NFR: Leave me alone so I can cook!

February 1, 2008 at 7:21 am 7 comments

Actually its semi food related.

I haven’t cooked in 4 days so I was all hyped to cook dinner last night. I had been discussing my dish with various foodie friends all day in preparation but an hour before I was about to start, T gets a call from a friend who needs some “assistance”. Long story short. He got pulled over for a traffic violation, hadn’t paid his car registration for 6 months and had various unpaid tickets, they impounded his car and he has a quick-draw temper (I am sure you can infer what happened next. Hint? It involved going down to the station).

Needless to say we ended up getting fast food last night (again…)

T’s friend is a good guy with a good heart. He’s just had a hard life and being a grown up can be overwhelming if you aren’t mentally, emotionally and financially prepared. Yet another example of how bad parents can affect a child’s life. Enough said. //getting off soapbox

But tonight, barring any other tempermental catastrophies, I will be back in the kitchen.  There’s nothing like a home cooked meal…  Am I right?

Entry filed under: Not Food Related.

Foodie Question of the Day Cheesy Baked [Mushroom] Tortellini

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alanna  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Aw, CB, I’m sorry. Sometimes it’s a relief to eat out, but I am with you…most of the time, a home-cooked meal is the only thing that really satisfies. Sorry about your friend. Just take pride in the fact that you are mature enough to be the one that people come to. :)

    Happy cooking! :)

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:13 am

    ALANNA, thanks love. Thats what I told T when he told me the sitch. I just said “what can we do?” We love our friend and want to help. But I am definitely thankful that T is such a stable responsible person. I don’t think I could deal with a partner like that all the time you know?

    Reply
  • 3. BBKiddo  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Wow, drama drama drama. Enjoy your home cooking tonight!

    Reply
  • 4. mrsabybaby  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Holy cow woman! What an evening! Your friend is lucky to have people like you guys to help. : )
    Enjoy your meal tonight! I would 9 times out of 10 rather just cook at home honestly.

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:32 am

    BB, too much drama for your mama.

    MRSABY, yes it was a very interesting evening. I should have posted about the other “ppl” we met while at the police station. Scary shit! Glad I don’t have to deal on a regular basis. Not the life I wanna live TYVM.

    Reply
  • 6. Dawn  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:17 am

    You know, the home cooking that I really like is the stuff made by someone else. The nights B actually thinks to cook are the best, even if the food is just so so. I love to eat out, because I like the break from the kitchen. But if he cooked more often, then I would be a home-cooked girl all the way. I like to cook, but it makes me tired to do it every day.

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:21 am

    DAWN, trust me I love eating out but I have to admit that not as much as I use to. Me and T would eat out 4-5x a week before but now that I am cooking we eat out maybe 1-2x and thats a good balance for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


