Shrimp Pad Thai

May 30, 2008 at 5:46 pm 10 comments

What’s your last meal on death row dish?

That’s a toughie b/c I have so many favorites but I think I would probably ask for pad thai for my last meal. It combines alot of my favorite ingredients – asian spices, noodles, veggies, shrimp. YUM! I know I could die happy if that was my last meal.

My favorite Thai restaurant is about 35 minutes from my house and since I’d rather be a passenger than the driver, I don’t get down there as often as I wish I could. But when I do, I always order their shrimp pad thai and I have never found another restaurant or recipe that compares. Since I’ve been craving pad thai for the last few weeks no I am not pregnant I decided to see how Martha Stewart’s Kitchen measures up to the one I hold in highest regard.


(Recipe from MS Great Food Fast pages 64-65 | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

8 oz rice-stick noodles
1/4 cup tomato-based chili sauce
1/4 cup fresh lime juice (I used 2 limes)
3 tbsp soy sauce*
1 tbsp anchovy paste*
2 tbsp light brown sugar
4 tbsp vegetable oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
1lb peeled and deveined medium shrimp
3 cups bean sprouts, plus more for garnish
8 scallions, trimmed, halved lengthwise, cut crosswise into 2″ pieces
1 large egg, lightly beaten

* You can replace the soy sauce and anchovy paste with 2 tbsp fish sauce

Assorted garnish, optional
1/3 cup dry roasted peanuts
pinch pepper flakes
1 cup bean sprouts
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
lime wedges

INSTRUCTIONS

Bring a large pot of water to a boil; remove from the heat. Stir in the noodles; let soak until softened (but still undercooked), about 3 minutes. Drain, rinse under cold water until cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together the chile sauce, lime juice, soy sauce, brown sugar and anchovy paste. In a large nonstick skillet, heat 2 tbsp of the oil over medium-high heat. Add the garlic, and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the shrimp; cook, tossing often, until just opaque throughout, about 3 minutes. Transfer shrimp to a plate.

Return the skillet to medium high heat. Add the remaining 2 tbsp oil along with the noodle and chile sauce mixture; cook, tossing, until combined about 1 minute. Add the bean sprouts, scallions and shrimp. Pour in the egg; toss until the noodles are coated and cooked through, about 2 minutes. Serve topped with garnishes if desired.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: B+
He isn’t a fan of very spicy foods and he only ate 1/2 his plate b/c he couldn’t stand the “heat”. Maybe next time I make it I’ll reduce the chili sauce to 1/8 cup instead for my white boy.

Wifey rating: A+
I absolutely loved it! Its not exactly like my favorite but its really close. I will definitely make this dish again.

Entry filed under: asian, seafood.

Happy Blogiversary+Spinach=2for! TWD #15 Brownies, s’il vous plaît?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  May 30, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Oh yum – pad thai. I looove thai, and pad thai is always a winner.

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 30, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    CAITLIN, seriously you’re like my sister from another mother. We have so much in common. ::thai five::

    Reply
  • 3. Mari  |  May 31, 2008 at 2:48 am

    Hey CB, thanks for reminding me that I love this dish and that it’s been ages since I’ve made it! Can’t wait to serve it up around here!

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 31, 2008 at 5:13 am

    MARI, Let me know what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 5. katie102006  |  June 2, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Oh this look s FABULOUS! I LOVE shrimp pad thai!!

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  June 2, 2008 at 6:11 am

    KATIE#, It was SO good. I like spicy though so if you aren’t you can reduce the chili sauce by 1/2. I’ll probably do that for my hubs next time. He really wanted to like it but he just couldn’t get pass the heat. HAHA!

    Reply
  • 7. NinaBeth  |  June 2, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Hmm, I’ve never had this dish before, but based on your reccommendation, I may have too. I will definetly have to reduce the heat though, I am 100% white girl. :)

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  June 2, 2008 at 6:43 am

    NINA, HAHA. give it a try and tell me what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 9. hornedfroggy  |  June 11, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Yummy, yum, yum! :)

    Reply
  • 10. CB  |  June 11, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    HORNEDFROGGY, oh yes. it was definitely yum! PS. love your nickname. So cute!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 241,417 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter