T(hursdays)WD #84: It’s pronounced soo-flay

September 9, 2009 at 7:46 pm 13 comments

“The only thing that will make a soufflé fall is if it knows you are afraid of it.” ~James Beard

Oh man. I’m screwed. James Beard said so.

Being a foodie and watching the food network and Top Chef, I feel like I should know who James Beard is. I’m sure you’ve heard of this chef or that chef getting nominated or winning the James Beard award right? Regardless, it’s a pretty big deal (apparently) to win his self-titled award. At least that’s the impression I get. So if James Beard says that you can’t do souffle with fear you can imagine that added to my apprehension.

Don’t ask me why but I had the distinct feeling that souffles were complicated, temperamental, tedious.. well… you get the picture. Maybe that’s why I put it off until Thursday. My apologies to this week’s hostess with the mostess, Susan of Doughmesstic (you can find the complete recipe on her blog) for procrastinating this week. A souffle might not be a daunting task to a master baker like herself but me… little ol me… was scurred. I wonder if any other Tuesday with Dorie bakers shared my fear.

Anyone… Bueller? Bueller?


Chocolate Souffle
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I used 1/2 bittersweet and 1/2 semi-sweet chocolate. The melted chocolate+sugar doesn’t look to appetizing right now but just wait and see…


Don’t ask me why but I love the picture (R) where I caught it mid-mix and you can see the beautiful bubbles. Point and shoot baby!


Folding egg whites always makes me worry. I’m not a good egg white folder. I tend to doubt myself mid-folding and probably fold more than I should. <~ Yes, I am a neurotic baker.


Aren’t my mini 2oz souffle cups so cute? I am in love with them. I halved the recipe and got 8-2oz souffles. What the heck am I gonna do with 8?? I guess I have no choice but to eat them. There are starving children in China!


IT’S ALIVE! *muhahaha* But dang they deflate fast. I was all ready to pour some caramel sauce on top for an uber fabulous picture but I swear I turned my back for <1minute and it was a flat cake. When Dorie says "serve immediately" she wasn't joking!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
At first he saw it and said “That’s it? Where’s the frosting, the sauce, the bells and whistles?” but after one bite he was sold. Last count he ate 3 of the mini souffles. HA HA

Wifey rating: A+
Sinful. I wasn’t sure I’d be a souffle person but I’m definitely a souffle person. Only takes one bite and you’ll never go back.

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Foodie Question of the Day All good things come to an end.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Margaret  |  September 9, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Great post. . Hubby feels should be at least 3 inches of frosting on ANY cake. But he liked these too.

    Beautiful soo-flays

    Reply
  • 2. The TriniGourmet  |  September 9, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    love your soo-flays as well :) wanted to give them a try but didnt have the right dishes :(

    Reply
  • 3. Clivia  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:29 am

    It’s hard to believe that something can be this good without frosting, but it’s true. Glad you all enjoyed!

    Reply
  • 4. Beth  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:58 am

    It’s like pie crust…it can smell your fear!

    Yours look fabulous :-)

    Reply
  • 5. Tracey  |  September 10, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Your souffles look perfect! You aren’t alone – I was a bit intimidated too but it really is so easy!! Mine deflated quickly too but oh well, still really tasty :)

    Reply
  • 6. Dolce  |  September 10, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Yes, souffle is definitely alive ;)
    Good thing about a souffle is you HAVE to eat it. Otherwise it deflates and does not look this great. So that’s a very good excuse, right?

    Reply
  • 7. stephchows  |  September 10, 2009 at 7:04 am

    they look awesome!!! man 1 minute to deflate… that aint cool haha

    Reply
  • 8. uclala  |  September 10, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I love your mini-chocolate souffles! Soo soo cute! And that’s an awesome rise. I have the same strainer – I use it to sift everything!

    Reply
  • 9. Katrina  |  September 10, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Better late than never. You and me. For some reason I was only following your cuppycake blog and darn, I’ve missed a bunch here. I’m here now, and since mine is all gone, I’d like a soo-flay please! ;)
    Definitely was intimiated and leery and then glad I made it and liked it, too!

    Reply
  • 10. Joelen  |  September 10, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Gorgeous job (as usual!) and I’ll have to try making individual souffles soon. I really liked the recipe and it was so easy!

    Reply
  • 11. Nancy/n.o.e  |  September 11, 2009 at 10:53 am

    So this week you learned that you are a souffle person AND a souffle-making person! No fears – the sky’s the limit! Time to try a savory souffle now (they’re sooo good, yum, cheese)

    Reply
  • 12. Wendy  |  September 15, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I’m glad it was a hit! I need to go back and make it.

    Reply
  • 13. Di  |  September 23, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    I really need to make these. And caramel sauce sounds fabulous. Nice job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,191 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


