TWD # 80: Kiss my bundt… err… muffin.

August 4, 2009 at 8:37 pm 23 comments

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I’ve posted a Tuesdays With Dorie recipe. July was a crazy month for me so I took a little TWD hiatus but now I’m back and with my habitual professional procrastination form by posting with 2 hours til deadline. Kids, I’m a professional. Don’t try this at home.

Truth be told I wasn’t that excited to make the Classic Banana Bundt Cake (Sorry Mary!) b/c I’m not a banana fan girl. Far from it. I gag just thinking about eating a banana. It’s a texture thing for me. It probably doesn’t help that my earliest memory of eating a banana was vomiting it back up. My mom thought a banana would be good to eat when I was sick. Just trust me when I tell you that banana flavored vomit isn’t a good thing.

I’m so losing my readers with the vomit talk right?

Anyways… moving right along.

Seeing as our host this week is the fabulous Mary of The Food Librarian, I couldn’t skip this one. (You can find the original bundt recipe on her blog. I posted my muffin version below.)

She’s what I like to call “one of the cool peeps”. Am I surprised that Mary picked a bundt cake? I can emphatically tell you “no”. In fact I would have been surprised if she hadn’t picked a bundt cake! Just peruse her blog for a little while and you’ll know why. The woman likes loves bundts. Not to be confused with butts. Then again I don’t know Mary *that* well. She could be a butt woman. Maybe if we ask nicely, she’ll confess in comments. *giggle*

What I learned this week:
Twitter rocks. But I knew that before this week. I got some great banana and sour cream substitute suggestions in like 5 secs. Aaawww the power of Twitter. Ultimately I went with pumpkin and chocolate chips after doing a pantry raid. I don’t know why it always surprises me when I find things at the back of my pantry. I should clean it out more often.


Banana Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake, The Muffin Version
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan

Makes about 12-14 muffins

INGREDIENTS

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 large egg, at room temperature
2 very ripe bananas, mashed (about 3/4 cup) (I substituted with 3/4 cup canned pumpkin)
1/2 cup sour cream or plain yogurt (I substituted 1/2 cup buttermilk+2-1/2 tbsp butter)
3 ounces chopped chocolate, optional (I used milk chocolate chips)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line cupcake/muffin pan with liners.

Combine the flour, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.

Working with a stand mixer, fitted with a flat beater (or with a hand mixer in a large bowl), beat the butter (1 stick+2-1/2 tbsp) until creamy. Add the sugar and beat at medium speed until pale and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla, then the egg, beating for about 1 minute. Reduce the mixer speed to low and mix in the bananas canned pumpkin. Then mix in half the dry ingredients (don’t worry if the batter curdles), all the sour cream buttermilk and then the rest of the flour mixture. Turn off the mixer and hand mix the chocolate chips.

Fill liners about 2/3-3/4 full. Bake the muffins for about 28 to 32 minutes (I baked mine for 30 minutes), or until a knife inserted into the center of the cakes comes out clean. Transfer the muffin tin to a rack and cool to room temperature.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
I think he was a little disappointed that I didn’t use bananas (Poor boy is so banana deprived!) b/c he loves bananas but he still raved about the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins nonetheless.

Wifey rating: A
I confess I’m a batter licker. Let me just tell you that this batter is FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC. The muffins were yummy esp with the chocolate chips! Definitely will make them again.

Next week: Brownie Buttons pages 106-107

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: , , .

I’ll be out of the office… Bunday Monday

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather E  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    good call on nixing the bananas…i can’t stand them. unfortunately, i don’t really like pumpkin either… :(

    these look really great though!

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy/n.o.e  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Great job with the muffins; pumpkin was a great idea (even if I didn’t come up with it, haha). Glad you both liked it, and yes, the batter was amazing in the banana version too.

    Reply
  • 3. delightfullysweet  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Amazing job on the muffins!
    Great idea switching pumpkin for the bananas. Not everyone loves bananas!

    Reply
  • 4. foodlibrarian  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Dude, you rock. I love pumpkin…why didn’t I think of that. Still don’t understand you hatin’ the banana, but I’m going to blame our Asian mothers. My mom scarred me for life by holding onto my shopping cart…now no one can get near me in the grocery store. Anyway, I’m a teeth girl. Nice teeth (not Ryan Seacrest white) make me weak in the knees. Thanks for baking along with me! – mary the bundt librarian

    Reply
  • 5. Tammy  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I love chocolate pumpkin muffins. great substitution

    Reply
  • 6. Tracey  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I love your version with the pumpkin! I don’t mind banana but I definitely like pumpkin more. I’m going to try this version for sure.

    Reply
  • 7. Holly  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I love that you made these into pumpkin chocolate chip! I’ll bet they were completely stellar! As for losing readers with talk of vomit, well, let’s just say it’s such a common part of my life you can’t phase me. In fact, I feel the same way about scrambled eggs that you feel about bananas. Nuff said :P

    Reply
  • 8. Mermaid Sweets  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Nice muffins – Nice return.

    Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Awesome! So I suppose I won’t be hitting you up for a fab banana cupcake recipe for husband’s birthday? I plan on making 50 for him to take to school!

    Reply
  • 11. Marthe  |  August 5, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Wow, pumpkin, sounds delicious!!!

    Reply
  • 12. bridget  |  August 5, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Pumpkin, what a great idea to replace the banana! It seems like it worked too, because your muffins look great.

    Reply
  • 13. chocolatechic  |  August 5, 2009 at 4:57 am

    The batter was fabulous, wasn’t it.

    I made mine with pecans and butterscotch chips.

    Reply
  • 14. stephchows  |  August 5, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Love me some pumpkin bread almost as much as banana YUM!!!

    Reply
  • 15. Nic  |  August 5, 2009 at 8:17 am

    I just barely made it past the vomit story, but Im glad I did, great sub in with the pumpkin.

    Reply
  • 16. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  August 5, 2009 at 10:04 am

    hope you had a good vacay! i love pumpkin and choco chips together, so i bet this was really good! raw bananas make me want to vomit, too (their texture and OMG their smell–yuck!)…but i for some reason really like them in baked goods.

    Reply
  • 17. Jessica  |  August 5, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Nice! I love, love, love pumpkin bread (fall can’t come soon enough) so I will jot down your substitutions in my book. The banana batter (sorry, I’m sure that’s not a great word combo for you) was delicious, so I bet the pumpkin version’s even better.

    Reply
  • 18. Erin  |  August 5, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I can’t believe you don’t like banana. You are crazy. We can no longer be friends.

    Oh wait, you like pumpkin? FRIENDS AGAIN!

    Reply
  • 19. Wendy  |  August 6, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Awesome subs! I’m glad you liked them.

    Reply
  • 20. kim  |  August 6, 2009 at 10:28 am

    pumpkin was a great idea! i’m not a huge banana fan either. dried banana chips are nightmarish.

    Reply
  • 21. uclala  |  August 7, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I love banana baked goodies but I love pumpkin more! Your pumpkin muffins look super tasty!

    Reply
  • 22. rainbowbrown  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    They look so great! I don’t much like banana like bready things either, but it looks like super fun!

    Reply
  • 23. shoecakes  |  August 9, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    mmmm…I just started using my bundt cake pan…I think I shall have to make this in both banana AND pumpkin version some time to make a fair comparison. You know, to be scientific about it. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,332 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


