Roasted Butternut Squash Pizza w Caramelized Onions & Fresh Rosemary

October 26, 2009 at 7:07 pm 6 comments

Doesn’t the title just roll off the tongue?

Roasted Butternut Squash Pizza with Caramelized Onions and Fresh Rosemary.

As if the name wasn’t long enough. It doesn’t even mention the garlic, feta cheese and mozzarella cheese.

Are you drooling yet?

I mean. What’s not to love? It’s pizza. That’s all you need to know.

When I saw this fall inspired pizza on Maria from Two Peas and Their Pod‘s blog a few days ago, I was intrigued. Usually when I read food blogs I can tell right away if I’m gonna make it or not. But this one had me a little stumped.

Don’t get me wrong! I knew if Maria made it, it would be awesome (although I’m not sure ANYONE could make bananas taste good) but I can’t remember the last time I ate butternut squash… if ever. I couldn’t even conjure up a taste memory so I had no idea how it would taste with all the other ingredients. But I was feeling daring tonight and decided to give it a go. I figured if anything I could cross “butternut squash” off my foodie bucket list.

PS- No one told me that peeling and cutting butternut squash was so damn hard! My hand muscles (muscles I didn’t even know I had!) are sore and I still can’t seem to wash off the “orange” from my fingers!


Recipe from Two Peas and their Pod

INGREDIENTS

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough (I used whole wheat french bread instead)
butternut squash (I used 2/3 of a BIG squash)
red onion slices, caramelized (I used 1 whole medium red onion)
olive oil, to taste
garlic, minced (I used 2 cloves)
feta cheese crumbles (I used a 4oz container)
mozzarella cheese, shredded (I used about 4 handfuls. Is that precise enough?)
fresh rosemary, chopped (I used about 3 tbsp)
balsamic vinegar (Just a dab will do ya.)

INSTRUCTIONS

To roast the butternut squash, place peeled, diced squash on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast for about 40-50 minutes, at 400 degrees. Stir occasionally.

Caramelize the onions. See this post from Simply Recipes for directions.

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, or as hot as it will go, with a pizza stone inside. (My oven was at 400F b/c I forgot to change it from roasting the butternut squash.)

Make your pizza dough. We used our favorite whole wheat crust. You can use store bought crust if you wish. (I sliced some store bought whole wheat french bread in half horizontal and vertical to create 4 “pizzas”.) Roll out your pizza crust. We sprinkle our pizza peel with corn meal and make the pizza on the peel. Drizzle the crust with a little bit of olive oil and spread it around the crust.

Add the garlic, butternut squash, onions, cheeses, and rosemary. Slide the pizza onto the stone that is in the hot oven. Cook the pizza for about 12-15 minutes. (I cooked for about 20 minutes.) Just watch it. You want the cheese to be melted and the crust to be golden brown.

Cool and slice. Sprinkle balsamic vinegar on slices of pizza if you wish. (I couldn’t wait for the “cool” part and burned my tongue but it was worth it! HA!)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A-
Even though my husband is always willing to eat anything I make I can always tell if he likes something or he’s being polite. Tonight he was in the middle. But it’s not Maria’s fault. He loved the feta cheese, rosemary and butternut squash but I think I went a little nuts with the onions. I love onions but my husband isn’t a big fan. So I’m sure when I make it again, I’ll go easy on the onions for my little onion hater.

Wifey rating: A/A+
I admit I was skeptical but after one bite I was hooked. The butternut squash is SO FRIGGIN tasty with the rosemary, feta, onions and garlic. Put it all on a pizza and it’s the perfect food. Next time I’ll have to try Maria’s whole wheat pizza dough but whole wheat french bread is a yummy alternative for this lazy cook.

Entry filed under: pizza. Tags: .

HR: Window treatments HR: Moving right along to Lamps

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    This looks really, really good! I love butternut squash and caramelized onions so the idea of combining them on a pizza is perfection in my book.

    Reply
  • 2. Maria  |  October 27, 2009 at 5:20 am

    I am so glad you gave it a whirl! I will have to try the French bread version sometime! It looks fantastic my friend!

    Reply
  • 3. stephchows  |  October 27, 2009 at 7:23 am

    just the thought of caramelized onions and thyme is making me so hungry!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Erin  |  October 29, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    YUM! And I just broke my vegetable peeler on Sunday peeling my butternut squash. WHENEVER POSSIBLE, I slice it in half and roast it first, then cube it. But with my recipe on Sunday (to be on my blog sometime soon I hope), I couldn’t do tat.

    Reply
  • 5. Michael Beyer  |  September 8, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Sounds delicious! Here’s a different way to use butternut squash, roasted with zucchini and carrots in a couscous salad:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/moroccan-couscous/

    Reply
  • […] ballerina, beets, eggplant, butternut squash, galette, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


