Chocolate Cakesters

June 5, 2008 at 10:43 am 30 comments

I’ve never eaten a store bought cakesters before but I’ve seen them during many a grocery shopping experience. I imagine that this recipe is pretty close. Actually its probably even better! Just tooting my own horn here, people!

I know I am gonna get so much crap for using a cake mix *cough NIKKI cough* but before you push the delete button… hear me out!

I am not anti-cake mix esp if you use it as another ingredient and not the star of the show. I found the original recipe online back in the day when I could barely do more than microwave so its a little nostalgic for me. I was a little apprehensive the first time so I did it the easy way – cake mix and canned frosting – but this time I decided to do it a little more scratch to hopefully satisfy my curiosity about canned frosting vs homemade debate.

Even though its semi-homemade, the recipe is a little time consuming and I am choosy about when I make them but when T’s students requested it for their end of the year pot luck party, I couldn’t say no. T thinks its crazy that they can’t remember their city councilman or presidents for the test but they remember cookies that I made for them at the beginning of the year. Gotta love kids. They know their priorities!


(Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com | photos from me!)

Makes about 80 cookies or 40 cookie sandwiches

INGREDIENTS

For cookie
2 (18.25 ounce) packages devil’s food cake mix
4 eggs
1 cup shortening

For frosting filling
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 lb (~4 cups) powdered sugar, sifted

[NOTES: To save time you can use a can of pre-made cream cheese frosting too]

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cookies—
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).

Blend the above ingredients together with a pastry blender until mixed. Roll in balls about the size of a quarter and place on ungreased baking sheets. Make an even number of balls.

[NOTES: I used my KA mixer and flat beater to blend the ingredients a little then used my spatula to really combine everything.]

[NOTES: Call me anal or OCD but I think its easier to weigh the balls of dough with my kitchen scale so that they are all the same size when they bake therefore your sandwich is uniform. I weighed mine at about 0.5 – 0.6 oz for each ball.]

Bake for 10 minutes. Let cookies stand on cookie sheet for 5-6 minutes before removing them to cooling rack.

To make frosting—
Whip the butter and cream cheese together in a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until creamed. Add vanilla extract. Gradually add powdered sugar to the butter-cream cheese mixture. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

To assemble—
After cookies have cooled, use a spatula and spread some frosting between two cookies, putting bottom sides together. Roll sides in sprinkles for additional fun!


Click image to enlarge

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He loves this cookie and said its almost as good as the peanut butter ones… almost.

Wifey rating: A+
I could easily eat all 40 sandwich cookies by myself. They are a moist cookie-cake and the combination of frosting is SO good! But I can’t believe I am saying this… I think the canned frosting is better for this recipe than the scratch. Something about canned frosting. I have eaten it for breakfast on more than one occasion.

Other rating: A++
T said he opened up the tupperware and the kids pummeled him to the ground to get a cookie. After about 10 seconds (he can’t remember exactly how long b/c he got knocked to the ground) the cookies were gone and many students wanted the recipe.

Entry filed under: chocolate, cookies.

Join the Dorie-licious baking fun! Recipe Request: Scallops

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki57  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Um HELLO McFly the “cookies” are the star of the show and they were all about the boxed mix. I think our friendship is officially over. You are now blocked on gchat.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:36 am

    NIKKI, but but but… sprinkles!?!? sniff

    Reply
  • 3. nikki57  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Ya sprinkles … you couldn’t even kiss my ass and use jimmies. It’s over

    Reply
  • 4. nikki57  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Ok this feels sickeningly similar to breaking up with a BF and I wub you too much. I’ll open my gmail back up (you didn’t really think i blocked you did you … I just closed it to give the ILLUSION that I blocked you) hehehe

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:39 am

    NIKKI, you made me cry…

    Reply
  • 6. nikki57  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:44 am

    it’s ok I’m here to wipe you’re tears away

    Reply
  • 7. Julie  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    You two are hilarious.

    They look yummy Clara! :D

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    JULIE, thanks chica! They were too yummy! I always need a reason to make them and give them away b/c I’d eat them all!

    Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  June 5, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    This is a UTAH recipe girl! Everytime I make it here, people are like, what are those? I’m like “homemade Oreos!” But if I bring it to someone who’s lived in Utah, they totally know what they are!

    Around christmas time, you can put peppermint extract in the frosting…we Utahns, we’re fancy like that…haha

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    NATALIE, ah snap! Its a Utah thang huh? I love the idea of peppermint extract and I could do crushed peppermint candy around the perimeter too!! How fun is that?? :)

    Reply
  • 11. lemontartlet  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Those win for cutest cookie ever!

    Reply
  • 12. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    LT, I hope tastespotting agrees… I think they should feature the cutest cookie ever. ;)

    Reply
  • 13. katie102006  |  June 6, 2008 at 6:32 am

    What a great idea! I’m so doing this for our next party! :)

    Reply
  • 14. CB  |  June 6, 2008 at 6:43 am

    KATIE#, ooohhhh I think these are so cute for parties! If you bake them let me know what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 15. Jj  |  June 6, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Confession session! I, too use cake mixes but prefer to only when using it for a “large cause”, so to speak! ;) I don’t think it’s all that shameful, although there is no doubt a real cake from scratch is always better… These looks so good, by the way! :)

    Reply
  • 16. CB  |  June 6, 2008 at 7:43 am

    JJ, I am not anti-cake mix either! Actually cake mix is very nostalgic for me since those were some good memories of me and my mom but I do think its fun to use cake mix as an ingredient to create something besides cake you know? I guess its not scratch but semi-homemade is pretty fab too. :)

    Reply
  • 17. Lori  |  June 6, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    they look yummy! My kids would love them!

    Reply
  • 18. Mara  |  June 6, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    CB I’ve mentioned before that I was raised on cake mix, and yes from scratch tastes so much more ‘in depth’ somehow but those are SO CUTE…and I love how you make the cookies from the boxed mix. It can’t be ALL BAD right? Right?!?! :)

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  June 7, 2008 at 6:34 am

    LORI, How old are your kids? Oh who am I kidding?! Any kid would LOVE them! Even a 20-something-almost-30 something kid like me! ;)

    MARA, I think cake mix is great as a base for something. Its not totally scratch and I would never present a recipe I made as scratch if I used a cake mix but I am definitely not anti-cake mix. PS. Its not bad AT ALL… haha.

    Reply
  • 20. Deborah  |  June 7, 2008 at 7:39 am

    I’m totally down with using a a cake mix for some things. And these look sooo good!!

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  June 7, 2008 at 11:47 am

    DEBORAH, w00t! Another pro-cake mix-er! :)

    Reply
  • 22. blogchef1  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

    no hate for the cake mix – these looks great! nice presentation.

    Reply
  • 23. CB  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:26 am

    BLOGCHEF, nice to meet another pro-cake mixer. Thanks for stopping by! :)

    Reply
  • 24. Kristen  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Oh my oh my oh my! These look amazing!

    Reply
  • 25. CB  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:40 am

    KRISTEN, haha. love the enthusiasm. Thanky!

    Reply
  • 26. Lori  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I’m definitely open to the cake mix – it’s that one cup of shortening that gives me pause!! Is that right, it’s not a typo?

    They’re gorgeous cookies, I love the sprinkles. (but a cup of shortening? really?)

    Reply
  • 27. CB  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:26 am

    LORI, um.. yeah… thats not a typo! A big reason why I don’t make these cookies very often. haha.

    Reply
  • 28. My Sweet & Saucy  |  June 16, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    These are just too adorable looking!

    Reply
  • 29. CB  |  June 16, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    SWEET&SAUCY, aren’t they? I think the sprinkles ups the adorable factor! ;)

    Reply
  • 30. clean  |  October 2, 2014 at 5:15 am

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part :) I care
    for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time.

    Thank you and good luck.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,409 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter