NFR: Project Samson

September 19, 2009 at 1:20 pm 26 comments

… and my hair stylist’s name was Delilah. HA! Ok not really. Actually her name’s Corrine but she had no remorse cutting my hair.

Let me back up. It all started with a tweet.

Next thing I know my friend calls me and says “Are you busy?” Why? “I made you a hair appt for Sunday at 1 o’clock.” WHAT? “It will be fun. We can get our hair cut together.” Why? “I saw your tweet.” Damn twitter.

So… (3 hours later) I went from this…

… to this.

WHOA right?

All I remember is squealing when she took the HUGE scissors and cut HACKED off my ponytail. I think I even remember my friend laughing at me. Then again the memory is kinda fuzzy b/c I’m trying to block the trauma. (Melodramatic, much? Um. yes. I’m a girl. Duh?!)

It’s been almost a week and I’m still getting use to short hair. Everyone seems to like it. Me? I feel like a tard when I try to use a flat iron. Forget trying to use a hair dryer and round brush at the same time. How the heck do people do that? I’m just not ambidextrous. My left hand is useless. Sorry Lefty. The truth hurts.

But I don’t regret it. It’s kinda becoming a tradition for me. Every year I cut my hair and donate to Locks of Love <~ Click the link to learn more. It's really a great cause and I'm sure I'll do it again next year. What do I have to lose? Just my hair.

Entry filed under: Not Food Related, random. Tags: , .

TWD #85: Time to “turnover” a new leaf NFR: Property Virgin… no more?

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patricia  |  September 19, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    That’s awesome! I’ve been thinking about doing Locks of Love myself but I need my hair to grow a little bit more (10 inches would leave me with a pixie cut and I’m not really a pixie cut kind of girl) :)

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 19, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    haha, Twitter gets me in trouble nearly every day! I love your short hair – you look so glamorous. Flat irons are magic creations, and really help with short/straight hair. Really don’t even need that round brush business. About 8 years ago, my girls and I all grew our hair out for Locks of Love. I think I donated about 14 inches of hair. I ended up with a pixie and everyone who saw me squealed!

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  September 19, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    First, what a cute cut! And what a great cause! You are really beautiful hair! – mary

    Reply
  • 4. Caroline  |  September 19, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Your new ‘do is so much better than a bowl cut. ;) Locks of Love is something I can get into, my hubby might not like the idea, though. But like you said, it’s only hair.

    Reply
  • 5. Steph  |  September 19, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I think you look so cute! I used to get the bowl cut when I was little… omg.. the memories…

    Reply
  • 6. Erin  |  September 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I LOVE IT! So cute!

    PS. I gave my hair to Loves of Love once, but my hair is so thin & fine, I’m convinced all I did was give a kid bangs.

    Reply
  • 7. RP  |  September 19, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    OMG! CB your hair looks AMAZING! Love it and love you, too!!

    Reply
  • 8. Tanya  |  September 19, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    You look so cute and I love the new cut! That’s awesome that you donated to Locks of Love. When I got all my hair chopped off, my mom asked me if I had donated my hair. I didn’t even think about it because my hair was SO damaged before.

    I love my super short hair! It was weird to get used to, but once you figure out how to style it right, it’s so much easier than long hair (IMO!).

    Reply
  • 9. Izzo  |  September 19, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    It’s adorable. You’re adorable and oh so generous. That is a super cool tradition that helps someone less fortunate.

    Reply
  • 10. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)  |  September 20, 2009 at 2:00 am

    I LOVE your new haircut!! Its super cute :) :) You got a new hairstyle, and did a good deed. Seems perfect =)

    Reply
  • 11. Suzanne  |  September 20, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I am getting ready to donate 10-11 inches on September 30th.

    Reply
  • 12. Mary Ann  |  September 20, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    I absolutely love it! You look so gorgeous! And what a great thing to donate your hair for.

    Reply
  • 13. pamela  |  September 20, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    You are so brave!! Not to mention BEAUTIFUL!! Love the new cut.

    Reply
  • 14. Joelen  |  September 20, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    You rock! I love that you 1) were brave enough to endure the hacking, 2) donated your gorgeous locks to a fab organization and 3) look fabulous with the short cut! (Although, I’m partial to short hair)! Love it love it love it!!

    Reply
  • 15. Julie  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:23 am

    I think your hair looks super cute! :D

    I just got mine cut short too, so I know the feeling of getting used to it!

    Reply
  • 16. Dolce  |  September 21, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I was actually wondering from the beginning of your article if you had donated your hair… This is a great gesture, congratulations. And your new haircut looks great :)

    Reply
  • 17. iambellaluna  |  September 21, 2009 at 8:25 am

    ::swoon::

    I’m.in.love. You’re haircut is SEXY! I love long hair too but, damn! Love love that haircut & donating to Locks of Love is awesome. I only hope my hair is one day long enough to do that. So many people i know have done it…Props!

    (I know I sound totally creepy, but that’s why you keep me around)

    Reply
  • 18. Suzy  |  September 21, 2009 at 9:33 am

    LOVE the hair. If I wasn’t pregnant again I’d hack mine off too!

    Reply
  • 19. stephchows  |  September 21, 2009 at 11:14 am

    YOU LOOK AWESOME!!!! and yeahhh for locks for love!! :) I had so much fun donating for it! I need to grow it out again so I can do it again :)

    Reply
  • 20. Natalie  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Wow – your hair grows fast enough to donate once a year? I think we donated at about the same time last year and I still feel like mine is short! And its too short to donate, definitely. How cool. You go girl

    Reply
  • 21. Alanna  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:56 am

    You always look darling. Love the cut on you!

    Reply
  • 22. Katrina  |  September 22, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I agree, it’s cute! I just recently cut my hair from about how long yours is now to a real CHOP–short, short layered! It’s been over a month and I’m still not sure I’m used to it. Great cause, you’re right it’s just hair.

    Reply
  • 23. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  September 23, 2009 at 11:48 am

    it looks great! i often think about getting a major chop myself, but always chicken out in the end!

    Reply
  • 24. Margaret  |  September 24, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    OH!! Your hair is adorable. Looks really good on you.

    Practice with the dryer/round brush. It actually does get easier.

    Reply
  • 25. amanda  |  October 2, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Hey, you look fabulous! I have been following your blog for more than a year even though I havent commented much, its got me through stressful days at work, rainy monday mornings, I love your blog-keep it going.

    Reply
  • 26. Amy Ruth  |  October 3, 2009 at 11:06 am

    You Are just Cute!!! No matter what! I love your new cut, but then I saw it on Twitter too! he he Such a good cause and I always say “Its just hair, it’ll grow. Right? Drama? That’s okay cuz its a big big change. You’re a grown up girl and you can handle it though. Just makes for more excitement.
    AmyRuth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


