NaBloPoMo: Day 10

November 10, 2009 at 8:44 pm 8 comments

I’m not a good packer. I’ll even goes as far as to say that I HATE PACKING!


Cupcakes by Martha Stewart

Case in point. I pretty much had a nervous break down packing my books the other day. My Hubs and I are big bibliophiles which is great for mental stimulation but packing… Eh. Not so much. Of course being a packing newb (which seems strange since I’ve moved more than 10x) that you shouldn’t try to pack all your books in one HUGE box.


Hello, Cupcake by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson

I learned that the hard way. When I tried to move it, the box pretty much ripped down the crease and all 200+ books came crashing out in one big book burning heap. I swear I started bawling right then and there. It was not pretty.


Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan

But maybe it was a blessing in disguise. At first I was just kinda throwing all the books haphazardly from the bookshelves into the box. I wasn’t paying attention to what the books were or anything. Since I had to basically pick them up one at a time from the floor, I was able to look at them and make decisions about keeping or donating the second time around.


Great Food Fast, Martha Stewart Magazine

And you know what I realized? I think it says something when I decided not to pack 5 books “just in case” I’d need them. I was almost panicky about not having them readily available. So I thought I’d share with my fellow foodies.


Ways To Cook, Cooking Light

What are your “must have” books?

But I’m a great unpacker though. Just saying.

Entry filed under: nablopomo. Tags: .

NaBloPoMo: Day 9 NaBloPoMo: Day 11

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steph  |  November 10, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    CI’s Best New Recipe, Baking from my home to yours, hello cupcake. I hope your books survived the crash. I dropped my book and totally wrecked the corners… I was so NOT happy!

    Non food related… twilight!

    Reply
  • 2. Suzy  |  November 11, 2009 at 5:34 am

    My Dad bought me a Betty Crocker book..the one with the pink gingham cover..I go to it for EVERYTHING (first). It’s my go-to!

    Reply
  • 3. stephchows  |  November 11, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Congrats on getting the house!!!! And I’ve totally done the pack all my books in one box… Good thing I do weight training LOL

    Reply
  • 4. Jenny  |  November 11, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I always know where our copy of Charcuterie is (Ruhlman and Polcyn), and my butter-stained, dog-eared Baking with Julia.

    Reply
  • 5. mrsdanigirl8  |  November 12, 2009 at 7:07 am

    3 out of 5 of the books above are my go to books :) Glad you pulled them out!

    Reply
  • 6. Alanna  |  November 12, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Ugh! The packing sucked…the moving double-sucked. Putting away….it’s slow-going, but at least it’s more fun than packing!

    Good luck to you guys! :) SO excited for you.

    Oh, and the book I will NEVER get rid of – The JOY of Cooking. That book is like the Bible. If I can’t find information on cookin, I go straight there!

    Reply
  • 7. Nancy/n.o.e  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I’m a packing queen, but hate to unpack – we’d make a good team! Congrats on the new house. So exciting!!

    Reply
  • 8. bridget  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Ah, see, I’m not a great packer or a great unpacker. I hate it all.

    We collect books too, but I haven’t packed our main bookshelves yet. I was thinking we might need to set a box aside just for books that we aren’t ready to pack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


