TWD #83: Orange you glad you stopped by?

September 1, 2009 at 1:13 am 18 comments

Forgive my corny attempt at a foodie joke.

You probably won’t even get it until you scroll down. Actually you’re probably totally confused since this week the Tuesday with Dorie bakers are whisking up some ESPRESSO Cheesecake Brownies chosen by Melissa of Life in a Peanut Shell (you can find the complete recipe on her blog).

So you’re probably asking yourself what “orange” has to do with anything right?

Go ahead scroll down. Keep scrolling. I’ll wait…

Get my joke now? See! It’s not that corny. Ok maybe it’s still corny. Gimme a break. I haven’t had my kit kat bar today. I’m on a roll! Wheeeeee!

I promise I’m not drunk. Hey! Why are you giving me that look? I think I start telling lame jokes when I have blogger’s block. But honestly this recipe doesn’t need much hype from me. I knew even before I made it that they would be delicious. I mean. It’s brownies AND cheesecake. What’s not to love? That’s why I doubled the recipe. I have good instincts about desserts. Don’t mess with me.

What I learned this week:
I use to be a straight-by-the-recipe kind of baker but I had so much fun with this recipe coming up with a slightly different flavor for a dessert that fit my tastes. I admit it kinda sucks when you try things and they fail but when it turns out even better than you thought… it’s worth playing around!


Espresso Orange Cheesecake Brownies
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan

To make brownie:

I used 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 bittersweet chocolate instead of all bittersweet.

To make orange cheesecake:

I may have overfilled the tsp and use more vanilla than recipe called for but you have no proof. *looking innocent*


The original recipe is suppose to be espresso cheesecake but I’m not a big coffee person (much to the dismay of my husband aka Mr. Vente Starbucks Mocha no whip) so I decided to leave out the espresso and sub zest of 1 orange, juice of one orange and 1/2 tsp orange extract to make an Orange Cheesecake instead! I love chocolate+orange flavors!

To assemble:


I love the layers!


I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13×9 glass pyrex for about 45 minutes. The center wasn’t completely done so I probably could have gone for 50 minutes but I was worried the brownie layer would overbake. I’ll take slightly underbaked cheesecake vs overbaked brownies. Ya feel me?


I skipped the sour cream topping, cut them up, saran wrapped and froze these bad boys!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: B+ (for the cheesecake) / A- (for the brownie)
He liked the the brownie layer but it wasn’t his favorite brownie recipe b/c he tends to like his brownies more gooey vs cakey. Sadly I could tell he wasn’t a fan of the orange cheesecake since he’s a cheesecake purist. He’s LOVES the basic cheesecake recipe though.

Wifey rating: A (for the cheesecake) / B (for brownie)
I thought the orange cheesecake was SO yummy but I ditto hubs about the brownie. It had a cakey less gooey and chewy texture. I prefer gooey and chewy.

Other rating: A/A+
I made the cheesecake brownies for Hubs’ work meeting today. I’ll let you know what they say tomorrow! Hubs reports that there were RAVES all around! Many requested the recipe. Some mentioned that they thought Hubs had bought them at the store since they were pre-cut, wrapped and delicious! What a great compliment!

Next week: Chocolate Souffle page 406

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: , , , .

TWD #82: Pie me to the moon. Foodie Question of the Day

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Romaine of www.salad-in-a-jar.com  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Doesn’t look like you had any trouble with the swirling. Very nice.

    Reply
  • 2. Jeff  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:41 am

    I love the idea of combining orange and chocolate – YUM! Very clever re: slicing and freezing…… I may have to try that. Did it work well?

    Nicely done!

    Reply
  • 3. chocolatechic  |  September 1, 2009 at 4:39 am

    I almost went the orange way, but since I had no oranges, I went totally different.

    Reply
  • 4. Maria  |  September 1, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Love your jokes:) Great orange addition!

    Reply
  • 5. Mary Ann  |  September 1, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Ha ha! This is the best post I have seen- I am with you on the underbaked cheescake vs. overbaked brownie. I love that you did orange- I might have liked these better.

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle  |  September 1, 2009 at 7:17 am

    I love your idea of freezing them all individally! I think your brownies look grand! I loved the frosting on mine the best!

    Reply
  • 7. Karen  |  September 1, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Love the swirls in yours. Mine did not swirl. :( I think these would be fabulous with the orange in them! :)

    Reply
  • 8. stephchows  |  September 1, 2009 at 9:49 am

    MMMMM I can’t NOT mess with recipes… I have a problem I really do… I just can’t help myself!

    Reply
  • 9. Wendy  |  September 1, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Orange cheesecake! Love the swirls. I’m glad you liked them.

    Reply
  • 10. Lauryn  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Ha…well the corny jokes got a laugh out of me! Does that mean I am corny too? Your brownies look amazing and I bet the orange flavor was incredible!!!

    Reply
  • 11. food librarian  |  September 1, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Love them all in the freezer! Perfect little treats. Love the orange flavor addition!!

    Reply
  • 12. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  September 1, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Whoa, your swirling has left me speechless (but I’d probably say something about how cool it is that you adapted the recipe and found something you loved)

    Reply
  • 13. isa  |  September 1, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Awesome! I love your orange version and your swirls are perfect!

    Reply
  • 14. Courtney  |  September 2, 2009 at 4:45 am

    I agree, I like gooey, chewy brownies too! I wasnt a huge fan but glad you tried something new with the the orange!

    Reply
  • 15. Ulrike  |  September 2, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Your swirls are perfect! I had to cover mine with topping :-)

    Reply
  • 16. Heather B  |  September 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    oh yum! I wanna try orange next time!

    Reply
  • 17. ina  |  September 3, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    yum yum yum
    that sounds soooo delicious

    more of this please,

    greets from germany

    Reply
  • 18. Tracey  |  September 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Love your idea to sub orange for espresso!! Your swirls are so perfect. I really need to work on my swirling ability!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,525 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


