Cooking Light Night

October 21, 2009 at 7:06 pm 9 comments

I tried to “cook light” whenever I can. Before I started working full time I was cooking light a lot. You might even remember the logo from way back when, eh? But after so many meals out I start to crave a home cooked meal again. Tonight was the night to bring Cooking Light back. Actually I’ve been thinking about starting a group. Anyone interested?

Another group, CB?

Yes. I know. As if Cupcake Hero didn’t keep me busy. I’m crazy enough to start another one. But I’m just in the “thinking” stage. Maybe by tomorrow I’ll reconsider. HA!

One of my goals is to start cutting back on the carb-bage. (Get it? It’s like garbage but with carbs.) But it’s so hard b/c I LOVE pasta and bread. If there was such a thing as South Beach Carb diet, I’d be all over that sucker like cheese on bread. Unfortunately there’s not so I’m trying to get in the habit of using my pasta serving size thingamabobber to measure out pasta when I cook. It’s thing cool little gadget that clicks from 1-4 servings by making the “hole” bigger or smaller. You can see in the picture that I was a good little Cooking Light-er and made 1 serving.

I’m waiting… for my pat on the back.

Thank you.


Asparagus, Shrimp [and Scallop] Gremolata Pasta
Recipe adapted from Ways to Cook, Cooking Light

Makes 4 servings

* Calories 240 Fat 7.6g (sat 1.2g,mono 3.7g,poly 1.7g); Protein 36.1g; Carbohydrat 5.2g; Fiber 1.6g; Cholesterol 259mg; Iron 5.6mg; Sodium 403mg; Calcium 115mg (does not include pasta)

INGREDIENTS

3 cups (about 1/2 lb) of asparagus, sliced into 1″ pieces
1-1/2 lbs shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/2 lb baby scallops, pat dry, lightly coat with AP flour
4 tsp olive oil, divided (I used about 6 tsp since I added scallops)
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper

For gremolata
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
2 tsp lemon zest
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced

INSTRUCTIONS

Prepare gremolata by combining all 5 ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Add 2 tsp olive oil to pan, swirling to coat, about 20 secs. Add asparagus to pan, saute for about 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove asparagus from pan and keep warm. (I put mine on a plate wrapped in foil to retain heat.)

Add 2 tsp of olive oil to pan, swirling to coat, about 20 secs. Add shrimp and saute about 3 minutes until done, stirring occasionally. Remove shrimp from pan and keep warm. (I put mine on a same plate as asparagus.)

Add 2 tsp of olive oil to pan, swirling to coat, about 20 secs. Add scallops and saute about 3 minutes until done, stirring occasionally.

Add asparagus and shrimp back into saute pan along with 1/8 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper. Sprinkle evenly with gremolata.

Serve with your favorite pasta. (I used linguine.)

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He’s more of a chicken than seafood man but he really enjoyed this pasta and promptly asked for seconds.

Wifey rating: A+
I love shrimp. I love scallops. I love pasta. And I guess asparagus is good for you. I’ll definitely make this again.

* Nutritional information for original recipe. It does not include my changes and/or substitutions.

Entry filed under: Cooking Light, pasta.

HR: A little house update HR: Window treatments

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Ruth  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Looks very delish but its pretty too. Way to go! I know what you mean about the carbs.
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 2. April  |  October 22, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Looks delish!

    Reply
  • 3. stephchows  |  October 22, 2009 at 5:43 am

    ooo it sounds delicious!!! John only likes red sauce on pasta… I’m still attempting to change that about it… LOL I’ll keep him as is otherwise.. I just wish he’d eat more variety!! I’d probably be in for a cooking light group :D I love that magazine!

    Reply
  • 4. Meg  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I would totally be down for a cooking group. We are the same–we love all things carby and have to watch it or we will need new pants! :)

    I LOVE your blogs…read them so much that my hubs started one for me! Thanks for all the great info and pics!

    Reply
  • 5. Dolce  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:26 am

    You could do even better with whole wheat pasta, regarding nutrition.
    Otherwise this sounds really good!!

    Reply
  • 6. Mary Ann  |  October 22, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    A Cooking Light group would be unbelievably easy for me to participate in since I cook those recipes all the time.
    This looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 7. Beth  |  October 23, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Ohmahgah!!! Where did you get that awesome measuring device? I need one and have been looking all over for something like that.
    Please share!!!

    Reply
    • 8. CB  |  October 23, 2009 at 10:34 am

      Isn’t it awesome?! I got mine at a Fair where they were selling kitchen gadgets but I swear I’ve seen it at Sur La Table too. If I find another I’ll pick it up for you, k? :)

      Reply
  • 9. bethberg12  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:50 am

    It’s fabooo!!!!!

    I’m going to google until I find one for myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


