Asian Noodle Salad

April 9, 2008 at 5:17 pm 9 comments

Is it possible to crave colors?

Ever since I saw this salad on The Pioneer Woman, I’ve been craving it. I think its all the bright fantastic colors. I also love asian flavors so I knew I couldn’t go wrong with this one. I have to admit that its taken me a while to try it b/c there are alot of “characters” in this dish and I am not a veggie person. But after chatting with my good friend (and go-to health guru), Kat, about increasing the veggies in my diet and seeing the same colorful salad on her blog, I knew it was time to get off my lazy arse and drive to the grocery store. Seriously… She’s my body idol. She’s not waif skinny, she’s healthy thin, tone and curvy in all the right places. Damn you perfect body! LOL. *poking my doughy pooch*

My hubs is not a salad man so I knew the only way to get him interested was to introduce a protein so I added some chicken. Kat also recommended grilled shrimp too. YUMMERS! Definitely gonna have to try the shrimp next time…

You really work up an appetite after all that chopping, dicing and slicing. By the time I was finished I was so hungry, I splashed some sauce on, started eating and forgot to take a picture! But its definitely worth your time to click the link and check out the rest of Pioneer Woman’s step-by-step pictures. I bet you will start craving colors too.


(Recipe and photo from Pioneer Woman)

INGREDIENTS

For salad
1 packages linguine noodles, cooked, rinsed, and cooled
1 head sliced Napa cabbage
1 head sliced purple cabbage
1 bag baby spinach
1 red bell pepper, sliced thin
1 yellow bell pepper, sliced thin
1 orange bell pepper, sliced thin
1 green bell pepper, sliced thin
1 small bag bean sprouts (also called “mung bean sprouts”)
3 sliced scallions
3 peeled, sliced cucumbers
LOTS of chopped cilantro—up to one bunch
1 can whole cashews, lightly toasted in skillet
grilled chicken strips

For salad dressing
Juice of 1 lime
8 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons sesame oil
6 tablespoons soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons fresh ginger, chopped
2 cloves chopped garlic
2 hot peppers or jalapeños, chopped (I omitted b/c my hubs is a wuss!)
More chopped cilantro—LOTS

[NOTES: I halved the recipe and it still made a TON of salad! I guess I got lunch and dinner for tomorrow! w00t!]

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix together salad ingredients. Whisk together dressing ingredients and pour over salad. Mix with tongs or hands and serve on platter.

*Dressing keeps up to three days before serving, WITHOUT cilantro.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He raved the whole time.

Wifey rating: A+
This self-proclaimed veggie hater LOVED this salad. I am excited to eat some for lunch tomorrow!

Entry filed under: pasta.

TWD #7 The league of extraordinary… tarts? Day 9

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie  |  April 9, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I just made this salad from Pioneer Woman Cook’s site last week and I agree, it deserves an A+…but seriously, my forearm was sore from all the chopping! It definitely requires an investment of time to get everything prepped. Worth it, though!

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  April 9, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    MELANIE, i know! I was sweating and really getting a workout from the prep but its definitely worth it! :)

    Reply
  • 3. Kristina  |  April 10, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Yum! That looks sooo good! I make some sort of asian dish like 3 times a week, this one might have to go into the rotation! I might even make it tonight (minus some of the veggies, cus I don’t feel like going to the store)

    p.s. I sent you an e-mail about chocolate to your iheartcuppycakes address :D

    Reply
  • 4. NinaBeth  |  April 10, 2008 at 5:23 am

    I am so proud of your use of veggies! Aren’t they great?

    Reply
  • 5. Kat Graz  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I Love the fact you ate veggies!!!

    And a perfect body I think not- but thanks!!!

    Glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:25 am

    KRISTINA, it is really really good and I am not a veggie lover in the least. I think its the sauce that really makes each veggie taste so yummy. I try not to put too much sauce, just enough for a little flavor. thanks for letting me know about your email. It went into my spam. stupid gmail. Will reply asap!

    NINA, well… I guesss they were good. haha. I think I just have to have the right type of dressing/sauce that makes me forget they are veggies ;) ps. I bought some squash too! Will be making something squash-alicious soon.

    KAT, omg. whatev. you are SO fabu. I told T that I want your body for my bday. haha.

    Reply
  • 7. Alanna  |  April 13, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I just made this the other night! M and I both LOVED it. I agree…shrimp would be SO fabu with this salad! I made soy/sesame seared scallops and served them on the side. :)

    Reply
  • 8. Alanna  |  April 13, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    And Kat…you are hawt. NFT

    :)

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  April 13, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    ALANNA, ooohhhh scallops. I lurve scallops! agreed. Kat is illegally hawt.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,417 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter