NaBloPoMo: Day 18

November 18, 2009 at 6:59 pm 3 comments

I’ve been in a dinner rut for the past 2 weeks.

I think I’ve made every variation of pizza that I found on Food Blog Search (which is a fabulous website for any foodie btw). But don’t get me wrong. My husband’s not complaining. He LOVES pizza. As do I. Even though he wouldn’t mind if I made pizza everyday, tonight I decided to clear out my freezer and pantry and found some tilapia and pecans.

I have to admit that is one perk of moving – you find all sorts of things that you had previously shoved so far back that you forgot you had it. Like they say. Out of sight out of mind.

… And the rest is history in my husband’s satisfied tummy. Yum!


Pecan-Crusted Tilapia
Recipe from Mele Cote

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup pecans, finely chopped (pulse in a food processor or hand chop)
1/4 cup plain dried bread crumbs
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon Emeril Essence
1 large egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup flour
2 tilapia fillets, each sliced down the center, lengthwise, to create 2 smaller fillets
Salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Lightly oil or coat a large baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

Combine the pecans, bread crumbs, brown sugar, and Emeril Essence in a shallow bowl. In another bowl, beat egg and water. Place the flour on a plate. Season the fish with additional salt and pepper. To bread the fillets, coat both sides with flour and shake off excess. Dip in the egg and then coat evenly with the nut mixture. Place each fillet on the baking sheet and bake until golden brown, about 15 minutes.

(I served with parmesan asparagus and baked potato.)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s usually a good non-picky eater and loves fish but I wasn’t sure he’d be down with the sweetness from the brown sugar for this recipe. Thankfully it only took one bite and he was sold. He even said next time I should double the recipe!

Wifey rating: A+
Ditto hubs. Also this is my first experience with Emeril Essence and I am loving the combination of spices! I already have so many ideas about how to use it for future meals. The amount of cayenne pepper didn’t bother me but my wussy husband said that maybe I could reduce the “hotness” next time. HA!

Entry filed under: nablopomo, seafood. Tags: , , .

NaBloPoMo: Day 17 NaBloPoMo: Day 19

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  November 18, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Awesome! I’ve got some tilapia in the freezer too!

    Reply
  • 2. stephchows  |  November 19, 2009 at 8:10 am

    don’t you love finding random stuff in the freezer… although sometimes it scares me….

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  November 22, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Awesome!!!! I love that you enjoyed this. Thanks for trying it! The slice blend works will with salmon, too. ;)

    And the Essence, itself? I through it in almost everything. Its my go-to. Even in eggs!

    Have a great week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


