NaBloPoMo: Day 4

November 4, 2009 at 8:06 pm 13 comments

Lately I’ve been getting alot of “Wow you’ve lost alot of weight. What diet are you on?” comments from family and friends.

First of all. Thank you! Who doesn’t wanna hear they’ve lost weight right? I’m not a size 2/4 mind you. (Yeah you know I’m talking to you.) Second of all. It’s not intentional. Currently I’m on the In-The-Process-Of-Buying-House-So-I’m-Too-Stressed-To-Eat diet. I don’t think it’s endorsed by Nutri-System (Is Maria Osmond looking good or what?) or Weight Watchers though. So don’t try this at home, readers. I’m a professional.

I keep telling myself that all the stress will be worth it in the end. I’m sure I’ll be singing home ownership’s praises (and packing on the happy pounds) in a couple weeks. But if you ask me right now. It’s not. I’m barely eating (which explains my lack of food posts) and having nightmares about being homeless. That can’t be good. Is this normal? Please tell me this is normal.

Ok don’t answer that. I’m far from normal. House buying or no house buying. HA!

But this semi-normal-slash-crazy girl NEEDED a damn cookie. Thank you Martha Stewart. You saved my sanity. At least for today. No promises for tomorrow though.


Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn Cookies
Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

Makes 36 cookies (I got 13 cookies)

INGREDIENTS

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
About 36 candy corns (I used 13 caramel candy corn)

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheet with silpat or parchment paper. Set aside.

Combine butter and sugar in a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater. Mix until combined. Beat in egg yolk, vanilla, baking powder, and salt. Add flour and mix until a dough forms.

Scoop out level teaspoons of dough (I used a tbsp instead) and roll into balls. Place balls on baking sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are firm and cookies are dry to the touch, about 10 to 12 minutes. (I baked for 12 minutes)

Remove from oven and gently press a candy corn into center of each cookie (surface of cookies may crack slightly). Let rest on cookie sheet for about 1 minute before transfering to a rack to cool completely.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A-
He really loved the chocolate cookie but he’s not a huge fan of candy corn. He’s obviously cuckoo.

Wifey rating: A/A+
This recipe was quick and easy to put together. You can’t go wrong with chocolate and caramel. I give this the Cookie Monster seal of approval. Its just what the crazy doctor ordered. *Nom nom nom*

Entry filed under: cookies, nablopomo. Tags: , , .

NaBloPoMo: Day 3 NaBloPoMo: Day 5

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    I am always up for a good cookie! Everything in moderation, right? Glad you are finally giving cookies a chance-ha!

    Reply
  • 2. teaandscones  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Yummy!!

    Reply
  • 3. Emily Rose  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    haha, when I’m stressed I gain weight! booo!! I think it is totally normal to be freaked out about your new house- I freaked when we moved into a new apartment- so I’ll probably lose it when we actually purchase a home! the cookies look great though!

    Reply
  • 4. Steph  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    When I’m stressed, I can’t stop stuffing food in my mouth. It isn’t unless I’m under extreme stress, I can’t eat at all. This is usually followed by eating double the next day so really, stress = fat for me. The cookies look yummy! I love those cracks.

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Wow! Those look delicious!

    Oh, and the only time I’ve lost weight due to stress was in high school when my 21yo BF refused to go to prom with me. I later talked him into it, but not before whittling myself to a size 6 without even trying. Yes, I said 6. That’s the smallest size I’ve ever been! Usually I eat when stressed.

    Try not to stress too much, your house will come along, I’m sure of it!

    Reply
    • 6. CB  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:06 am

      You were 17 and BF was 21? You whore! HA! I kid. I kid. I won’t tell you how old my BF was when I was 16. Glad the dork finally went to prom with you. I remember being size 6 too. Way way way back in the day. *poking tummy muffin*

      Reply
  • 7. Rachel  |  November 5, 2009 at 4:03 am

    I know you are the candy corn expert – I’ve never even heard of caramel candy corns. These look great!

    Reply
  • 8. bridget  |  November 5, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Aargh!!! 6/8, I’m telling you.

    And if it makes you feel better, I’m stuck renting for who knows how much longer. Just remember that at the end of all of this stress, you get to live in a house that is yours.

    Reply
  • 9. bridget {bake at 350}  |  November 5, 2009 at 4:45 am

    I love these cookies…they have just the right amount of chewiness. Haven’t tried them with the CARAMEL candy corns, though!

    Reply
  • 10. stephchows  |  November 5, 2009 at 7:31 am

    dude how small are those cookies supposed to be if you only got 13???? everything is hella gonna work out with your house! no worries girl!!! now go chow please!!!

    Reply
    • 11. CB  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:04 am

      I know right?! Original recipe said to use TSP but I thought it would be too small for the candy corn and I’m glad I used a TBSP b/c I think even the TBSP was a pretty good small size cookie.

      Reply
  • 12. Wandering Chopsticks  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I did notice you, but I thought you looked fabulous before. :)

    Lucky you. I gain weight when I’m stressed. I only lose it when I have a broken heart. :(

    Reply
  • 13. Holly  |  November 7, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I actually had these same cookies bookmarked for Halloween (never got to it though) so I’m so glad to see you liked them and that they turned out well. Its always nice to see an actual review.

    As for the diet, well, what can you do? House buying and all that goes with it is ridiculously fun and stressful at the same time. Just think about all the goodies you’ll make in that new kitchen! I’m sure you look just as beautiful as you did before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,044 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


