A-Ten-Hut! Recruiting some Baking Gals! You interested?

June 25, 2009 at 8:38 pm 5 comments

Helloooo out there? *echo echo*

I know. I know. Lately I’ve been quite the slacker on my little food blog. It seems like my blog’s been a placeholder for Tuesday with Dorie recipes and inconsistent Bunday Monday posts. Blame new my job, lack of time, Hubs losing his socks/belt/hat/wallet and asking me to drop everything to help him find “it”, summer writer’s block, whatever… but I’m back to talk to you (my readers) about something important.

So listen up!

<— Remember this logo? Let me refresh your memory.

The idea for Operation Baking GALS (Give A Little Support) has grown since my first participation almost a year ago (Wow! Time flies!) when Steph of Steph Chows was team leader for her cousin Eric. I was so inspired by what Steph’s team did that I also sent my husband’s friend (also serving in Iraq at the time) a care package too. He emailed later to tell me “… there’s nothing like getting a little piece of home to remind you why you’re here.” I’ll never forget his words. I regret to say it’s been a while since I participated though but I’m backkkkkkk…

Operation Baking Gals is up to Round 10 now and since my fabulous friend April of Wine Lover’s Cooking Diary is team leader this time around, I knew I wanted to support her and her brother, who is currently serving in Iraq with the Indiana National Guard.


(Her brother is 3rd from the left… and he’s single ladies! *cat calls*)

If you would like to join April’s team (and for more info), please email her:

mrsabybabyATgmailDOTcom

(If you email her, tell her Clara sent ya. I get friend brownie points!)

Deadline: June 28th July 11th

Baked goods need to be sent out between July 1-11th

I’m sure she’d love to have you! (Me too!)

PS. Any suggestions for favorite cookie recipes? Right now I’m thinking Dorie Greenspan’s World Peace Cookies. Mmmm…

Entry filed under: Operation baking GALS.

This is a test Bunday Monday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. militarysister  |  June 26, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Woo hoo! Thanks for the shout out! :) Deadline to sign up is actually July 11th – you can sign up anytime during the shipping but I doubt one would want to sign up, bake, and ship all on the same day.

    Join me ladies!! My brother and his fellow troops love receiving packages from home. :)

    Oh and PS CB, major brownie points. HA

    Reply
  • 2. Amy Ruth  |  June 26, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    You know what? I would love to support the wonderful people who help ensure our liberty. Wow, did that sound cheesy? Hope not, small gesture for their huge one! Thanks for your commitment!! Fire up your ovens. Its so hot here Aaakkkk
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 3. Heather E  |  June 26, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    I just sent April an email. I hope to be able to help!

    Reply
  • 4. zebe912  |  June 28, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Haha, I’d just been thinking about sending World Peace cookies too.

    Then I got to wondering…are there soldiers with dietary issues like mine? Do they ever get treats? Hmm.

    Reply
  • 5. RavenousCouple  |  July 3, 2009 at 6:26 am

    omg, how do we get involved w/ this? my lil sis is in iraq and we send her mi goi, kho bo and other dry goods but this would be amazing! discovered your site via vnmese blogge button…great site! we’re daring cooks, but timid bakers :)

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,407 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter