HR: Welcome Home

October 15, 2009 at 6:07 am 6 comments

That’s how I knew this was the house for me.

The front door just seemed to say “Welcome Home.”

You can see from the unfinished stairs that we still have to pick out flooring and window treatments. I’m leaning towards wood in the common areas, carpet in the bedrooms/closets and tile in the bathrooms. My husband doesn’t really care either way as long as he knows the bottom line costs. So like a man. Actually he’s more concerned about the size of flat screen that will fit above the fireplace mantle and the landscaping. He wants all concrete in our small patio/backyard so that he doesn’t have to mow. *smacks head* I curse my BIL for complaining all the time about mowing his huge back and front yard. Oh well. I guess I can compromise on the concrete.

Right now the topic of house conversation isn’t the escrow papers, the money, the floors, the paint color, the window treatments. It’s about the diningroom ceiling lamp. I want this:

Knappa pendant lamp from Ikea

But husband says it looks like an upside down blooming onion. Sigh…

Entry filed under: Home Related, house, Not Food Related.

TWD #86: Cupcakes are just flamboyant muffins HR: A little house update

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Regina  |  October 15, 2009 at 6:47 am

    The lamp really isn’t my taste either. I bet it would be tough to clean too. If you end up settling for something else, at least you can comfort yourself with that.

    Reply
  • 2. iambellaluna  |  October 15, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Love that front door. Lucky californians. I don’t think my front porch/door area has ever looked so good.

    Reply
  • 3. Dolce  |  October 15, 2009 at 8:04 am

    The lamp is cute but you might want to consider cleaning. What do you do when it’s all dusty ? It must be pretty difficult to clean everything and so on. (Well, same as Regina there… just read that…)
    But at the same time, that’s Ikea. Not like it’s going to get your wallet bleeding, so…

    Reply
  • 4. stephchows  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I say wood everywhere :) and then area rugs in the bedrooms :) As for the lamp I like it!! It reminds me of a cool do it yourself I read about in Ready-Made magazine. wicked fun :)

    Reply
  • 5. Jennifer  |  October 16, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Clara — I don’t know if you remember me, but this is “Jam” from LL. I just took a stroll through there tonight (it’s pretty dead nowadays) and was curious to know how you were doing. A quick Google search and I found you here! Congrats on becoming a new homeowner! That’s such happy news! On the flip side, I’m so sorry to hear about Opie and Snickerdoodle. I know how much you loved them and how special they were. Hope everything is going well otherwise. Good luck with moving! Have fun!

    Reply
    • 6. CB  |  October 17, 2009 at 7:26 am

      Omg Jam! Of course I remember you. Hit me up with an email so we can catch up :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,073 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


