HR: “It really tied the room together.” ~The Dude

October 9, 2009 at 11:25 am 13 comments

Ya know what? There’s 10 things that I am slowly realizing as I wait for my November escrow to come to a close.

10. You will find your house when you aren’t looking for it.
9. You won’t find your perfect house. You have to find your perfect-right-now house. And that’s ok.
8. Thirty days will feel like 300 days.
7. There’s nothing that will prepare you for the amount of money you will be spending. A.B.S.O.L.U.T.E.L.Y.N.O.T.H.I.N.G. (I’m still hyperventilating about the closing costs.)
6. You will talk to your lender on the phone more than your BFF.
5. Your TV will perpetually be on HGTV channel 24/7 much to the aggravation of your husband. And then you realize he’s actually sitting next to you watching too.
4. For some reason you get the craving to buy a staple gun. (See #5)
3. Family and friends become your best asset in the house buying process. Not just for monetary mooching advantages but for advice and support.
2. First time home buyer tax credit (aka free money) is fan-FREAKING-tastic. It’s going to allow us to buy our first home and be debt free! w00t w00t!
1. You will become obsessed with rugs.

I even have mine picked out. I love FLOR carpet styles. I’m thinking the 8×10 version will fit my “cozy” livingroom’s hard wood floors well. I already know my coffee table will be black, my couch will be off white or light gray and the pops of blue will be from TONS of pillows. And the rug will just tie everything together. (I hope.)

I won’t tell you how many times I’ve watched the installation video. Doesn’t it look fun and easy! (Famous last words.) It’s even called “Easy as Pie”. How divine. <~ Omg too much Candice Olson on the brain. So sorry about that. It just slipped out. *embarrassed*

So now you’re probably thinking. Great! You found your rug. No more rug talk, right? WRONG! You obviously don’t know me well. I’m an obsessive person. There’s the diningroom rug, the bathroom rug, the bedroom rug, the kitchen rug, the hallway rug…

PS- Thank you for all comments on my previous post. I appreciate all the housewarming wishes from all my bloggy friends. *smooches* Hoping to have townhouse “before” pictures for you all this weekend.

Entry filed under: Home Related, house, Not Food Related. Tags: , , .

NFR: Property Virgin… no more? TWD #86: Cupcakes are just flamboyant muffins

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stephchows  |  October 9, 2009 at 11:31 am

    so flippin exciting!!! I can’t wait to see pictures :D

    Reply
  • 2. mrssoup  |  October 9, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Hahahaha, Love it! Congratulations on your first time home buying! Can’t wait to see before AND after photos!

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  October 9, 2009 at 11:37 am

    We actually have a flor rug in our living room… similar pattern, just a bit brighter color (think turquoise and plum purple, hehe). But yes, I know what you mean about obsessing over rugs. We’ve got that and a round shag rug in our ‘reading nook’, and finally gave up on the bedroom and hallway rugs because I was sick of scrolling rug websites endlessly into the night. Our wood floors are pretty enough we don’t NEED rugs everywhere, or so we’ve convinced ourselves.

    Reply
  • 4. food librarian  |  October 9, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Freaking crazy exciting!

    Oh, that Candace Olsen. They isn’t anything that woman can’t do…or her staff of 20.

    – mary

    Reply
  • 5. Caitlin  |  October 9, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I now feel lucky that I haven’t fallen into that particular black hole of productivity – eek! And double eek to closing costs, check writing, etc. Also – re: staple gun and referring to point #6, are you saying that you want to shoot staples at your lender? Because that’s not something I really do to people I like… :P

    Reply
    • 6. CB  |  October 9, 2009 at 12:16 pm

      LOL @ shooting staples at lender. Oops. I mixed up the numbers. It’s fixed now :P

      Reply
  • 7. Natalie  |  October 9, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    LOLing at your debt free-ness. That must be some tax credit if you can buy your entire house with it… ;)

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 8. iambellaluna  |  October 9, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Omg. Now I want a FLOR rug. THAAAANKS. You should see my HGTV inspired to-do list. I still have so many things I haven’t accomplished yet…like painting.

    Reply
  • 9. Tamara  |  October 9, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Hah, I totally bought a staple gun within a year of buying our house. (Had to put up some mesh for my climbing flowers.)

    Reply
  • 10. Erin  |  October 10, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Congrats and DEBT-FREE?! That is awesome! You go girl! Can’t wait to see all the photos!

    Reply
  • 11. Steph  |  October 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I’m so excited for you! With your creativity, your house is going to look awesome.

    Reply
  • 12. Kristen  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    If I lived closer I would lend you my staple gun whenever you wanted to use it and make you curtains and pillows and all that fun stuff. Good luck with the closing! Hope it goes smoothly!

    Reply
  • 13. Melissa  |  October 25, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Buying your first home is a great feeling. :) I looked at three places one day, and this one was my last viewing (on purpose, I suspect, because it was the best). I spent 10 minutes in here, max, and I knew it was for me. It’s not forever, but right now I love it. Enjoy your new place. :)

    PS. Yes, the closing costs are outrageous. I remember my lawyer going through them all and saying things like “and the govt charges you to ______ because they can”. She was so right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,059 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


