TWD #79: Practically Perfect Party Cake in every way

June 30, 2009 at 1:54 am 28 comments

In my head I can hear Mary Poppins singing her “practically perfect in every way” song. That’s how I feel about this cake.

Even though I’ve made this cake before with the Daring Bakers more than a year ago (Wowsers, where does the time go?), I didn’t think twice about making it again. I love the lemon cake, berry preserve filling and swiss meringue buttercream frosting. (You are totally drooling right?) I was thinking this time around I’d change it up by making cupcakes but while searching for my cupcake pan… I found my Wilton Giant Cupcake pan and knew this would be the perfect recipe to christen my pan.

Thanks to Carol of Mix Mix Stir Stir for hosting this week. You can find the complete recipe on her blog or my cupcake blog. Also check out the TWD Baker Blogroll to see how everyone else did on their Perfect Party Cake. You are bound to be amazed!

BTW Tuesdays with Dorie has BIG news! We have a new logo:

Congratulations to Lisa of Surviving Oz for designing the winning logo! She gets to pick next week’s recipe as her prize. I think it’s quite clever with the eiffel tower as an “i” in Dorie, don’t you? But I have to admit I am kinda partial to the old logo so I’ll probably switch off between the two depending on my mood.

What I learned this week:
What’s better than a cupcake? A GIANT CUPCAKE!


Perfect Party [Cup]Cake
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


There’s nothing like rubbing sugar and lemon zest between your fingertips. I love the way it makes my hands smell. Am I weird?


To make cake: Combine with butter, flour mixture and milk+egg white mixture.


The perfect party cake batter filled the cupcake pan pretty well. It didn’t rise as much as other batters which actually worked out better IMO. Since I read various reviews that the “bottom” baked slower than the “top”, I filled the bottom part about 2/3 full and baked for 15 minutes, then filled the top about 2/3 full and bake both batters for another 30 minutes.


To make buttercream: Combine egg whites and sugar over a pan of simmering water until sugar is dissolved.


Whip with a whisk attachment until looks like a shiny marshmallow creme. Add softened butter a little at a time. Dorie says to switch to flat beater before adding butter but I just used my whisk and it worked great.


Don’t be scurred if your frosting starts to look curdled. IT’S A GOOD THING! Just keep beating and beating and beating until your frosting comes together smooth and silky. It’s like magic!


To assemble cake: Use serrated knife and cut off tops of “bottom” and “top” of cupcake so they are level. Cut the “bottom” into 4 pieces.


Using a Wilton 12A round tip, pipe a barrier and fill with strawberry preserves. Then top with a layer of buttercream. Repeat for other 3 layers.


Using an offset spatula create a crumb coat.


Let crumb coat set and then apply a second layer. Immediately after the second layer I pressed coconut all over. Then gently put the “top” on the “bottom”. I used Ateco fuschia gel coloring to tint the rest of the buttercream pink. Using an offset spatula I applied a thin coat of buttercream to the “top”.


Then I switched to a Wilton 1M piping tip and made rosettes following the natural curve of the “top”. For a little bling I added white dragees randomly all over and topped with a strawberry.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He’s a red velvet man but I’d say that the Perfect Party Cake is a close second. He loves the meringue buttercream (but not as much as cream cheese frosting).

Wifey rating: A+
It’s not “perfect” for nothing. Love this cake. So moist and yummy esp with the preserves. I’m a big SMBC lover too!

Other rating: A+
I made this cake for a bbq. Friends raved about the cupcake cuteness factor and loved the flavors of the cake. Definitely a hit. I wish I could have gotten a picture of my godson’s face when he saw the “Giant Cupcake”. Priceless.

Next week: Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies, pages 96-97

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: , .

Bunday Monday Bunday Monday

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. isabelle  |  June 30, 2009 at 2:56 am

    c’est superbe, ton moule est génial :)

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  June 30, 2009 at 3:19 am

    I love your cupcake pan!

    Reply
  • 3. chocolatechic  |  June 30, 2009 at 5:01 am

    How adorable!

    I used cream cheese icing.

    Reply
  • 4. Maria  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:13 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE what you did with this weeks TWD! You amaze me!

    Reply
  • 5. bridget  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Holy smokes, it looks freaking amazing! You rock!

    Reply
  • 6. Vibi  |  June 30, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Oh! A fairy cake! I’m a fairy! I’m a fairy! …can I get a piece???

    WOW! This reminds me of Martha’s frily cake, gotta try that technique sometimes! Beautifully done CB!

    Reply
  • 7. food librarian  |  June 30, 2009 at 7:20 am

    lovely! this is sooooo you.

    Reply
  • 8. Nancy/n.o.e  |  June 30, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Great job on the PPC; wish I could have a taste!!

    Reply
  • 9. Hornedfroggy  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I love it, CB – it’s gorgeous!! I REALLY need this pan! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Susan  |  June 30, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Looks gorgeous, CB! In fact, it’s about the only giant cupcake I have seen that actually looks great!

    Reply
  • 11. Amanda  |  June 30, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    OMG those pans are totally cool! I love how it turned out :)

    Reply
  • […] TWD #79: Practically Perfect Party Cake in every way « Ifood4thought By CB Thanks to Carol of Mix Mix Stir Stir for for hosting this week. You can find the complete recipe on her blog. Also check out the TWD Baker Blogroll to see how everyone else did on their Perfect Party Cake. You are bound to be amazed! … I?food4thought – https://iheartfood4thought.wordpress.com/ […]

    Reply
  • 13. Jules  |  June 30, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    That is so cute! I’ve been wondering about this pan. I love it!

    Reply
  • 14. Jill  |  June 30, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    That is really really cute! What a great pan, and you did such a good job of decorating!

    Reply
  • 15. Rebecca  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Aaaaaaaagh, I’ve been so tempted to buy that pan! I’m throwing a party for the nephews soon, and then it will be MINE! Mwahahahaha.

    Reply
  • 16. Carol Peterman  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    When you mentioned you used a giant cupcake pan, I didn’t quite get that you really did mean a GIANT cupcake pan until I saw the photo of the pan. It’s fantastic! You made it look extra good with your piping talent and the coconut on the sides. Thanks for baking with me this week.

    Reply
  • 17. Tracey  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Oh man, I commented on your other blog first instead of coming here! The giant cupcake still looks amazing over here :)

    Reply
  • 18. Leslie  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Now that’s an amazing cupcake! Beautifully decorated!

    Reply
  • 19. Amy Ruth  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Totally darlunny (is that a word?) I had to suspect you would have that wonderful cute pan. Genius! That’s all I can say and how fun that you took this cake to such a creative and fun place.
    Great job
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 20. carolina  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:44 am

    I love that cupcake pan! What a creative idea. I am about to make a cupcake cake for an upcoming birthday. I am going to decorate it with butterflies. Any ideas how to make them? I would LOVE to sit them on top and on the sides.
    Nice job, girl!

    Reply
  • 21. Erin  |  July 1, 2009 at 9:50 am

    SO cute! Great job! I love the piping you did!

    Reply
  • 22. Wendy  |  July 1, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Wow!!! Your giant cupcake cake is amazing. I love it.

    Reply
  • 23. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  July 1, 2009 at 11:33 am

    whoa–that’s pretty! love that pan!

    Reply
  • 24. pamela  |  July 1, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Wow! Definitely cute! I am very impressed by this cake and know for sure that this is a go to cake forever. Great job!

    Reply
  • 25. Jacque  |  July 2, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    How cool! Your giant cupcake looks fantastic with the pink swirly frosting.

    Reply
  • 26. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  July 2, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    The giant cupcake is so cute! This is one of the best cakes I’ve seen using that mold!

    Reply
  • 27. Cakelaw  |  July 6, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Awww, this is so adorable!

    Reply
  • 28. Teanna  |  July 7, 2009 at 5:39 am

    That is the coolest cake ever! The coconut on the bottom really works as the “wrapper”! Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 231,073 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


