Foodie Question of the Day

September 19, 2008 at 6:40 am 21 comments

How do you cook/bake recipes that you find via the internet?

A. Print the entire page
B. Bring your laptop into the kitchen
C. Other, explain.

(I found the question via Jenny of All Things Edible. Love reading her blog!)

I kinda mixed it up. Gotta keep it exciting in the kitchen you know? HAHA.

Sometimes I’ll print up a rough copy on my computer and put it in a plastic sleeve (so I don’t get stains on the paper b/c its inevitable that I will be messy) or I’ll bring my laptop into the kitchen if I am too lazy to print or I ran out of plastic sleeves. I am hoping to get a frig with computer/internet built in for xmas. I kid. I kid. (Ok, maybe only 1/2 kidding.)

What will they think of next? A refrigerator that senses when you are out of a certain product and alerts the grocery store for you? Oh wait. Some already do that. Whoa. I can’t keep up with technology these days… Forget internet or automated shopping lists. I just wish my frig had an ice maker. Simple pleasures people.

Happy Friday! (I’ll be here, waiting, waiting, waiting for my new frig…)

UPDATE: New frig arrived @ 4:26pm! w00t!

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Don’t drink the buttermilk water. Buttery Garlic Knots

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ulrike  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:37 am

    That’s easy, I copy it into my recipe program ….

    http://ostwestwind.twoday.net/stories/2281249/

    and it’s only a question of time until I have my laptop in the kitchen ;-)

    Reply
  • 2. Vibi  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:39 am

    That’s a very intelligent way to do Clara. I love the idea of the plastic sleeve… provinding one keeps concrete records of their recipes.

    I myself, never print (or extremely rarely) the recipes I’m about to make… call me stingy, the price of ink cartridges is just too obsene!
    So I jot down the ingredients and resume the method using signs, scribbles and graffitis rather than words. And because I also hate wasting paper, I use the same sheet for at least 5 or 6 recipes, sometimes even more, for the way I crunch up the explanations, takes a lot less space on the paper (I use front and back). I then recycle the paper and keep my recipes recorded only on my blog and my pc’s files. I would love to have a laptop, but could never ajust to their small and narrow keyboard; been using a natural ergonomic keyboard forever and would never consider parting with it! Next best step would obviously be to have my pc in the kitchen… yeah… in my dreams :(

    Reply
  • 3. NinaBeth  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:52 am

    I either print the entire recipe off. (Then after I’m done making the recipe John tosses the paper, because he haaates havine 30 sheets of paper just lying around our tiny kitchen.) Or I do like above poster and just jot down the ingredients and directions in a way that only makes sense to me, and even then I get confused sometimes.

    I made the mistake of bringing John’s laptop in the kitchen with me…. apparently it was too close to the sink full of dishwater for his liking. LOL!

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:53 am

    You do know that wasting paper is bad for the environment right? Geeze. hehe I just bring my lappie in the kitchen with me

    Reply
  • 5. Jen  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:08 am

    I either bring my laptop in or I scribble down enough notes on a scrap piece of paper that I get the jist of it. Also, I tape my scribble notes to the cabinet door or the fridge so it’s at eye level.

    Reply
  • 6. food librarian  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:21 am

    I don’t have a wireless connection in the house so I’ll print it out or scribble…lots of scribbling on the backs of recycled envelopes. Then I use a clothespin and attach it to one of my cabinet handles. My low tech version of your dream kitchen/laptop! This reminds me that I really need to organize all these recipes….

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:44 am

    ULIKE, recipe program? Now thats awesome! Oh yeah… its only a matter of time. I am attached at the hip to my laptop. LOL

    VIBI, So you have a secret recipe code that you use? Very cool! I can’t do that. I hate my handrwriting and I’d forget 1/2 of the codes written down by the time I got to my kitchen. HAHA!

    NINA, You have a secret recipe code too huh? Give me some abbrevs… Now I am curious to see if I can figure them out! LOL @ laptop too close to sink! Poor J. He probably had a minor heart attack!

    NIKKI, who says I throw them away? I have 3 ring binders where I keep them all b/c I tend to make recipes more than once. See…? I don’t waste! I am a good little conservationist. :)

    JEN, ooohhhh taping to frig door is a good idea! You are so brill. btw I was “this” close to buying my DLSR b/c Ritz is having a 90 day “Bill Me Later” sale but T is making me wait til xmas. What a buzzkill. hehe

    FOODLIBRARIAN, Recycled envelopes. NICE. I like the clothespin idea! Nothing wrong with lowtech! I still use ice cube trays. HAHA

    Reply
  • 8. Julie  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:16 am

    It depends. I have taken the laptop into the kitchen before… we also have one laptop hooked up to the TV, so I’ve had the recipe up on the tv before… just a short few steps from the kitchen to see the recipe…

    I think it also depends on what sort of recipe it is. I print most out because I figure I’ll use them again, and I like to stick them with a magnet to the exhaust above the stove.

    Sometimes if it’s a simple recipe I’ll write it down.

    Reply
  • 9. katie102006  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:20 am

    My dirty laptops sits on the kitchen counter. :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:31 am

    JULIE, Your laptop is hooked up your TV? NICE! I am usually squinting at my laptop so I bet the TV makes it big and clear to read. I wonder if I can do that with mine?

    KATIE, Um yeah… my laptop has probably every ingredient stuck in the keys to make some cookies. That reminds me. I need to find my “air in a can” and clean my keyboard out! HAHA.

    Reply
  • 11. Tanya  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:53 am

    I usually just print out the recipe and bring it in the kitchen. My husband is supposed to be taking our spare computer monitor and setting it up in the kitchen so I can look at recipes that way, but he’s obviously in no rush. I refuse to take my laptop in the kitchen because it would get so messy.

    Right now my computer won’t connect to the printer, so I have a notebook that I write all my recipes in.

    Reply
  • 12. steph  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I use google notebook to copy/paste new recipes that I find and want to try, add tags for easy sorting, and then i’ll either bring the laptop in the kitchen or print it out and file it into my HUGE 3 ring binder which is currently exploding with recipes :) having them on google notebook lets me view them no matter who’s house i’m cooking at which I LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Also if I find a recipe at work I can paste it in there and not worry when I’m home that I forgot to bring it along :) woohoo!

    Reply
  • 13. Di  |  September 19, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Our desktop computer is in the kitchen, though very close to the living room as well (our downstairs floor plan is pretty open). I love having it there. When I am adjusting a recipe (i.e. halving or doubling), I will often jot the new amounts of ingredients down in my notebook so I don’t forget to change one of them.

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  September 19, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    TANYA, oh thats fun! A monitor in the kitchen would be a great idea. Tell your hubs to get on that!

    STEPH, google notebook huh? I haven’t played with that yet. Might have to check it out now. I can totally relate with the 3-ring binder sitch. I have one for cupcakes and one for other. I think its pretty hilarious that the cupcake one is bigger than the other. Love cupcakes much? No not me. HAHA

    DI, See… I like the idea of a desk in the kitchen. Some purists don’t but we live in a technological age and having a computer AND desk close by would make my life much easier!

    Reply
  • 15. Karen  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I print them out now after I had a mishap with spilling milk all over my laptop. :)

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  September 19, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    KAREN, milk? oops! did it ruin your laptop?

    Reply
  • 17. Liliana  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I usually print them out but lately I plug in my laptop on end of the kitchen island. Enjoy your new frig!

    Reply
  • 18. Jaime  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    i bring my laptop into the kitchen and pray i don’t get crap on it!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  September 20, 2008 at 6:07 am

    LILIANA, oh thats sweet having a plug on your island. I want one of those!

    JAIME, LOLOLOL. Yeah that doesn’t seem to work for me.

    Reply
  • 20. zebe912  |  September 20, 2008 at 6:41 am

    I always just print it. We don’t have internet on the laptop at home (since we each have a desktop) and the laptops are for work/school. That way I can half or double the math on the sheet too (which I do more often than not). I keep what I like and recycle anything I don’t. Occasionally recipies have to be reprinted because I’m good at aiming my drips and splashes right ON any recipe I’m using (despite the fact I have a recipe stand).

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  September 20, 2008 at 7:11 am

    ZEBE, I print out recipes and scribble all over it. The plastic sleeve doesn’t stop me! HAHA.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


