Operation Baking GALs + Blondies Bake-Off 2009

July 8, 2009 at 7:16 pm 14 comments

Can you believe I’ve never eaten a blondie much less baked one? I have no idea why. Blondies are like the butterscotch distant cousin of brownies. I like brownies. I like butterscotch. What’s not to love right? Again. I ask myself. How the heck did I go 30 years without making or eating a blondie?

I have no answer for you. But I do have the answer to why I decided after all these years to give it a try. For my friend April of Winer Lover’s Cooking Diary. Yes, she *IS* the chick on her blog wearing the wedding dress on the side menu bar. Damn girl can still fit into her wedding dress. Let’s all hate her for a moment. *hate hate hate*

Ok I got that out of my system. Back to my happy place.

The blondies are for her… well… more like her brother. April’s brother is serving in Iraq. That’s where April and Operation Baking GALS comes in. When she put out the “tweet” to join her team, I knew I’d join. She’s a good friend of mine. One of those friends that you’d do anything for. If she asked me to jump, I’d say “How high?” If she asked me to quit eating pizza, I’d say “Are you crazy, woman??” But she’d never ask me to do that b/c friends don’t let friends quit eating pizza. Am I right, April? HA HA!

I had a couple things in mind when I started brainstorming what I wanted to send to April’s brother. Since I am a very indecisive person (Just ask my husband when we try to figure out what restaurant to eat at) I asked April what she thought her brother would want. The following tweet is her reply.

I can’t deny. The woman speaks the truth. My 18 year old brother eats everything. Except fish. He doesn’t like food that “looks” at him while he’s chewing their innards. *cuckoo* Crazy kid!

Toodaloo lovely readers. I am off to figure out how to fill out a customs form. It can’t be “that” hard right? Famous last words.



Basic Blondies
Recipe from Cook Like A Champion

INGREDIENTS

6-7 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Variations:
White Chocolate Macadamia Blondies inspired by Erin’s Food Files
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/4 cup macadamia nuts

Peanut Butter Cup Blondies inspired by Baking Blonde
10 peanut butter cups, rough chop

Snickerdoodle Blondies inspired by Two Peas and Their Pod
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp white sugar+1 tbsp cinnamon, sprinkle on top before baking

Funfetti Blondies inspired by my childhood love of Funfetti
1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8×8 pan with foil and lightly spray with PAM.

In a large microwave safe bowl, melt the butter. Let cool for 5 minutes. Combine butter and brown sugar and mix until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla. Add salt, stir in flour and baking powder.

Mix in additions. (See above for suggestions)

Pour into prepared pan and use a greased spatula to evenly spread mixture in pan and level the top.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until set in the middle. Cool on rack before cutting.


Hint: I’m told that saran wrap+freezing will keep blondies tasting delicious for weeks.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
Of all the variations he said the peanut butter cups were the best. No surprise from my peanut butter addict there! haha

Wifey rating: A
So.FREAKING.good. The edges are the best part! I think my favorite was the white chocolate and macadamia but the snickerdoodle was a close 2nd! Yum! The only thing is I wish they would have been thicker so maybe I’ll double the recipe or use a smaller pan for maximum volume next time.

Entry filed under: dessert. Tags: , , , , .

Bunday Monday Bunday Monday

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I love blondies. Thanks for featuring mine:) Can’t wait to try them all!

    Reply
  • 2. Holly  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Those all look awesome! I think I would have liked the white choc+mac version most myself too.

    Reply
  • 3. Jen  |  July 9, 2009 at 3:57 am

    I had never had blondies until this year when I made them either. And freezing them does work. I made a batch before our kitchen renovation and they kept my sweet tooth at bay while I couldn’t bake.

    Reply
  • 4. beyondalice  |  July 9, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Those funfetti blondies look SO fun!

    Reply
  • 5. Wendy  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:50 am

    I love blondies! I just made a great one out of July’s bon appetit. Chocolate chip and peanut blodies. Very delicious. Try it!

    Reply
  • 6. stephchows  |  July 9, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Awesome job!! I’d be all in for the PB cup one!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Heather E  |  July 9, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    hahaha…the funfetti ones are adorable! This was such a good idea for Operation Baking GALS!

    Reply
  • 8. Steph  |  July 9, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I’ve never had a blondie either. All your varieties look yummy.

    Reply
  • 9. zebe912  |  July 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Just like brownies, you need one of those “all edges pans” for blondies. Yum.

    Reply
  • 10. Erin  |  July 10, 2009 at 7:07 am

    (in the voice of the really old guy who wins the lottery/gambling thing & then pretends to die and give the winning ticket to Chevy Chase in the movie Vegas Vacation) I won I won I won I won I won I won I won I won I won!

    Oh wait, was that rude? You say this wasn’t a contest? There’s no prize? And no one else in saw that movie? Ok then….

    What a great post! I think Blondies are best when they are SUPER thick (except for Martha’s Gingerbread White Chocolate Blondies from her Cookie book). Glad you liked the white chocolate macadamia nut ones! I know we sure did!

    Reply
  • 11. Astra Libris  |  July 10, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I just discovered your beautiful blog, and I am so impressed with your beautiful, touching, thoughtful baked goods gift!! You are truly sending such joy across the ocean!

    Reply
  • 12. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)  |  July 11, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I’ve never tasted blondies either, but your post totally makes me want to!! They all look sooo good!

    Reply
  • 13. Rachelle Chlildree  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Hey my name is Rahcelle Childree. I just signed up for Operation Baking GALS! I am so excited! But I do not have many bakers. So since I seen that you have been a baker before I thought maybe you could help bake for my husband. Its his birthday coming up soon. I hope you join my team just email me and I will get you the information you need for our group. childree1013@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 14. Patti  |  September 10, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    These all look great. Will try several. Hope you’ll try me blondie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,309 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


