Cheesy Baked [Mushroom] Tortellini

February 1, 2008 at 5:47 pm 10 comments


(Recipe from foodnetwork.com, Giadia DeLaurentiis | photos from me!)

Makes 4 servings
Calories/serving* = ~668 (http://sparkrecipes.com)
WW pts/serving* = ~14

* FYI, calories and WW pts are for original recipe. My substitutions/changes might make it higher or lower.

INGREDIENTS

Olive oil
2 cups marinara sauce (I used spaghetti sauce)
1/3 cup mascarpone cheese
1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme leaves (I used 1 tsp dried thyme)
1 pound pre-made cheese tortellini (I used Buitoni 3 cheese tortellini)
2 ounces thinly sliced smoked mozzarella (I used shredded mozzarella)
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
2 cup fresh mushrooms, rough chop

[NOTES: I wasn’t sure how to substitute fresh for dried herbs but next time I think I will use the full 2 tsp of thyme for more added flavor. You could barely taste it with 1 tsp IMO.]

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly oil an 8 by 8 by 2-inch baking dish.

Whisk the sauce, mascarpone cheese, parsley, and thyme in a large bowl to blend. Fold in mushrooms. Cook the tortellini in a large pot of boiling salted water until just tender, about 2 minutes. Drain. Add the tortellini to the sauce and toss to coat.

[NOTES: I think next time I’ll divide the mozza cheese between layers of tortellini/sauce mixture to create more equal ratio of cheese all over ;)]

Transfer the tortellini mixture to the prepared baking dish. Top the mixture with the smoked mozzarella and Parmesan. Cover and bake until the sauce bubbles and the cheeses on top melt, about 30 minutes.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A/A+
He really liked it but requested some protein when I bake it again.

Wifey rating: A/A+
This was so good. Cheese and pasta could never be bad. :)

Entry filed under: italian, main dish, pasta, veggie, weight watcher.

NFR: Leave me alone so I can cook! Menu 2.4-2.10/08

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie  |  February 1, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Yum! That looks so good. I’m saving the recipe…my family will love it.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  February 1, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    MELANIE, thanky! It was very yummy! If you make it, let me know how you liked it, k? :)

    Reply
  • 3. April  |  February 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    This looks yummo! What is with T and always wanting “protein” in things? Yeesh. Quit being difficult. Just kiddin’ T! ; )
    I am most def saving this one!!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  February 2, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    APRIL, I know right!??! He just better be happy he’s getting any meal! Obviously you can tell he could never go veg. haha.

    Reply
  • 5. Alanna  |  February 3, 2008 at 11:22 am

    YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE tortellini and mascarpone. I can’t wait to try them together!!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. alan n  |  February 3, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    hey sissy thanks for letting me stay at your place this weekend the creamcheese bacon crossiant wrap thingy was really gewdddddddddd.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  February 3, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    ALANNA, I ♥ mascarpone too! If you make it, let me know what you think, k?

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  February 3, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    ALAN, wub you bro. Come see me again sooooon… :)

    Reply
  • 9. Andrea  |  February 8, 2008 at 10:37 am

    CB this is one of my FAVORITE recipes. I have it on my blog too. Good thinking adding in the shrooms, I may try that next time. I LURVE this dish!!

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  February 8, 2008 at 10:45 am

    ANDREA, GMTA! definitely try the ‘shrooms. I love shrooms so I add it to anything I can. haha.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,409 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter