Foodie Question of the Day

December 7, 2009 at 7:38 am 5 comments

What was the WORST Christmas food related gift you’ve ever received?

This happened about 6 Christmases ago.

My ex-SIL (you can already tell there’s some bad history from her prefix) was the QUEEN of gifts. She had that creative flair that made every gift perfectly wrapped with bows and matching To and From tags. You know those types right? *cough April cough* I kid you not. Ex-SIL was the Debbie Homemaker of gifts. I would try to aspire to wrap gifts like her but I am WAY too lazy to make a bow look that perky.

So imagine my surprise when the last Christmas that she was part of our family, Hubs and I received our gift as an unwrapped box of Sees candy. Now we’re not gift greedy or anything. I’m all about the food and candy gifts for Christmas being a foodie myself but this gift was so uncharacteristic of her. That’s what made it so surprising. But wait there’s more…

Upon opening the box of Sees candy, we realized right away that it was a regift. How did we know… you ask?

Candy had mold. It was straight up fuzzy.

It’s not right what she did to that chocolate. Damn shame.

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

10 Holiday Gift Ideas for the Foodie in Your Life Un-New Year’s Resolution 2010 **GIVEAWAY**

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  December 7, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Ewwww gross! I can’t think of any good BAD food gifts! I guess I’m lucky.

    Reply
  • 2. fergojisan  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Wow, that’s really gross. See’s is really good when it’s not moldy, if you haven’t tried it. I would imagine that a lot of people would answer your question with fruitcake, but not me. I love it, as long as there’s alcohol present. I made one in November of 2008 that I will be digging into soon. No mold on that baby, the bourbon keeps it at bay. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Suzy  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    mold on chocolate?! *Sobs* NO!!!!
    Against all my dropping hints NO ONE in my family gets that I’d LOVE food related gifts, instead of maternity coats (wth?) and clothes for the baby to be. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 4. itstrichy  |  December 7, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I love that April gets credit in this. I’ve never gotten a gift from her, but I can only imagine how immaculate it would be. :-)

    Reply
  • 5. girl4duke  |  December 10, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Wow…. just…. wow.

    I mean, I don’t have any problems with re-gifting for the most part… but you DO NOT RE-GIFT FOOD!!! YUCK!

    I can’t think of any bad food gifts that I’ve received… so either it was so bad that I’ve blocked it out of memory, or I just haven’t had any terrible experiences. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


