CEiMB #2: [Steak Tacos]

October 16, 2008 at 8:51 pm 21 comments

I made it! I made it! Its only 8pm in California so its still technically Thursday.

I am back again with my cooking group, Craving Ellie in My Belly and it was my turn to pick! It was a crazy time choosing the recipe I wanted to cook b/c I just got the book the day that Leigh said I had to make the decision right now, this very second… Ok maybe not that dramatic but it was a little stressful.

There are so many recipes in the book that I want to make: Peanut butter smoothie, Chicken sate, Asian summer rolls, Crab salad in wonton cups, Portabello panini, Spinach & artichoke dip, Tortilla soup, Clam chowder, Thai beef salad, Linguine w/ shrimp, 4-Cheese macaroni… (You are totally drooling, right?) But when I got to the Steak Tacos and saw the picture, I knew that this was gonna be my pick.

I love everything about it. Being a California girl, you have to love avocados. I think its a law. Avocados and flip flops. I am pretty sure I took an oath at one point. I wasn’t too sure on the cucumber but I love cucumbers so I believed deep down in my belly that Ellie wouldn’t go wrong pairing it with avocado. Some Ellie-istas weren’t keen on the cilantro, but I LOVE cilantro! The more the better. I think I used the whole bunch in my salsa and tacos.

Ok before I go any further, I have to admit something. It will be our little secret ok?

I used flour tortillas and… sour cream too.

I tried the corn tortilla but there’s just something about flour tortillas. I think that thin layer of white powder that most people assume is just excess flour is really crack. Seriously…

PS. Why do we call it “red cabbage” when its clearly purple?

PPS. I janked copy and pasted the recipe from Leigh‘s blog so if there are any typos its her fault. Thanks.


Steak Tacos w/ Cucumber-Avocado Salsa
(Recipe from Foods You Crave page 184-185 | photos from me!)

Makes 6 servings
Serving size: 2 tacos+1/3 cup salsa

* Nutrition analysis/serving—
Calories 407; Total Fat 16; Saturated Fat 4; Protein 21; Carbohydrates 42; Fiber 8

INGREDIENTS

For steak
1 Tablespoon chili powder
2 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 teaspoons)
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
Pinch of cayenne pepper
1-1/4 lbs top sirloin steaks (about 1-1/4 inches thich)
Twelve 6-inch corn tortillas (I used flour tortillas)
3 cups shredded red cabbage (I used 1/2 a head of cabbage)
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 lime, cut into wedges

For cucumber-avocado salsa
1 medium English cucumber, seeded and diced (about 2 cups)
2 medium firm-ripe avocados, peeled, pitted and diced
1/2 red onion, diced
Juice of 2 limes (about 1/4 cup)
Salt to taste
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
3 jalapeno peppers, seeded and finely chopped, or to taste (I used 1 jalapeno)

[NOTES: Salsa recipes makes alot so next time I’ll probably 1/2 it.]

INSTRUCTIONS

To make steak—
Spray a large non-stick skillet with cooking spray and preheat it over medium-high heat or preheat grill.

[NOTES: I baked in my oven, no preheat, broil setting 500F, on a broil pan about 5-7 minutes each side.]

Combine the spices in a small bowl and then rub the mixture into both sides of the steaks.

Broil the steaks for about 5 minutes per side, turning once, for medium rare or to your desired taste. (Prepare the salsa below while the steak is broiling). Remove and allow to sit and rest for 5 minutes before slicing into thin slices.


Props to my hubs who was in charge of steak-cutting. Ellie notes in her book that slicing meat thinly makes the portion of meat appear more plentiful, making it more satisfying. <— Good tip!

Warm the tortillas by placing them on a hot skillet or grill for about 30 seconds, turning once, or you can place 6 tortillas at a time between two moist paper towels and microwave for about 45 seconds. Wrap them in a cloth napkin to keep warm.

To make salsa—
Combine all the ingredients in a medium bowl and toss gently to combine. Serve within an hour of preparing.

Top tortillas with cabbage, steak, salsa and a squeeze of lime juice and sprinkle of fresh chopped cilantro and serve.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He raved the whole time and requested dibs on all leftovers for his lunch tomorrow.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I was pleasantly surprised about the cucumber-avocado salsa. At first I was hesitant but after a few bites I was hooked! That steak was tender and so good. Cabbage added a great crunch with every bite. Definitely will make again.

Next week: Banana Cream Pie page 276

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Craving Ellie in my Belly. Tags: .

CEiMB #2: To be continued… Bunday Monday

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kamaile  |  October 16, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Alright…I admit I’ve seen this on one or two other blogs, but you have convinced me to try these. I’m an avocado fan as well and being a California native, I would have to agree about taking the oath. I still wear flip flops all the time. I’ve even been known to wear them in the snow. :P

    Reply
  • 2. Holly  |  October 16, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Woohoo! Made it! They look great – and yeah, same deal with red onions which are more purple too. What is up with that? Thanks for a great pick!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  October 16, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    KAMAILE, HAHA @ California and flip flops. You totally get it then! I remember I went to Michigan in December to visit a friend and automatically packed my flip flops. Who thinks of snow when you never get any right? Let’s just say my feet weren’t happy. haha.

    HOLLY, Thats true! Whoever named these were colorblind or confused. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 4. Marthe  |  October 17, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Delicious!! I actually made the dish (and salsa) wednesday for dinner and ate the rest of it on thursday, the salsa was still good on thursday!

    I have no idea why red cabbage is called like that while it’s purple, but it’s the same in Dutch: we call it rode kool… rode=red kool=cabbage….

    Reply
  • 5. Cathy  |  October 17, 2008 at 5:37 am

    OOOOHHH! I can’t get enough Tex Mex, but somehow I don’t have a “go-to” recipe for great tacos. I usually use the Old El Paso mix, which is serviceable, but isn’t going to leave anyone begging for more. This looks really fabulous — and I still have time to get the ingredients onto my shopping list for this weekend. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 6. Natalie  |  October 17, 2008 at 6:28 am

    Yours look good! I think I am going to make this again and use less cilantro and onion, lettuce and cheese. I know we will like it that way. The salsa was delicious. Great job with your post.

    Reply
  • 7. nikki57  |  October 17, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Ok seriously your list of what you want to make did not make me drool … yuck.

    You’re crazy

    Reply
  • 8. NinaBeth  |  October 17, 2008 at 7:07 am

    I love your pictures! Mine are always so dark and yucky. I love CEiMB! :D

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  October 17, 2008 at 7:14 am

    MARTHE, Thats what I am doing. I have so much salsa left that I am thinking chips and salsa for lunch.Yummy!

    CATHY, Oh yeah. You have to give this a try. I absolutely loved it and so did my hubs. If you try it, let me know what you think!

    NATALIE, You so funny! I think its hilarious that all of us added stuff that makes it less healthy. LOL. But I couldnt help myself. The sour cream was calling my name…

    NIKKI, What? You the crazy one. If you had it your way you’d eat chocolate at every meal. The point is trying to get h-e-al-t-h-y.

    NINA, To be honest I have no idea how I got lucky last night esp being at night. Sometimes my camera is great in my cave apt and other times it doesn’t do the food justice. Go figure!

    Reply
  • 10. Julie  |  October 17, 2008 at 7:48 am

    If I break down and buy the cookbook I think I’ll have to join this event. :) We’re trying to cook healthier, and our problem with cookbooks is that although we have several, we tend to not use them.

    They look pretty yummy, if you like avocados. I know, I should be disowned or something, but they aren’t my thing.

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  October 17, 2008 at 7:53 am

    JULIE, I am exactly the same way. I have cookbooks that just gather dust on my bookshelf. I think thats why I enter so many foodie events – it keeps me on a schedule and motivated. I hope you join!

    Reply
  • 12. pamela  |  October 17, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I’ve been thinking about getting this book and you’re inspiring me to spend some $$. I have an award for you on my blog. Please stop by when you can. :o)

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  October 17, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    PAMELA, I hope you do join! aaawww an award for me? You’re so sweet!

    Reply
  • 14. zebe912  |  October 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I’ve seen this on a couple of pages now, but your pics definitely make it look the yummiest. B is super squeamish about avacado, but I’ve been trying to sneak it in here & there.

    I wish that this event (and TWD) didn’t require buying the book, because I would love to do it. But I need another cookbook (or the expense) like a hole in the head.

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  October 19, 2008 at 9:23 am

    ZEBE, aaww thank you. I am trying to be better with more appetizing pictures. Bummer that B isn’t an avocado man. Its so good… Yeah you need the book to participate but its <$20 on amazon. Maybe you could add it to your xmas list and santa (aka B) will get it for you ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  October 19, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Wow, these look seriously delicious. We can’t get enough Mexican food around here. Great choice; that sounds like a fun cooking event.

    I’m passing a fun blog award to you. Come by my site to claim it!
    Nancy
    The Dogs Eat the Crumbs

    Reply
  • 17. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  October 19, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Oops, I just saw that you got another award just a few comments up – don’t mean to overwhelm you! Just want to give you a “vote of confidence”!

    Reply
  • 18. CB  |  October 19, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    NANCY, aaawww an award for me? You are so sweet! I love blog awards! The more the merrier. HAHA. Thank you so much :)

    Reply
  • 19. katie102006  |  October 20, 2008 at 4:49 am

    That looks like the BEST dinner! YUM!

    Reply
  • 20. Anne  |  October 20, 2008 at 7:15 am

    The tacos look great and the group sounds like a ton of fun (if only my husband wouldn’t kill me if I join another group! I’ll have to do it on the sly…)

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  October 20, 2008 at 7:30 am

    KATIE, Oh it was pretty darn tasty! My hubs is already asking when I am making it again. HAHA

    ANNE, Yeah my hubs was like “You joined another group???” when I told him but he was more keen on the idea when I explained it was “cooking healthy” and not “baking”. He loves sweets but he’s not happy about gaining 10lbs since I joined TWD! hehe.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,417 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter