TWD #85: Time to “turnover” a new leaf

September 15, 2009 at 5:38 pm 17 comments

Oh man! That (title) was cheesy. Even for me. And I like cheese. But cut me some slack. It’s hard work being this cheesy every week. You try it. Then you’ll appreciate me. HA HA!

This week my baking group, Tuesdays With Dorie and our hostess, Julie of Someone’s in the Kitchen, had fun with flour and butter (ALOT OF BUTTER) to bring you some apple turnovers. (You can find the complete recipe on Julie’s blog.)

I knew this was gonna be a good one esp if it’s anything like the Apple Tartlets or Apple Pie-Cake of past. Those are in my husband’s top 5 list. I think he has a thing for apples or maybe it’s the dough with ginormous amounts of butter. Either way them’s some tasty apples.

What I learned this week:
I need a pastry cutter or a bigger food processor. Oh what the heck! I NEED both. Are you reading Santa?


Flaky Apple (and Raspberry) Turnovers
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


Sour cream+flour


Since I don’t have a pastry cutter and giving me 2 knives when my left hand is useless (I could foresee bandaids with that method), I got the “brilliant” idea to dump everything in my food processor. But the quotation marks should tell you that something happened right?


Long story short. I reached maximum capacity in my 12 cup food processor and upon pulsing I got a lovely taste of splattered dough all over my shirt and face. Also my blade got stuck in the dough. Good times. Thankfully it balled up nicely after I took the blade out.


The dough balls aren’t very equal. I think the dough ball on the right has dough envy.


Dorie suggested a 4-1/2″ cookie cutter but my biggest one was 3-5/8″ so I improvised with my mini tart pan instead. I love the scalloped edges. Don’t you?


The smell of cinnamon and sugar always reminds me of Thanksgiving. Don’t ask me why. Just does.


When I read Dorie’s playing around section about raspberries I knew I had to add some raspberries with the granny smith apples. The color contrast is so purdy (and tasty!) IMO.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He loves these turnovers and I was kinda surprised that he liked the apple-raspberry ones more than the plain apple. He’s not a raspberry person. Go figure!

Wifey rating: A
These weren’t very sweet but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. The dough was melt in your mouth buttery and I love the apples and raspberries together. Definitely will make these again with some ice cream on the side next time!

Other rating: A/A+
I made these to share with some friends on Sunday night and they all love them. My friend even called dibs on the leftovers. Another winner from Dorie!

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

All good things come to an end. NFR: Project Samson

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kayte  |  September 15, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Oh these look lovely and really really like the scalloped edges…next time, I am doing those! Flavors sound great. Dough looks wonderful. I would say you have a hit.

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  September 15, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I wonder if the sweetness depends on the apple? I thought they were just a little more sugary than I would have liked, but I used honeycrisp apples, and they’re really sweet.

    Reply
  • 3. Romaine of www.salad-in-a-jar.com  |  September 15, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I put scallops on my edges too but then they were completely obliterated by the fork when sealing. Looks like I need to take lessons from you. Like the raspberry idea too.

    Reply
  • 4. Joelen  |  September 15, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I love the scalloped edges and your addition of raspberries!

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  September 15, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    So pretty! Great job!

    Reply
  • 6. chocolatechic  |  September 16, 2009 at 3:06 am

    I grate frozen butter so that I don’t have to cut it in.

    Reply
  • 7. Caitlin  |  September 16, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Those are absolutely adorable with their little scalloped edges! And yes, you need a pastry cutter :) Although I’m going to lust after your FP, since all I have is a (completely useless, thanks Mom) mini-prep FP.

    Reply
  • 8. stephchows  |  September 16, 2009 at 6:04 am

    the mini tart pan as a cookie cutter was such a good idea!!!

    dough envy… LOL

    Reply
  • 9. Mary Ann  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I love that you used raspberries and your mini-tart pan to cut them out. The scalloped edges look really pretty. The dough looks really good too. Fun that you got to share them!

    Reply
  • 10. Dolce  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:54 am

    They look adorable.
    And I hope Santa is reading your wish list…

    Reply
  • 11. Katrina  |  September 16, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Love your scalloped edges and the addition of raspberries sounds yummy!

    Reply
  • 12. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  September 16, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    delicious, and so cute with those fluted cutters!

    Reply
  • 13. Nancy/n.o.e  |  September 16, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Love what you did with these! The raspberries were an inspired addition, and what about those cute scallops!?! I found the finger-rub method easier than a pastry cutter. Glad they were a hit with the crowd.

    Reply
  • 14. teaandscones  |  September 16, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    LOVE the scalloped edges on the turnovers. And with raspberries added in. Perfect.

    Reply
  • 15. suzy  |  September 18, 2009 at 6:54 am

    re: pastry cutter…somehow I ended up with two. It was one of those things I said I needed one, and my Dad gave me one, then my Mom bought me one about 2 months later b/c she forgot Dad gave me one. Can I send you my spare? I’d really be happy to!

    Reply
  • 16. julessomeone  |  September 21, 2009 at 11:03 am

    So glad these were enjoyed! The raspberries are such a lovely touch. Thanks for baking with me!

    Reply
  • 17. Di  |  September 23, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I did the dough by hand and it actually worked quite well. I love your fancy edges, and the raspberry idea is great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


