TWD #31: “A child is a curly, dimpled lunatic.”

September 23, 2008 at 1:05 am 42 comments

“A child is a curly, dimpled lunatic.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I think my parents would have to agree with Mr. Emerson but they’d probably change “child” to “teenage daughter”.

I did have curls. It was a perm gone very wrong though. We won’t speak of it anymore. ::shuddering at the suppressed memory::

I wouldn’t say I was a bad daughter but I wasn’t exactly a picture of parental perfection either. I know my parents probably thought many times, while I was growing up, that there must be some mistake at the hospital. Somewhere out there was their “real” daughter with aspirations at 5 years old to be a doctor like their son while I was well… clueless about what I wanted to do when I grew up.

Come to think of it. I guess I never grew up b/c I still don’t know what I wanna do. What about a full time blogger/baker who makes 6 figures a year? Is that too much to ask? Can someone point me in the direction of that want ad? HAHA.

But now that I am 20 something-closer-to-30 something I realize more and more that its ok not to know. That’s what life is about, right? Just like my wedding invitation said:

Life is a journey not a destination.

Actually my wedding invitation said “Love” not “Life” but you get the point.

This week the Tuesdays with Dorie bakers are switching it up from cookies to cake. Thank you geebus… I mean Michelle from Bake-En who is our host this week. You can find the original recipe on her blog or you can find it on Serious Eats by Dorie herself.

Not that I have anything against cookies but I am definitely more of a cake/cupcake girl. Its the frosting aspect. Something about sugar, butter, vanilla extract and milk combo that makes my tongue tingle. I think my last meal on death row would need to include something with frosting. Slightly morbid but true.

{uncomfortable silence}

… and on that note. Have some cake! It has dimples… LOL

What I learned this week:
I don’t have cardamom in my spice rack. Who knew?? Obviously I didn’t!


Dimply [Cherry] Cake
(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)


I used cinnamon instead of cardamom


I used the zest of 1 lime instead of orange


I used frozen cherries, thawed and drained, instead of plums

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
T is kinda the opposite of me. He’s not into really sweet cakes so this was right up his alley. He liked how moist the cake was along with the pops of cherry in each bite.

Wifey rating: A
I wasnt sure if I’d like this cake b/c there was no frosting? It aint cake with no frosting! But I was pleasantly surprised eating a piece for breakfast the next morning. Its a great everyday kind of cake. Even better the next day IMO.

Other rating: A+
T’s dad tried a piece and asked me if I could saran wrap a couple more pieces for him to take home. I have a feeling he liked it, no?

Next week: Creme Brulee page 393

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Peppery Brown Sugar Salmon Martha. Martha. Martha.

42 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 22, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Oooh, straight “A”s from the testers! Gotta love that. Your cherry/lime variation looks really good. I have a thing for cherries. We were bowled over by this cake. I agree with you: great everyday cake. As in: great cake for Every Day!

    Reply
  • 2. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  September 22, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    I think I would have liked a cherry version – it sure looks great. Now… about that frosting thing – no one would ever put you on death row – besides we would all send you cakes with jail breaking tools! ROTFLMAO

    Reply
  • 3. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  September 23, 2008 at 12:21 am

    with cherries, i bet i’d give this an A+ too! yum!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lori  |  September 23, 2008 at 3:29 am

    I like the idea of cherries – then it reminds me a little bit of a clafoutis! Great idea, I may give this one a try.

    Reply
  • 5. Andrea  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:30 am

    This looks wonderful, I love the cherry lime variation you did, I really want to try it! I’m glad you enjoyed it, it is a new favorite at our house :)

    Reply
  • 6. food librarian  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Love the cherries – are those Trader Joe’s? The combo of cherry and lime sounds way delicious!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:21 am

    HOLLY, Whew! Thats reassuring. I expect all my fellow bakers to bake me up HUGE layer cakes to accommodate sledgehammers, jackknives, chisels etc etc… LOL

    FOODLIBRARIAN, No, they aren’t TJs. Just cheap bag of frozen cherries from the grocery store. I heart TJs but maybe its good that I can’t get there as often as I like. I’d go broke!

    Reply
  • 8. Nikki  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:35 am

    ::Singing:: Life is a Highway. I’m gonna ride it all night long .

    Highway. Journey. Same thing. Your dimply cakes looks great.

    PS CB with a perm … omg I must see pics!

    Reply
  • 9. Shirlie  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:53 am

    I love your flavor variations! Great photos, as well. I think my “death row” last dinner would have to involve frosting and cake, as well!

    Reply
  • 10. Anne  |  September 23, 2008 at 7:36 am

    It looks great with the cherries and limes! I know what you mean about the frosting thing (but I figured since there wasn’t any on this cake, it wasn’t really cake, and was more of a breakfast, since I’d feel a little bit guilty eating cake for breakfast all weekend long!)

    Reply
  • 11. Mara  |  September 23, 2008 at 7:51 am

    mmmm cherries. i actually halved the recipe which made it really hard to cream butter and sugar, so my batter was not quite as satiny. but the taste was YUM. dimply…save it for my thighs!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Karen  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Yum! That looks delicious! :) Good job with the substitutions. I may have to try those!

    Reply
  • 13. Mary Ann  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:30 am

    It looks great with cherries! I bet it tasted great, I love the color it adds to the cake.

    Reply
  • 14. Di  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:34 am

    My girls both have very straight hair, but the dimpled lunatic part is right on! =) Your cake really makes me wish I liked cherries–it looks wonderful.

    Reply
  • 15. Amy (Sing for your supper)  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Hehehehehehe…you make me laugh!!

    This looks great – I love that you used cherries! I’m with you on the frosting thing…gotta have frosting! However, I really, really loved this cake! Its a great breakfast dessert, in my opinion.

    Reply
  • 16. Ulrike  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I think I would have had more success with cherries instead of plums. Great looking cakes and pictures.

    Reply
  • 17. Sugar Betty  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Looking good over there CB! We both used cherries b/c we know wassup! ;) Good job with the cake. I’ll have a piece later.

    Reply
  • 18. Marthe  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:53 am

    The cherries sound delicious!! I went to the camera shop after work and am now thinking about a Panasonic F5… Will need to sleep a night on it!

    Reply
  • 19. Beryl  |  September 23, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Mmmmm cherry dimplles! Yum!

    Reply
  • 20. Marie  |  September 23, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Oh yumm!! Cherry Lime sounds fabulous! I think your dad must have REALLY liked it. I did a brown sugar streusel to sprinkle over mine and we both loved it!

    Reply
  • 21. Caitlin  |  September 23, 2008 at 10:52 am

    I always wanted curls, but my hair wouldn’t cooperate – I guess that kept me from having to suppress terrible perm memories, huh? And given that I eat frosting straight, I second you on the death row meal idea.

    Reply
  • 22. Michelle  |  September 23, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Im so glad your husband liked it. Mine would have if those plums were relplaced with big huncks of chocolate!! Your cake looks incredible!

    Reply
  • 23. chocolatechic  |  September 23, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I had a perm go very wrong too, and my mom is a licensed beautician. I don’t know what she did, but it was very, very, very bad.

    So glad you enjoyed the cake.

    Reply
  • 24. kim  |  September 23, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    the cherry dimples are very cute! great idea. i loved it the next day too :) (i had it for breakfast… and again for dessert, hehe)

    Reply
  • 25. pamela  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I love the way your cake looks!! And if I was on death row, I’d be wanting some frosting with my last meal, too. I’m happy I only made half of this, as I’ve eaten WAY too many cookies recently and I don’t need the added guilt of eating a whole cake! Nice job!

    Reply
  • 26. HoneyB  |  September 23, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Cherries sound like a great fruit in the cake. LOL, I want a job like you want too…….

    Reply
  • 27. Christine  |  September 23, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    My mom’s saying “I hope you end up with a child just like you!” Guess what?? I did! Your cake looks great and I wanted frosting too!

    Reply
  • 28. Melissa  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Those cherries look delicious! I also found out I didn’t have cardamom in my spice rack after looking for about 10 minutes for it!

    Reply
  • 29. Tammy  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    the cherries look great!

    Reply
  • 30. Susan  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I shoulda made it. Never thought about cherries, but still…
    Yours looks good!!

    Reply
  • 31. uglydudefood  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Looks great! The cherries not only would match the cake perfectly, but really add to the presentation.

    Reply
  • 32. Cristine  |  September 24, 2008 at 12:03 am

    YUM! I’ll have to try this with cherries!

    Reply
  • 33. Madam Chow  |  September 24, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Wow, this looks like it was a huge hit at your house! Way to go! Lovely pictures, by the way.

    Reply
  • 34. Erin  |  September 24, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Love the opening Emerson quote. This looks phenomenal with cherries.

    Reply
  • 35. LyB  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I would so try this cake with cherries and lime, it looks delicious! I thought of this more as a coffee cake or muffin type cake than a cake-cake. Did that make sense? lol! “Geebus”, that’s a Homerism, right? :)

    Reply
  • 36. JacqueOH  |  September 24, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    See, now why didin’t I try the cherry lime version (kicking self)? Yours looks fantastic!

    Funny post, lol.

    Reply
  • 37. Carla  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Glad to see you made a different version. I want to try all of Dorie’s suggestion. Glad to know the cherry lime combination worked out great! Looks good :)

    Reply
  • 38. Kelly D  |  September 25, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Cake really should have frosting. Those cherries looked so good. Sigh….summer is over around here.

    Reply
  • 39. Shari  |  September 27, 2008 at 7:18 am

    The cherries in this cake sound delicious! I have a suppressed perm memory too!!

    Reply
  • 40. Jaime  |  September 30, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    love your dimply cherry cake! i didn’t like it so much

    Reply
  • 41. value used car  |  April 14, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    You made some decent points there. I checked on the
    net to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on
    this website.

    Reply
  • 42. articles on Jonah  |  April 21, 2015 at 9:00 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely think this web site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the information!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,405 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter