Chicken & Asparagus in Lemon Cream Sauce

February 19, 2008 at 9:10 pm 6 comments

I originally saw the recipe on my uber chic friend, Andrea‘s blog and knew I wanted to try it! Pasta, chicken and cream sauce… It was made for me! Since Andrea took a couple liberties with her recipe, I posted the original recipe from Jaime‘s blog with my changes.


(Recipe from GoodEatsnSweetTreats | photos from me!)

Makes 4 servings
Calories/serving = ~252.6 (www.sparkrecipes.com)
WW pts/serving = ~5

INGREDIENTS

8 ounces uncooked long fusilli (I substituted farfalle pasta)
1 3/4 cups (1 1/2-inch) slices asparagus (about 1/2 pound)
1 cup frozen green peas, thawed (I omitted)
1 tablespoon butter
1 garlic clove, minced
1 cup organic vegetable broth (I substituted chicken broth)
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1/3 cup heavy cream (I substituted evaporated milk)
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Dash of ground red pepper
Coarsely ground black pepper,optional
Lemon slices, optional
2 chicken breasts, optional (I used pre-cooked chicken strips)

INSTRUCTIONS

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Add asparagus during last minute of cooking time. Place peas in a colander. Drain pasta mixture over peas; set aside.

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Melt butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and sauté until browned on both sides. Remove chicken from pan, slice, and cover to keep warm. Add garlic to pan; sauté 1 minute.

Combine broth and cornstarch in a small bowl; stir until well blended. Add broth mixture to pan; bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute or until thick, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in sliced chicken, cream, juice, salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and red pepper. Add pasta mixture to broth mixture; toss gently to coat. Garnish with coarsely ground black pepper and lemon slices, if desired. Serve immediately.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He took the leftovers to work and raved about it when he came home. He said he was the envy of his CWs. haha.

Wifey rating: A
I wasn’t sure how I would feel about a “lemon” cream sauce but this was VERY good. My sauce wasn’t that thick though. Not sure if thats b/c I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. No matter. It was still delish!

Entry filed under: chicken, italian, main dish, pasta, weight watcher.

NFR: T-T-T-ag yer it! Foodie Question of the Day

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zebe912  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I really need to start using asparagus IN recipes rather than just as a side. Unless the asp. comes out just the right texture, I can’t eat it though, so the whole idea makes me nervous. This sounds like a good way to experiment though.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    ZEBE, I am not a veggie person at all but I like asparagus for some reason. I know that Andrea subbed broccoli for asparagus so you can also try that too! :)

    Reply
  • 3. Racheypoo  |  February 20, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I’m gonna make this when hubs is gone. He’s not a fan of asparagus and it’s one of the few things he just doesn’t like eating.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  February 21, 2008 at 7:17 am

    RACHEYPOO, see…? i think its kinda interesting that ppl that like veggies don’t usually like brussel sprouts and asparagus whereas I do not like veggies but those are the veggies that I do like. Me just weird. hehe.

    Reply
  • 5. Andrea  |  February 22, 2008 at 9:52 am

    w00t! Mine wasn’t that thick either. I might add some cornstarch or flour next time to thicken ‘er up. That was one tasty little treat though!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  February 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    ANDREA, yeah I am thinking next time a little more cornstarch but no matter… it was really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


