Buttery Garlic Knots

September 21, 2008 at 1:22 pm 24 comments

I love garlic.

No wait. Let’s try that again with some enthusiasm shall we?

I LOVE GARLIC!

That’s better.

I didn’t use to. Actually one of my favorite dishes at Olive Garden is chicken scampi. But I use to ask if they could go light on the garlic for me. After I started cooking more and more, I realized just how awesome a little garlic is in almost every dish. Call me weird but I also love the smell of garlic on my finger tips! Its almost therapeutic (and keeps the vampires away!)

Side note: … but vegan vampires rock. If you don’t get the reference, don’t worry about it. You’re just not cool enough.

When I read on fellow TWD baker, Carla of Chocolate Moosey‘s blog, about hosting Weekend Cookbook Challenge: Garlic Edition, I knew I’d have to participate! She’s a fellow garlic lover too. But she didn’t want something that had 1 measly little garlic clove in a mesh of a billion other ingredients. She wanted something where garlic was the star of the show.

I admit I contemplated making a garlic cupcake but that didnt sound appealing even to me. LOL. So I settled on something I’ve had on my cooking queue for a while.

(Yes, I realize the recipe is not technically from a cookbook but I figured I’d enter it anyways b/c KA flour does have a cookbook and it could be in there right? HAHA)


Buttery Garlic Knots
(Recipe adapted from Repressed Pastry Chef & KA Flour | photos from me!)

Makes 8 knots

INGREDIENTS

Dough
3 cups bread flour
1/4 cup milk (I used whole milk)
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons instant yeast
1-1/4 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup + 2 tablespoons lukewarm water

Glaze
2-4 cloves peeled, garlic (I used 4 cloves)
2 tablespoons melted butter (I used 3 tbsp)
1/4 teaspoon Pizza Seasoning or Italian seasoning, optional (I used Italian seasoning)

INSTRUCTIONS

To make dough—
In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the dry ingredients together then add the olive oil, milk and water. Using the paddle attachment or dough hook, mix and knead to form a smooth, elastic dough, adding additional water or flour as needed. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased bowl, cover it, and allow it to rise for about 1 hour, until it’s doubled in bulk.

[NOTES: I added about 3-4 tsp of bread flour b/c my dough was a little sticky.]


[NOTES: I preheated my oven to 170F (lowest setting), turned it off and wedged a wooden spoon in the oven door to create a warm environment for my dough rise.]

Divide the dough into 8 pieces, and roll each into a rope about 10 inches long; tie each rope into a knot. Place the knots on a lightly greased or parchment lined baking sheet, cover, and let rise for 45 minutes to about an hour, until very puffy looking.



Tie a knot. Loop the left strand over the top and tuck in. Loop the right strand under and tuck. Check out Baker’s Banter for better step-by-step pics.

To make glaze—
Unpeel garlic cloves. Chop the garlic in a food processor (or you can use a garlic press), with the melted butter.

[NOTES: I just did it ghetto style, minced up the garlic with a knife and added to the melted butter. Too lazy to get out my food processor!]

To bake—
Bake the knots in a preheated 350°F oven for 15 to 18 minutes. They should be set, but only very lightly browned. Remove the knots from the oven, and brush or drizzle them with the seasoned oil. (You can reheat briefly in the microwave, if it’s solidified).

Sprinkle with a little pizza seasoning or Italian seasoning.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s not a big carb freak like me but he ate about 4 of them. HAHA.

Wifey rating: A+
Love me some carbs… Mmmm. Definitely will make this again (and again…)

Entry filed under: blog event, bread.

Foodie Question of the Day Bunday Monday

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Di  |  September 21, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Mmm, garlic knots. Aren’t these great? I made them a while back, and you just reminded me that it’s definitely time to give them another try. Yum. =)

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  September 21, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Yum! These look so good. I LOVE GARLIC!

    Reply
  • 3. Brooke  |  September 21, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Man, so I tried this and it was a disaster. What did I do wrong? I used self rising flour (which I thought was bread flour) and it was a big wet mess. I’m not giving up, tho.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  September 21, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    DI, Omg so freaking great! You definitely need to make them again. I am planning to make them again tomorrow! I am officially addicted. HAHA

    NICOLE, ::high five for fellow garlic lover::

    BROOKE, aaawww sorry to hear about your knot disaster. I am not sure how self rising flour would/if affect the recipe. Are you sure you added the right amount of liquids? Don’t give up! Second times the charm? ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Amber  |  September 21, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Mmmmmmm, these look absolutely delicious. I would love to eat a couple dozen of them. ;) I am going to have to give these garlicky knots of heaven a try.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  September 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    AMBER, To be honest I doubled the recipe and I ate more than 1/2 of them. My tummy hurts but it was SO worth it! LOL. You have to make. Let me know what you think!

    Reply
  • 7. isabelle  |  September 21, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    j’ai déjà fait cette recette et c’est vraiment excellent ! tes photos sont vraiment invitantes :)

    Reply
  • 8. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  September 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I’ve had this bookmarked for a while now. Yours look fabu! Hmmm… I think I get your vegan vamps reference too. By the way, how is The Host? I’m just about to start it.

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  September 21, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    ISABELLE, Dites merci! J’essaie de m’améliorer à la photographie d’aliments. Je suis heureux ainsi que vous avez apprécié la recette aussi! (Thank you! I am trying to get better at food photography. I am so glad you enjoyed the recipe too!)

    HOLLY, You definitely need to make it! Since you mentioned The Host, I think you get my vegan vampire reference too. Uh… to be honest. I read 30 pages of The Host and lost interest. Maybe I’ll pick it up again and give it another try. Let me know what you think about it, k? :)

    Reply
  • 10. Tanya  |  September 21, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Oooh, those look great! I love garlic. These would gone in a day in my apartment!

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  September 21, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    TANYA, Trust me. They were gone in less than an hour! LOL. So much for my carb free diet. Ooops!

    Reply
  • 12. Mary Ann  |  September 21, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Those look so good! I love garlic too and your blog for that matter! I gave you a blog award so go check it out when you get a second!

    Reply
  • 13. katie102006  |  September 22, 2008 at 5:08 am

    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE these things!!

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  September 22, 2008 at 9:07 am

    MARYANN, what? bloggy for me? AAAWWWW… I am so flattered. THANK YOU!

    KATIE, my sentiments exactly! I plan to make more today! HAHA.

    Reply
  • 15. Carla  |  September 22, 2008 at 11:48 am

    You know, I still have yet to make my own entry haha The garlic knots look great and are a perfect companion for any dinner. Thanks for entering! :D

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  September 22, 2008 at 11:55 am

    CARLA, LOL. Better git on that huh? I wanna see what you come up with! I wouldn’t mind having another garlic recipe to add to my must-cook list ;)

    Reply
  • 17. zebe912  |  September 22, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I want some. I know the gluten free version would not be as good, so it isn’t even worth the effort. I want the real thing!

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  September 22, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    ZEBE, aaawww yeah. sniff…

    Reply
  • 19. kamaile  |  September 22, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I’m a huge garlic fan myself. These look absolutely fabulous!

    Reply
  • 20. CB  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:57 am

    KAMAILE, thanky! They were quite garlicious. LOL

    Reply
  • 21. Sara  |  October 6, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    i made these earlier this year and they were fantastic! thanks for taking part in wcc this month.

    Reply
  • 22. CB  |  October 6, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    SARA, It was totally fantastic. I want to make them again but I am afraid I’ll eat them all again! haha.

    Reply
  • 23. Amber  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:43 am

    So I made these last night. Oh my dear lord they were fan-freaking tastic. If that was the last thing I ever ate I would be completely satisfied. :)

    Reply
  • 24. CB  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:52 am

    AMBER, I think they should be called Fan-Freaking-Tastic Garlic Knots. HAHA. Glad you enjoyed them. I wanna make more but I am trying to hold off for my muffin top’s sake. ;)

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,409 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter