HR: A little house update

October 19, 2009 at 6:52 pm 10 comments

Are you all tired of the house talk yet?

Then you might wanna check out your google reader and move onto the next blog b/c it’s all house talk here at IHeartFood4Thought. I can’t help it. I have house on the brain. 24. 7. I sleep house. I breathe house. I eat house. Ok maybe not the eat part. Stucco and dry wall probably aren’t very appetizing but maybe high in fiber? tehee

So... you’ll be happy to know that me and Hubs have moved past the ceiling light fight discussion. He wasn’t feeling the upside blooming onion as he called it so I started looking at other lighting options and showed him this >>

PS Maskros Pendant lamp via Ikea

He stared at it for a while. And finally said. “Ok I can do the dandelion instead of the blooming onion.”

Score! *double fist pump*

Honestly it’s the one I wanted more but I thought the price would turn him off.

I’m also thinking of using this vinyl to build on the dandelion theme. Maybe along the walls that wind down the stairs to the second bedroom.

Image via Etsy seller StudioJK

See ladies. That’s how it’s done. Give your Hubs a few options and eventually he’ll see the value that comes with the price. It won’t happen overnight. My husband has been on the training program for 11 years now. But have patience and you’ll get the ceiling light you secretly covet. Like me.

Next up. Painting our bedroom pink. Oy! That might take more “training”.

Entry filed under: Home Related, house, Not Food Related. Tags: , , .

HR: Welcome Home Cooking Light Night

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tanya  |  October 19, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    i love the dandelion lamp! nice choice!

    my husband is wonderful in that he generally doesn’t care how i decorate, as long as it isn’t too out there. we bought the ikea tylosand sofa two or three years ago and i wanted the burnt orange cover SO bad. my husband wanted the plain brown, but he let me get the orange (as long as when we bought new covers, i got brown – which i just did).

    i miss my orange sofa, but i made up for it with an orange bed comforter. you should have seen the look on his face when he saw it!

    Reply
  • 2. stephchows  |  October 20, 2009 at 6:14 am

    ikea has the best lights! I can’t wait to see your place all done up!! so exciting!

    Reply
  • 3. Maria  |  October 20, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Ha! Good luck with that pink bedroom:)

    Reply
  • 4. Dolce  |  October 20, 2009 at 7:16 am

    The trick for getting your husband to choose what you want is “false choice”. Like, would you rather have the walls of the bedroom painted black or a nice shade of light pink? There is a good chance he will go for the “nice shade of light pink”. Basically, you are offering two choices and avoiding one that you don’t want to consider.
    Is this considered manipulation??? Works also with “if you take the light pink, I will bake your favorite dish once a month. Otherwise, I will never again”. That’s blackmail. But it might work!

    I like the dandilion better than the “onion”. I think it has a lighter finish, more airy.

    Reply
  • 5. mrssoup  |  October 20, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Oh, love the dandelion theme!

    I have so many dreams of what to do with our place….but no funds. And right now, I can’t even scrounge in Goodwill for good stuff. But I have my “look book” full of things I love…someday. Someday!

    Reply
  • 6. Amy Ruth  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Seriously, I love house talk!!! Who doesn’t love house talk? chat away. Love the dandelion, maybe you could even work in some tullips or sunflowers. hehe
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 7. Steph  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I am definitely not sick of hearing about the house. I’m actually excited to hear all your ideas because you are so creative. Your house is gong to look amazing!

    Reply
  • 8. Krista  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    lol I’m so impressed that your training is paying off! I’ll have to try it on my husband :) LOVE the lamp and the wall vinyl! Can’t wait to hear more about the house!

    Reply
  • 9. Carol Peterman  |  October 21, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Decorating projects are so fun! Your new light looks spectacular.

    Reply
  • 10. Nic  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:22 am

    I have a contribution to your dandelion scheme ;)

    http://www.whatisblik.com/shop/explore/let-s-go-parasoling

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


