NaBloPoMo: Day 3

November 3, 2009 at 8:24 am 8 comments

Damn. House is expensive.

The Hubs and I have lived in apartments for the last 10 years, all of which did not have washer and dryer hookups so we never had to buy one. It’s actually one of the things that I am looking forward to with our new house. Being able to wash and dry my clothes in my own house instead of walking down the hall, down a flight of stairs, all trying to remember to bring my laundry card. You have no idea how many times I’ve forgotten my laundry card AND locked myself out of my apartment.

Now you’ll have to visualize that if I’m doing laundry, all my new-ish clothes are probably being washed so hunting down a maintenance guy to get me back into my apartment while wearing my sweats that have a hole in the crotch and stained tshirt isn’t a good first impression. Unfortunately my maintenance guy has seen my crotch. More than once. That’s apartment living for ya.

Ahem. Moving right along.

I’ve been eye-ing the Samsung HE gas front load washer and dryer for weeks… maybe even months now. But I got sticker shock looking at the prices. Two thousand dollars for a washer and dryer? Does it clean your clothes and print money too?

Thank goodness for friends who know how it’s really done.

A few weeks ago I was telling my friend about my W/D woes. She looked at me, patted my head and this is how it played out.

M: “First time home buyers are so cute. But they’re so naive and stupid.”
CB: “Geez, thanks for vote of confidence!”
M: “Ok here’s what you do. Go to the Sears outlet off of Bristol and Warner. I bet you’ll find the W/D you want for 40-60% off. As long as you are ok with some minor cosmetic damage and you don’t care about certain color or style.”
CB: Well… I kinda wanted the red one.
M: (exasperated) “Clara, red, white, black, gray. Who cares!! You wanna pay $1000 more for red?”
CB: Um… HEY! Stop hitting me!

The thing about Sears outlet is that you have to be conscience of the product availability and range of damage. Some damage is so minor that I didn’t even notice it until salesperson pointed it out whereas others are huge dents and that’s why the price is reduced SO low. But I can get over some minor scratches and dents on the side where they won’t show especially if it saves me thousands of dollars. Also you might find the washer you want (I found my red one!) but then they don’t have the matching dryer (poopy!) or vice versa. Sorry my OCDness would not accept an unmatched pair. But stalking the store everyday patience eventually won out and a week later I found a matching set (white one) for 50% less than the retail price. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the set (no dents or scratches) accept that it was an overstocked item and Sears Outlet guarantees it for a year. Win-win!

Anyone in the market for a new appliance, definitely check if there’s a Sears Outlet near you!

Next up: Stainless Steel Refrigerator!

Entry filed under: Home Related, nablopomo. Tags: , , .

NaBloPoMo: Day 2 NaBloPoMo: Day 4

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teaandscones  |  November 3, 2009 at 9:46 am

    OH!! Good for you. Isn’t it fun moving into a first house. We ahd to buy EVERYTHING. but it was wonderful

    Reply
  • 2. doreen  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:10 am

    LOVE Sear’s outlet! So far, we’ve bought a refrigerator, a CA King bed and a dishwasher. Can’t beat the prices!

    Reply
  • 3. Alanna  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Oh, gosh, girl, I know! It’s SOOO expensive! We can’t even afford Sears outlet at this point…I’m all about Craigslist for appliances right now. We spent SOOO much money the other night just on blinds and “minor” necessary items. The list of expenses just never seems to end! It will be SO worth it though, right? :)

    Reply
    • 4. CB  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:55 am

      Omg don’t remind me about window treatments. I’m afraid to see how much that will cost. I’m thinking we’ll go with bedsheets for a little while. HA!

      Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  November 3, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I so envy you. I’m an apartment dweller with no washer/ dryer. I don’t do well with public laundromats so I lug my laundry to my parents house in the burbs twice a month. Seriously. It’s like I’m in college but this time, I bring the detergent.

    Reply
  • 6. Rebecca  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Duuuuuude!!! We just discovered the Sears Outlet, too! (clapping, jumping up and down)

    We picked up a brand new standing freezer for practically nothing. I didn’t even know the place existed, but now I’m in love.

    Reply
  • 7. Suzy  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:48 am

    way to go on the W/D! I know what you mean about mismatched. I’ve been wanting pedestals for our white front loaders, and I found some..on clearance..right brand..but one was cherry red, and the other was hunter green…um..no thanks. And I’m not really in the mood to sand them down and paint them with automotive paint either…I’ll just skip them.
    Sears outlet ROCKS!

    Reply
  • 8. Steph  |  November 4, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    When my aunt bought her new house, she got a lot of appliances from the sears outlet. I totally get the whole colour matching thing. It would drive me crazy!! I’m so happy that you got the w/d you wanted.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


