CEiMB #7: [Oven Fried Chicken]

November 20, 2008 at 7:27 am 18 comments

<— Isn’t my new CEiMB badge so cute?

I’ve been using Ellie Krieger’s book cover for my last few CEiMB posts but when Natalie, CEiMB’s fearless leader, put out the creative call to all members about coming up with a logo, fellow Ellie-istas, Holly and Leanne answered. I couldn’t decide which one I liked better; they were both so adorable so I decided to use both! Holly’s in my sidebar and Leanne’s in my posts. Done and done. Everybody wins. Thanks for playing. HAHA

This week the Ellie-istas are cooking up some Oven Fried Chicken hosted by my Beantown homegirl, MacDuff from Lonely Sidecar.

I love fried chicken. And waffles. Waffles? Yes I said waffles. There’s an awesome chicken and waffle house near T’s work called Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles. Can you say major heart attack on a plate? But its INSANELY good. I could die happy eating that as my last meal. Of course since its so good that its bad (why are all my favorites in that category?), I don’t eat fried chicken very often. Can Ellie come up with a healthier version?

Things have been a little hectic at my house these last few days so I tried to remember if I had 4 chicken breasts in my freezer and was certain I did so it was never added to the grocery list. Last night I found out that I guessed wrong and came up 2 short. What’s a girl gotta do to find 2 more breasts? Now I know I could have halved the recipe again but I was poking around in the back of the freezer and… AH HA … there were 2 orange roughy fillets “chilling” in the corner. I thought about it for a minute, shrugged and said… “Why not? I like fish sticks!”

Check out the Craving Ellie In My Belly blog for all the other chickies and their chickens too.

(Hey MD I keep meaning to ask you what your blog name is in reference too? Curious CB wants to know!)


Recipe from Foods You Crave, Ellie Krieger

Makes about 6-8 servings
Serving size: 1 breast half or 2 thighs

* Nutritional Analysis—
Calories 270; Carbohydrates 21 grams; Total fat; 5 grams; Saturated fat 1 gram; Protein 33 grams; Fiber 1 gram; Sodium 590 mg

INGREDIENTS

1/2 sleeve (about 20) whole-grain salted crackers, pulsed in a food processor until fine (about 1/2 cup)
2-1/2 cups corn cereal flakes, pulsed in a food processor to fine crumbs (about 1/2 cup)
2 tablespoons sesame seeds
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2 egg whites
1 cup lowfat, plain yogurt
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
Olive oil cooking spray
4 medium sized skinless chicken breasts and 4 skinless chicken thighs, rinsed and patted dry (about 3 1/2 pounds chicken) (I used 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts and 2 orange roughy fillets)

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly spray a baking sheet with olive oil.

Combine the crackers and corn cereal crumbs, sesame seeds, cayenne, and garlic powder in a shallow bowl. Reserve.

In a large bowl, combine egg whites, yogurt, Dijon mustard, and salt. Add the chicken pieces and coat thoroughly with the yogurt mixture.

One at a time, dip the chicken pieces in the cracker mixture, packing crumbs onto chicken. Arrange the chicken on a baking sheet and spray lightly with olive oil cooking spray.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until juices run clear when chicken is pierced with a knife.

(I served with asparagus and mashed potatoes.)

[NOTES: I baked the boneless skinless chicken breast for about 45 minutes and the orange roughy fillets for about 20 minutes]

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
I was a little nervous b/c he’s not a hot-spicy food person and I forgot to the cut the cayenne pepper but he raved about the chicken and the fish. Not surprisingly he preferred the chicken over the fish by a little bit. What can I say? He’s a breast man. He still called dibs on the leftover fish fillet for his lunch though.

Wifey rating: A+
The chicken was good but the fish was delish esp with a little ketchup! Tasted like a healthier fish stick. I love fish sticks. The sesame seeds, corn flake, cracker coating was AWESOME. It smelled amazing pre- and post-baking. I am totally making the fish one again. Now question is… does Ellie have some healthy “chips” to go with it??

Next week: Macaroni and Four Cheeses page 168

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly.

Ranch Chicken Wontons Cups How-to: DIY Weekly Menu Board

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  November 20, 2008 at 7:34 am

    I LOVE the idead of using fish with this crust!!! I am going to do it this weekend!!!! I love fish stickts, too!! I want some heathly chips, too!! Yum!!

    Reply
  • 2. Cathy  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Oooh — love the idea of doing these as fish sticks, and glad to hear that they worked out great! I thought this was a great all-around recipe, and the heat could easily be adjusted to suit personal taste. Glad you guys liked these!

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:03 am

    What a great idea to make fish sticks!! It looks like both the chicken and the fish turned out great! I absolutely love cayenne pepper and use either it (or red pepper flakes) in just about everything I cook. Of course, I don’t put enough to make it spicy – just a dash to, as they say in the cooking world – enhance the flavor! Don’t be scared to use your new itty bitty jar of cayenne.

    Reply
  • 4. Peggy  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Girl I have never heard of fried chicken with waffles! But hey, I’m up for trying anything. I’m not a picky eater at all so b-r-i-n-g it on! Your meal looks delicious. The jury here is still out on your fish sticks however. :)

    Reply
  • 5. macduff  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:48 am

    that’s such a great idea!!! I LOVE fishsticks, and the coating would totally work on them. And oh lord, waffles. we’re together on that one.

    Lonely Sidecar is a reference to the fact that I love a good sidecar (the adult beverage), but I can never get anyone to drink them with me. People love light beer in these parts.

    I’ve been thinking about your friends and family all week long. Hope you’re all holding up well.

    Reply
  • 6. food librarian  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Great looking chicken! And I love Roscoe’s too!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Mary Ann  |  November 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Not fair! I want some of the fish- I didn’t even think about that option! Looks delish!

    Reply
  • 8. L W  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Love the new logo babe! And the chicken/fish sound great too. Ill have to give it a try.

    Reply
  • 9. Marthe  |  November 20, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    What a great idea to use fish and thus creating fish sticks!! Oh well, have to try that next time!! I loved these!! Yum!!

    Reply
  • 10. Natalie  |  November 20, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Aaahhh very creative CB. I love fish and think that would have tasted great. We actually served ours with the choice for next week. Mac and Squash (I mean cheese)!

    Also, thanks for all the work you are putting in for the TWD christmas card exchange.

    Reply
  • 11. Leanne  |  November 20, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Wow I can’t wait to try this crust on other things. Great idea.

    Reply
  • 12. Marthe  |  November 20, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Guess what…. I decided to give two smaller prices at my giveaway because everybody was so enthusiastic and….. You’re the runner-up!! Could you please mail me your adress so I can send the chocolate letter your way?

    My email is: mteunis@hotmail.com

    Reply
  • 13. runningwithfood  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    I love the substitution of fish! I’m a substitution-gal myself … every recipe is modified by yours truly. It must be some freakish, Type A thingy.

    Have a great night!

    Reply
  • 14. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I have a shameful love of fish sticks, so the idea of making them (and making them healthier) sounds great!

    Reply
  • 15. Rachel  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    You are such a smarty party!

    Reply
  • 16. carolina  |  November 21, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    yeah, i am going to have to try this for my hubby, minus the asparagus. He hates it. Good job! Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Reply
  • 17. steph  |  November 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I like using the coating to make oven fried onion rings too :) I’ve also used fiber one cereal ground up and spiced up as the coating, it’s wicked healthy AND tasty :P

    Reply
  • 18. Heather B  |  November 23, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    I bet this was delicious with the fish! Great call! It looks so tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


