NaBloPoMo: Day 15

November 15, 2009 at 8:15 pm 4 comments

My little brother isn’t so little anymore. He’s a college boy now but to me he’ll always be a “little” brother. Since we’re a decade+ in age difference (Yes, he was the uh-oh baby!) sometimes I think of him more than just my brother. I use to change his diapers! So I’m actually kinda maternal about him.

I’m so thankful that we have a great relationship and he comes to visit me at least once a month if not more. I think he needs a calm place outside of his crazy dorm college life sometimes and I’m glad to provide it. This weekend wasn’t much different. He came to visit for dinner and watch the Laker game with Hubs. Usually he’s a very mellow boy. Doesn’t ask for much. Just likes to get a free meal and regale us of his college life. Hubs eats it up. Married life just isn’t as exciting. I think he’s living vicariously through my brother. It’s actually very cute.

But tonight, during his usual pantry raid, he saw my stash of Reese’s Pieces and commented that Reese’s Pieces cookies would be really awesome. Hint *wink* hint.

I read you loud and clear, Brother.


Soft and Chewy Reese’s Pieces Cookies
Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

Makes about 36 cookies

INGREDIENTS

2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1-1/2 cups of Reese’s Pieces

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper. In a small bowl, sift together the flour and baking soda; set aside.

In a stand mixer fitted with a flat beater, beat the sugars and butter on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Fold in the Reece’s Pieces.


Drop heaping tablespoon-size balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, about 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven, and let cool on baking sheet 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack, and let cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He’s a peanut butter FA-REAK so you can imagine that his favorite candy is reese’s pb cups and reese’s pieces. He had nothing but good things to say about these cookies and recommends that you have a cup of milk on deck for the perfect combination. The only thing he mentioned was that he preferred a cookie that wasn’t quite that chewy.

Wifey rating: A
I love soft and chewy cookies and these were delicious if you are looking for your Reese’s Pieces fix but this dough is very “wet” to handle in my opinion. Next time I bake these I might add a little more flour or refrigerate the dough before baking. Note to self: Add cookie scoop to Xmas list.

Other rating: A+
My little brother loves reese’s pieces so he ate his weight in these cookies with a HUGE glass of milk. He also declared that I was the best sister in the world too. Ah shucks!

Entry filed under: cookies, nablopomo. Tags: .

NaBloPoMo: Day 14 NaBloPoMo: Day 16

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  November 16, 2009 at 6:11 am

    These look great. I think I will try them with chocolate chips.

    Reply
  • 2. Dolce  |  November 16, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I am sure next time you can read your brother’s mind and bake them again :)

    Reply
  • 3. Steph  |  November 16, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I was going to make the same cookies with smarties, but thought the blade would crush the candies. I’m glad to see that it works well!

    Reply
  • 4. stephchows  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:55 am

    OMG you’d be the best sister EVER to have!! yummmm

    PS got my shirt!!! Dude that is the smallest “large” I’ve ever seen in my life LOL. I love it though!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


