NaBloPoMo: Day 5

November 5, 2009 at 7:52 am 7 comments

This is my blog.

This is my blog on house.

Most first time home buyers already anticipate buying new appliances and furniture (ie refrigerator, washer and dryer, sofa, TV, bed etc) but one of the things we don’t really think about when planning for our house is… wall decor. At least it’s at the bottom of *my* list. I’d like to think I’m a little ahead of the game b/c I’ve at least been scouring Etsy for vinyl stickers. You all obviously remember this gorgeous thing. I’m thinking either bedroom or down the stairway wall right now.

Image via Etsy artist StudioJK

But of course I don’t want my house to look like a Lisa Frank sticker book so I’m trying to keep the vinyls to a minimum. And while I love Van Gogh’s Starry Night, I have a feeling that one is a tad out of my price range. But I don’t wanna get all artsy fartsy either. I want my wall decor to reflect my fun (not-so-much sophisticated) personality. And if it’s functional. Even better.

So you can imagine when I saw this idea on my friend, Natalie of The Bobby Pin‘s blog, I flipped out! It’s a photo collage calendar! How FRIGGIN adorable is that?


Image via Etsy artist Little Brown Pen

While I am sure the $49.00 price tag is worth it b/c they include all the materials you’ll need, I decided to google “photo collage calendar” to see if there was a DIY version. Google to the rescue. I figure this could be a fun project to walk around my new town, get to know the area and take pictures for myself. We’ll see how it goes. Then again maybe $49.00 sounds a lot easier. hehe. Also the Etsy artist has a how-to video here which I think is uber cool of them.

Question for my readers: What is on your walls?

*********************************************************

Sorry my last post was melodramatic. But hey! I’m a girl. We do drama. HA HA! Thanks for the comments and emails reassuring me I wouldn’t be homeless. And those that even offered up their couch. I love you.

Entry filed under: Home Related, nablopomo. Tags: , .

NaBloPoMo: Day 4 NaBloPoMo: Day 6

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. justJENN  |  November 5, 2009 at 7:56 am

    dahha Lisa Frank sticker book – unicorns in the living room DO IT.

    Reply
  • 2. Wandering Chopsticks  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I have cheap paintings from my travels — watercolors of Castle Stalker and Eileen Donan in Scotland, acrylic painting of Edinburgh at sunset, field of poppies I bought in Paris, embroidered “paintings” of Hanoi and lotus blossoms, embroidered story cloth from a Hmong woman in Madison, Wisconsin. Lots more.

    I see the artwork on my walls and I remember where and when I purchased them.

    Don’t rush to fill your walls. They’ll fill up in time as you create more memories.

    Reply
  • 3. Emily  |  November 5, 2009 at 9:36 am

    There’s a lot of varying opinions on walls, I’ve read you should buy all like frames for every room so you can switch things up easily. Me? I like the concept to a degree, but frames are expensive and when I moved this spring I wanted to use all my crazy mis-matched frames together instead of investing a small fortune in all new ones – so I did this on one wall: http://www.flickr.com/photos/emmylou7/3806102863/in/set-72157617780335317/ Don’t forget big mirrors (HomeGoods, TJMaxx, etc. are great places to look) make rooms look bigger and are functional, too! Oh, and I love the decals, but I’m a renter. I’m not sure how the landlord would feel about them!!

    Reply
  • 4. Natalie  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I love your house blogs!! I’m excited for you! It seems like so much fun

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  November 5, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I with Justjenn – lisa frank all the way! =)

    Reply
  • 6. bridget  |  November 6, 2009 at 5:41 am

    Love love love both the dandelion and the calendar.

    My wall art sucks.

    Reply
  • 7. Erin  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    On my walls, I have 1 IKEA sticker thing, we get lots of compliments for. A cool geometric modern dark brown wall clock. A geometric wall hanging, and two candle holding wall thingies that are, you guessed it, geometric. Hard to explain, but doesn’t look too bad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


