TWD #86: Cupcakes are just flamboyant muffins

October 14, 2009 at 12:40 pm 11 comments

Have you heard the saying Muffins are just ugly cupcakes made popular by a tshirt from Hot Topic? It’s kinda of my mantra when I get into the cupcake vs muffin debate with any muffin lover. I think it’s quite obvious that I’m a cupcake lover. But the best come back yet was when my friend told me “Oh yeah! Well… Cupcakes are just flamboyant muffins.” HA! HA! And now you know where I got my subject line.

This week the Tuesdays with Dorie bakers and our host, Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table, are baking up muffins. You can find the complete recipe on Kayte’s blog. I consider Kayte to be more than my baking buddy but a real-awesome-never-met-her-in-real-life-but-I-would-in-a-heartbeat friend. I even stalk follow her on twitter. And you should too. Because she rocks. Enough said.

Now I know it’s been a few weeks since I last participated in my favorite group bake-along but I’m trying to get back into the swing of things in the midst of escrow, decorating and packing for my new house. (Eek!) Honestly I don’t know how people do it. I feel like I’m drowning in escrow papers. I need Scrooge McDuck to teach me to swim. Did my cartoon reference just give away my age? Yes, I’ll confirm that I am indeed 21… ish.

What I learned this week:
I have never bought all-spice and probably never will unless someone tells me that it’s better than my cinnamon, nutmeg, clover substitute.


All Spice Crumb Muffins
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


My hands got down and dirty with the streusel topping. It’s fun to play with food.


I don’t have all-spice so I used a combination of 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cloves for the recipe. I also substituted half-and-half for the whole milk and used the optional lemon zest. Who doesn’t love lemon zest? That batter smelled so good. Just like Fall.


I may have gone overboard with the streusel topping. Ya think? You can’t blame me. Biting into the muffin with brown sugar chunks on top was SO good.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
My husband is a fan of muffins. Pumpkin muffins, blueberry muffins and now All-Spice Crumb muffins. He even told me he likes muffins more than cupcakes. *gasp* Don’t worry. He’s sleeping on the couch tonight.

Wifey rating: A-
I like muffins but I’m a cupcake girl so it was missing a little something-something for me. I think it would have been PERFECT with some cinnamon cream cheese frosting.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

HR: “It really tied the room together.” ~The Dude HR: Welcome Home

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolatechic  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Yep…that icing would have been perfection.

    Reply
  • 2. Jill  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I liked these as-is, but I wouldn’t say no to cinnamon cream cheese frosting!

    Good luck with the house…don’t freak out when you have to sign your name 100 times!

    Reply
  • 3. Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Your muffins look great! I’m a cupcake girl too, but I loved these.

    Reply
  • 4. Karen  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Glad to see you back! :) Your muffins sound delish with the spice combo!

    Reply
  • 5. Kayte  |  October 14, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    First of all, thank you for the lovely things you wrote about me, that was very kind and sweet of you. LOL on Twitter…I CANNOT KEEP UP with you on Twitter, you have a thousand thoughts, all them fun and exciting and I giggle every day at all your insights. Such fun. Your process photos are always the best…showing exactly how it is done and what it looks like at the finish line. They look perfect, that’s how they look! Thanks for baking with me this week!

    Reply
  • 6. Nancy/n.o.e  |  October 14, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    One piece of advice: Don’t look at the ultimate total on the mortgage papers. It’s guaranteed to freak you out! Congrats on the impending homeownership. And congrats also on facing this week’s muffin with an open mind. A- is nothing to sneeze at. I love all those spices, but allspice has its own special charm.

    Reply
  • 7. Margaret  |  October 14, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    You are too funny. Scrooge McDuck was my daughter’s era. I’m a more Wiley Coyote kind of girl.

    But, I digress. Muffins look great, and for a cup cake gal, you were kind to them.

    Reply
  • 8. Tracey  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    You can never have too much streusel topping! Your muffins look great!

    Congrats on your new house :)

    Reply
  • 9. stephchows  |  October 15, 2009 at 6:30 am

    since it had a crumble topping… doesn’t that count as a cupcake… since it’s a topping… or does said cupcake HAVE to have icing… oh the great questions of life!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Courtney  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    HA! You could always…PUT icing on it ;) Its moist enough to be a cupcake for sure!

    Reply
  • 11. pamela  |  October 16, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I agree…you could always slather on some icing incase of emergency. Looks good, though! Good luck with the new place!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,191 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


