HR: Window treatments

October 26, 2009 at 9:09 am 10 comments

Let’s talk window treatments.

How necessary are they? Really?

I completely forgot about window treatments.


(Image via www.hgtv.com)

I have these 3 huge 47″w x 70-1/2″h windows in my livingroom that really open up the space and is one of the main reasons why I fell in love with this townhouse. Yeah well… Those suckers are gonna cost a lot to dress. Personally I’m thinking that naked windows is a new trend I’m gonna start. It’s not like I walk around nude in my house so if someone wants to be a peeping tom, they are just gonna see me chilling in my favorite fat pants (elastic rules!) and tank top. I may or may not be wearing a bra though. The girls like to be free from restriction at home ya know?

Unfortunately my husband isn’t feeling my avante garde window treatment-less concept. He has concerns about TV glare. Lord help me.

Fine husband. Fine.

In my search for cheap inexpensive window treatments I realize there are a lot of options out there. Curtains, panels, roman shades, vertical blinds, horizontal blinds, wood, vinyl, faux wood, valance, cornice etc. Seriously what’s a cornice? That sounds like a sore you get on your foot, no? Eewww! Now I usually like choices but all these choices are making my head spin. Help?

1. How did you dress up your windows? why?
2. Where did you purchase it?
3. What material is easier to clean?
4. What material lasts longer?
5. What window treatment is pet safe/friendly? (I’m hoping to adopt a doggy at some point. *smile*)

Any advice (esp budget friendly) appreciated.

Entry filed under: Home Related.

Cooking Light Night Roasted Butternut Squash Pizza w Caramelized Onions & Fresh Rosemary

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. doreen  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:37 am

    We went the 1st week in our new house w/out window coverings and it was the worst thing ever! Purchased honeycomb shades from selectblinds.com (saw them on extreme home makeover). Relatively inexpensive and look nice. Good luck!

    Reply
  • 2. iambellaluna  |  October 26, 2009 at 10:06 am

    1. We usually go with those regular blinds. The horizontal style ones. They have some really nice ones out there now. They can be dusted quite easily and you can put them up or down or til the slats to be lots of light or none. We also have curtains on the outside of the window (the blinds are mounted in the frame) for extra cute factor and more light blocking.

    2. Most of our blinds were there when we moved in. I absolutely HATE the fabric hex tubular shade things in our dining room and living room. They get SUPER dusty and are a biatch to clean. We haven’t gotten around to changing them yet since other things in our house need fixing. Otherwise they came from Home Depot and Target.

    3. Hard materials (wood, metal, plastic blinds) and machine washable draperies, scarves and valences. I’m all for ease. Everything on my windows can be dusted and thrown into my washing machine/dryer. No drycleaners trips for my window treatments!

    4. ?? I feel like my fabric shades we haven’t replaced look like crap compared to our other mini-blinds (I feel these are a standard? Maybe just for the mid-westies?). I don’t think if you’re going for something to last years and years fabric will be it. JMO. Especially with puppies who can reach the bottom of them.

    5. My only advice here is for dogs or cats…make sure they can’t reach the pull-cord! My dog chewed part of the plastic handle-thinggy on one of our pull-cords. So now it’s a naked string. Highly attractive.

    Good luck CBear!

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  October 26, 2009 at 10:43 am

    I know how you feel. The big window in our living room would require 18′ tall curtains. Yea. Big bucks. Luckily there are no privacy issues (yet) as the building across the way hasn’t been finished yet, but eventually we will need to think of someway to cover them. Even if we bought fabric and did it ourselves it’d be upwards of $500, not to mention getting someone to install them.

    ugh.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather Hawkins  |  October 26, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I love smooth faux wood blinds. They clean so easily! And I think they look very nice. Find a place to install them for you. It can really try your patience, especially if you are installing more than one at a time. Oh, and if you are worried about cords, they make these clip things you can put on them to keep them out of reach of pets (they’re actually child safety clips).

    Reply
  • 5. Kate  |  October 26, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I bought extra long twin sheets in a variety of colors (most of them were on sale) and used the alligator clips attached to rings I found at Ikea/Walmart to hang. You can even dress up the sheets with ribbon on the bottom, stenciling with fabric paint, quilting, or embroidery. The thing I like best about using the sheets is they are already hemmed!!

    In my dining room I have red Ralph Lauren sheets which are extra fabulous because they are really thick fabric. I bought four flat twin sheets (12.99 a pop) and used two per side to be extra voluminous. I also raised my curtain rod higher than the window to give a little extra height and I let my curtains go all the way to the floor (no hemming required!). They are super pet friendly- just unclip and toss in the wash- no dry cleaning bill!!

    Reply
  • 6. Marie Elena  |  October 26, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    My husband and I recently discovered the magic (M-A-G-I-C I tell ya) of cellular shades. We have two cats (and two dogs, but that’s another story) who liked to get in between the slats of the regular aluminum blinds we inherrited with our house. We ended up with big, cat-sized holes in the sides of the blinds. It was awful. Especially because the hole on the front window shined directly on the TV (so tell your husband I feel his glare pain!). We went to Home Depot and came home with three cellular shades and they are magical. We live in a townhouse, and the front window looks directly onto a pretty busy street. I hated the thought of people being able to see what we were doing in our living room at any given moment, but I hated that regular blinds made the room feel dark, even in the daytime. The cellular blinds let in so much light, but (this is the BEST part) at night, even with the light on in the room, nobody can see in to our house – not even our shadows when we walk past the window! And here’s another other great part: They’re cheap! A 48″ X 72″ cellular shade is $59.97. They’re a sort of fabric, and they look so clean and nice (and have stayed that way, even with our hoard of animals). Here’s the link http://www.homedepot.com/Decor-Window-Treatments-Shades/h_d1/N-5yc1vZ1xr5Zarbh/R-100615596/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053

    Reply
  • 7. Kristina  |  October 26, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    1.) I love talking home design! We had this problem in our first apartment. We had super tall ceilings/windows and needed curtains that were 100+ inches. On our college student budget buying them was not an option so I bought some fabric I liked on sale and made some simple rod pocket panels. My sewing skills are rudimentary at best so if i could do it anyone could!
    Now that we live in base housing (with much lower ceilings) we have simple rod pocket curtains on all of the windows.

    2.) The living room curtains are Chloe Gauze Curtains from Urban Outfitters in hot pink. I don’t think they make that color anymore. In the office I just have some white sheers that I picked up from Salvation Army for $.75 I’m planning on changing those at some point to something more fun but haven’t gotten around to it. In the bedroom I actually have simple valances over printed sheers; they came with my Martha Stewart bedroom in a bag set from Macy’s.
    The Chloe Gauze curtains in the living room are my favorite because they add a much needed pop of color and I think the gauze fabric looks nicer than a traditional sheer. It looks way more natural and doesn’t have that cheapy polyester sheen look that my other sheers do up-close.
    I decided to put curtains up in all of the rooms because it adds some visual interest and helps cover up the hideous aluminum mini blinds that we can’t take down since we live in base housing. My grandmother has white plantation shutters and wood blinds and I think they look much nicer than regular blinds and they’re very traditionally Southern. They have to be dusted often though which is a definite downside. My Mom has shades made out of a sort of vinyl material and I like those a lot. When we have our own house I’ll probably have those because they’re easy to clean, look nice from the outside of the house (and inside, obviously) and my cats wont be able to destroy them like they have my blinds, which brings us to question 5. I don’t know much about dogs, but no curtain or blind is safe from cats. We have literally caught Beaux swinging from the living room curtains lol

    Reply
  • 8. itstrichy  |  October 26, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I currently have mini blinds on all the windows because we are way too close to the road and kids walk through our yard whether I like it or not. Aside from that, I’ve made every set of curtains (usually panel style, occasionally some valances) I’ve ever had. This summer was the first time I ever bought curtain panels and that’s because the blackout ones I found were cheaper than buying even the cheapest fabric and blackout liner to sew everything.

    I like cottons or silky solids that can be tossed in the washing machine. Just like with clothes, I think Dry Clean Only is pointless. It is rare that I’ll remember to wash them, rarer that I’ll feel like dismantling everything to do it. If I’m going to, I’d better be able to just w/d them and not have to run any special errands.

    The tighter the weave on the fabric, the less likely claws should be able to get into the fabric to shred it. However, teeth are another story entirely and no fabric is going to withstand a truly naughty pet.

    Reply
  • 9. Kristen  |  October 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Most of our windows already had some sort of covering. The problem was that in most rooms they were hideous and the windows were HUGE. So I being the sewing goddess that I am, I went to Joann Fabrics and got some gorgeous fabric. I made regular curtains for the living room and then got all crazy and made roman shades in the kids’ rooms. By that point I was so sick of roman shades, that I just bought fake wood blinds for the office and left the ugly beat up blinds up in the craft room and basement.

    Reply
  • 10. Anne  |  November 5, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Have you seen the Nesting Place? If you click on mistreatments you’ll get tons of quick and easy ideas. And then you’ll want to go crazy decorating your house (I’m addicted to her site now, want more and more ideas!)

    Good luck!

    http://nestingplacenc.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,681 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


