Foodie Question of the Day

March 10, 2008 at 7:27 pm 8 comments

What are your food plans for Easter? (Sunday, March 23rd) and include recipe/links please…

T and I spend every Easter with T’s huge family (mom, dad, brother, aunts, uncles, cousins, grandma etc). We usually eat a smörgåsbord of fabulous food potluck style: broccoli salad, deviled eggs, prime rib, sweet potato casserole, orange fluff… ::drooling::

My contribution is usually some kind of dessert. I am thinking this year I might have to try my hand at a carrot cake + cream cheese frosting.

(Thanks Beth for the question suggestion!)

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Menu 3.10-3.16/08 TWD #3: An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  March 10, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    My mom always has lots of family over for the regular baked ham, scalloped potatoes, rolls, lots of casseroles and side dishes, and cheesecake for dessert. Last year we started rotating holidays because we were tired of running back and forth, so we’ll be spending Easter day with the husband’s family… I have no idea what we’ll eat. I shall report back ;-)

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  March 10, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    MICHELLE, Mmmm… can I come over? ;) I loves me some cheesecake!

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  March 10, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    I have no idea what we’ll eat. We are going to LA for my BFF’s bday and then we’ll stop at hubs g’parents house at some point. I just hope there are Cadbury Mini Eggs involved. YUM!

    Reply
  • 4. katie102006  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I haven’t made this year’s menu yet b/c I have two parties to host before Easter still but here is my last year’s menu: http://goodthingscatered.blogspot.com/2007/08/easter-brunch.html

    I also JUST made a carrot cake and my husband, brother and I decided it was the best one we’ve tried. You may want to take a look at this recipe too. It was a big winner: http://goodthingscatered.blogspot.com/2008/03/simple-carrot-cake-with-cream-cheese.html

    Hope that helps! :)

    Reply
  • 5. BBKiddo  |  March 11, 2008 at 7:32 am

    For Easter we always have:
    roast lamb with green mint jelly. Asparagus usally steamed then seered in a pan with garlic and butter
    Baby red potatoes with butter and dill
    some sort of fruit salad
    for dessert it we always have strawberry shortcakewith fresh whip cream, lamb cake, and coffee.
    The lamb cake is acutally just a white cake with white frosting covered in coconut made in a lamb shaped pan. It’s cute and I’ve made it with my grandma every year since I can remember. For Strawberry shortcake we cut up fresh strawberries then take the extra ripe pieces and puree them with some sugar to pour over the top. We buy a container of whipping cream and make fresh whip cream to top each cake off.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  March 11, 2008 at 8:33 am

    RACHEL, oh fo sho! Cadbury mini eggs are a must!

    KATIE, ohmygod. Your previous Easter menu sounds fabulous! Can I come over this year? ;) Thanks for the carrot cake recipe! I might have to give that one a go on your rec. :)

    BB, ::drooooling:: I am so craving strawberry shortcake now.

    Reply
  • 7. zebe912  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I think my mom has one of the lamb pans that BB mentioned. I don’t remember ever actually using it though. Maybe I’ll make that this year. For the past two years, I’ve hosted Easter because I had to perform at the church here where we live. This year I get to go back home though, so I assume my mom or sister is hosting. I’ll make something though. Normally we would have ham, but my sister hates it so my mom doesn’t make it anymore. Maybe turkey?

    As kids we used to go to the Easter breakfast at our church & it was basically an Easter potluck. That was pretty good & it was fun to look at all of the different ways people decorated the hard boiled eggs that were put out on the tables.

    Good carrot cake is fully dependent on a good frosting recipe! The cake is only secondary :-) and must be very moist. No raisins in mine, thanks.

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  March 11, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    ZEBE, agreed. I am not a carrot cake fan so its all about the frosting for me. I don’t like raisins either.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,417 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter