husband a few days ago. The four things I would save (assuming my husband is also fleeing):

    1. My two cats.
    2. My Winnie-the-Pooh stuffed bear I’ve had since I was a baby.
    3. My camera.
    4. The box full of notes, letters, and pictures from when my husband and I dated, were engaged, and married.

    My laptop officially died, so my husband will be responsible for his computer! Otherwise, I would have said my laptop.

    Reply
  • 12. Melissa  |  November 18, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Our computer (for all the pictures saved on it), my scrapbooks, my wedding album, and my purse.

    Reply
  • 13. stephchows  |  November 18, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    ok you seriously made my eyes tear up with your last paragraph. I’m so glad you’re ok!!

    Reply
  • 14. Amy Ruth  |  November 18, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    No doubt in “real life” we can quickly prioritize. You are a good friend to many and no doubt your kindnesses to them won’t be forgotten. Look forward to next week and glad all is well with you.
    1.Family
    2.Doggies
    3. Fav “Wust” knife
    4. computer
    5. “Hubby, please grab the KA…”

    Reply
  • 15. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I didn’t realize how close those fires are to where you are. Those kinds of things are so terrifying. I am glad to know you are okay. I worked for some attorneys for about nine years, until recently, who do estate planning so I have given lots of thought to how our stuff is stored and have a plan. Basically, our plan is to make sure that we are all safe, grab the box with our financial stuff and the laptop, plus we have a couple of emergency pack backpacks with a few essentials that I would hope to grab. The financial stuff would be hard to replace, but the memories with our photos of the kids on the computer would be the worst ‘material’ possession to lose.

    Reply
  • 16. zebe912  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I have thought about this too, of course, and assuming my husband can get out on his own, I’d grab my cat, and maybe my guitar. The other things I’d want, like the dining set from my grandparents isn’t practical. I think there are duplicates of almost all my computer files (the important ones) and photos at my parents still (dad is obsessive about back ups). So then I would grab clothes, boots, blanket (assuming it is winter like it is now). I would miss the things I left behind, but I know they’d all be replaceable.

    Reply
  • 17. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  November 18, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    glad to hear you are safe. seeing the destruction on the news, i really feel for your friends, and hope they are able to pick up the pieces from this tragedy. i love that your KA is comin’ with you! :)

    Reply
  • 18. Carol Peterman  |  November 18, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I hope you remain safe from the fires and have some clean air to breath soon. Once it all settles down, you can revisit this week’s recipe for some nice comfort food.

    Reply
  • 19. Rachel  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Last year, we almost had to evacuate during fire season. We packed a bag and it had:

    A change of clothes
    Our small safe with photo CDs and docs
    A few pictures
    A pillow

    Reply
  • 20. Jodie  |  November 18, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    CB, I didn’t know you were in my neck of the woods? Anyway, our thoughts and prayers are with your family. I was just thinking of this so I just backed up our external hard drive with all our pics. I would take (after people, of course):
    1. Our external hard drive
    2. Wedding album
    3. Financial/important documents
    4. Cell phone

    Reply
  • 21. Teanna  |  November 19, 2008 at 7:32 am

    I’m so sorry for all of your friends and I truly hope that all of this will be over soon and that these families can pick up the pieces and start rebuilding.

    Reply
  • 22. kim  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:29 am

    it would be so devastating to lose everything like that :( not pleasant to think about. i think my #1 priority, assuming husband is safe, would be my computer and external hard drive… and my camera, if i could manage it. love that the KA is on your list;) but i’m pretty sure i would be running out and not trying to carry mine!

    Reply
  • 23. Natalie  |  November 19, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Glad to hear that you are OK…..

    1) the boys (and husband)
    2) the dog and cats

    I guess I can’t think of anything else that means more to me than the above!

    Reply
  • 24. Sugar Betty  |  November 23, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Glad you’re ok. Just checking in . . are you going to do next week’s TWD?

    Answering your ?:
    (1) Hubs
    (2) Bulldog #1
    (3) Bulldog #2
    (4) Herman Miller Eames Red Lounge Chair

    Reply
  • 25. CB  |  November 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    SUGARBETTY, I am planning to make next week’s TWD for Thanksgiving but I have family that is requesting plain pumpkin pie and pumpkin cheesecake so we’ll see… Thanks for checking in chicky. You’re so sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


