10 Holiday Gift Ideas for the Foodie in Your Life

December 2, 2009 at 9:10 am 17 comments

Alternative Title: Dear Santa, I’ve been a good girl (more than 50% of the time). Here’s what I want this year.


1. Digital Measuring Cup and Scale $34.95
How many times have you read in your baking books that measuring ingredients by weight is much better for baking? I am almost ashamed to admit that I still do the old school scoop-and-level technique. But now this little gadget combines a measuring cup and a digital scale. It’s the best of both worlds. If Santa doesn’t bring me one, I might have to buy it myself.


2. Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer Pasta Attachment $179.95
I love pasta so this attachment makes me giddy. Check out the link for a video too. I think the thing that pushes me over the edge is all the different pasta cutters that come with it in a nice little compartment. I’m a sucker for packaging.


3. Kitchenaid Glass Bowl $69.99
I don’t need the Kitchenaid Mixer. I already have my beautiful Artisan red that I fondly named Ginger Spice. I just want the glass bowl. Think about it. You can microwave it. Can you imagine the possibilities if you could microwave and go straight to beating/whipping in your mixer? It also has measuring lines and a spout to pour. I’m sold.


4. The Magic Mouse $69.00
This isn’t “quite” foodie but it’s foodie related esp if you are a foodie that blogs. I love my iPhone and my Mac so I’m excited to try out the touch mouse esp since I hate the ball scrolling mouse I have right now. The ball is on it’s last “roll”. Right now I can scroll “up” but “down” aint happening anymore. I think it’s a design flaw for the mac mouse so the touch mouse would eliminate that issue. And it doesn’t hurt that the mouse is damn sexy.


5. Le Creuset French Oven, Red $225-$260 (depending on size)
Talk about lusting. I’ve been LUSTING after a Le Creuset french oven for a LONG time. But check out that price tag. All foodies swear by it regardless of price. That’s how I feel about my KitchenAid mixer but I have yet to break down and buy a Le Creuset. The price always deters me. But I’m a little hopeful after reading Michelle of Brown-Eyed Baker’s post about “Buying Le Creuset on a Budget“. Next stop. Marshalls.


6. Temecula Olive Oil Sampler Pack $23.99
I am obsessed with Temecula Olive Oil. I went to their store for an olive oil tasting a couple months ago and it’s better than a wine tasting! Although many of my wino friends may disagree. HA! I use it so much that my 4 bottles are almost gone! I have tried their Citrus Olive Oil (made cupcakes with it!), Lemon Olive Oil, Basil Olive Oil (it’s amazing on pizza and pasta!) and Vanilla&Fig Balsamic Vinegar (pour a little on some brie and instant appetizer!)


7. Pizza Peel $18.71
I already have a pizza stone from William Sonoma but I feel like I’m not using it to it’s full potential without a pizza peel. Trust me. Trying to get an uncooked pizza onto a HOT pizza stone is impossible in one try. Unless you don’t mind ghetto looking pizza and/or burned fingers. Nothing wrong with ghetto but I’m OCD about my pizza being round and pretty.


8. The Steamy Kitchen by Jaden Hair $18.45
I’m Asian (specifically Vietnamese) so I have a thing about wanting Asians to succeed. You can ask my bff, Nikki, about my Asian obsession. When we watch our 2 fav shows, Project Runway and Top Chef, I always want the token Asian to win. (Chef Hung rules!) What can I say? I’ve got the Asian pride. So of all the new cookbooks out right now I definitely wanna get a copy of The Steamy Kitchen. My mom would be so excited to see me learn how to cook Vietnamese food. And I can tell my mom that I kinda sorta know Jaden. Ok not really. But I follow her on twitter so I feel like I do. (Is that stalker-ish?)


9. Lowell Ego Light $88.99 ($177.98 for 2)
My old apartment use to face in the wrong direction to get any natural light. My new house is better but in the natural light department but not as good as it could be. Many foodie friends that live in a cave like me swear by these Lowell lights. I think it’s about time to take my food photography to the next level and get myself some decent lighting. My camera will thank me.


10. Sony Under-Counter LCD TV/CD Clock Radio $399.99
My friend has an under the counter LCD tv/radio combo in her kitchen and I LOVE it. Wouldn’t it be fun to watch your favorite foodie shows (Top Chef, Ace of Cakes, Cake Challenge, Giada DeLaurentiis, Barefoot Contessa etc) while actually in your kitchen cooking? I think so! That way my Hubs can watch what he wants and I can be in the kitchen watching what I want. I wonder how hard it would be to run cable to my kitchen? Ah details details.

Footnote:
I stole borrowed this fabulous list idea from my foodie friend, Maria of Two Peas and a Pod after reading about her favorite foodie things via her blog. I added a few things from her list to my Dear Santa letter along with other gadgets I’ve been lusting after for a while. Hope my list (and hers) gives you some ideas for the foodies in your life. Hopefully one of the foodies is me! *wink

Entry filed under: PSA.

NaBloPoMo: Day 30 Foodie Question of the Day

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. food librarian  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

    CB, What a great list. I want one of everything too! – mary

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:31 am

    You know, I actually don’t think Le Creuset is worth it. My mom has a set, and it’s nice cookware, but I bought a $30 knock-off enameled cast iron Dutch oven from Target several years ago, and it works great. I’ve also heard great things about Lodge’s line of enameled cast iron. I don’t know that I’ll ever bother buying a real Le Creuset piece.

    Reply
  • 3. Stormie  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Great list! There’s quite a few things I would love Santa to bring.

    I just recently picked up the new magic mouse. My mighty mouse had the same exact scrolling issue. Love this new one!

    Reply
  • 4. Emily Rose  |  December 2, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I agree with Bridget about le creuset- I’m sure they are wonderful but Lodge cast iron is extremely high quality for much less money!! I am absolutely in love with that measuring cup though ooh and the glass bowl attachment! great list!

    Reply
  • 5. Alanna  |  December 2, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Yup….just added that glass bowl to my wishlist! Our KA mixers could be twins. Love them!

    Reply
  • 6. Maria  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I love your list! I want that little tv in my kitchen so I can watch my basketball while I bake!

    Reply
  • 7. Margaret  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    That list works for me!! Now if you get two of anything…..

    Reply
  • 8. Susan  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    CB – I have the tiny fold down TV. My husband bitched and complained when I bought it ($250) because “it’s a waste.” – Ummm, that TV gets watched MORE than our 60 incher in the next room. I will never have a kitchen without one again.

    As for that measuring cup – WANT WANT WANT.

    And you LC find at Marshall’s? SO jealous. I finally broke down and paid a small fortune for the Calphalon Enameled French Oven – I couldn’t pony up for the LC. I bet you’ll love it!

    Reply
  • 9. Jaden  |  December 2, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Thanks! You’re so sweet to include me in your list!

    Reply
  • 10. Katie  |  December 2, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I have that exact same tv! I totally think you should get it! I just drilled through the back wall and ran the cable from the room behind it.

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle {Brown Eyed Baker}  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Awesome list! I’m glad you were able to snag a French oven at Marshalls, yay!! How cool is that scale/measuring cup?? And I want some Lowell lights too. Also on my list – seeds to plant a money tree :)

    Reply
  • 12. Dolce  |  December 3, 2009 at 7:00 am

    This is an impressive list. On another note : I absolutely love the “snow” on your blog :) It’s the cutest!

    Reply
  • 13. Heli  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    “I am almost ashamed to admit that I still do the old school scoop-and-level technique”

    I don’t even level anymore! I just scoop and if this one if a bit over than the next scoop is a bit over. My baking is seriously getting too sloppy.

    Reply
  • 14. Marielle Christine  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I LOVE that mixer attachment!! So cool!
    Thanks for sharing! :)

    Reply
  • 15. Mary  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Um, sorry I seem to have fallen off the planet, but I just wanted to let you know that I thought I wanted a regular old pizza peel too, but my wonderfull husband bought me the Super Peel (seriously that’s the name, Google it!) and it is the most terrific thing ever!

    Oh yeah and I’m too cheap to buy a Le Crueset too. I have the super cheapo enameled one from Target and I think it works great.

    Reply
  • 16. sugar plum  |  December 28, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    what a lovely compilation of fantastic goodie -i l wish could send santa a note about the digital weighing-it simply rocks…..
    happy hols and a brite new year…..

    Reply
  • 17. adiphene weight loss pill  |  June 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    They made use of the exact same innovative science to create Adiphene
    as they did Phen375, and this wound up developing a fantastically safe, unbelievably effective dietary fat burning supplement that other business
    envy. So, I know you are going to ask in desperation, is
    there any diet pill that works fast and yet doesn’t need any
    prescription to buy it. The thermogenic and stimulants from
    Adiphene will help your body to burn the energy which are consumed throughout meals.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,405 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter