TWD #68: As French as Apple Tartlet

June 9, 2009 at 1:11 am 27 comments

Doesn’t quite have the same ring to it like… “As American As Apple Pie” huh?

Well I tried. These days witty subject lines aren’t coming as quickly. I think my brain has officially decided that summer is here. Are there any readers out there experiencing the dreaded “blogger’s block” like me? I swear it’s taking me hours, days, weeks to finish one blog post. I feel like I can’t find the right words to get me started or I start and then get sidetracked.

Ooohh a rainbow.

{Five hours later.}

See what I mean?

Funny thing is, maybe the problem isn’t all blogger’s block. I’ve also got a case of the “I-don’t-wanna-bake” right now too. Thankfully I follow some awesome Tuesdays With Dorie bakers via Twitter and their tweets motivate me to get my bum into the kitchen and bake! Isn’t that why I joined this group? To challenge myself and bake things that I wouldn’t have chosen myself? HELL.YEAH.IT.IS! Speaking of twitter. There’s something truly awesome about a fellow baker chastising you in <140 characters. Case in point. Bridget of The Way The Cookie Crumbles broke it down for me.

Dang! She told me huh? (Nothing but love for you Bridget!)

Thanks to our hostess this week, Jessica of My Baking Heart. (You can find the complete recipe on her blog.) I almost didn’t make this one but I am SO glad I did. Seriously. Awesome pick. Minimal prep time but maximum deliciousness. What more could you ask for? Maybe with ice cream. Mmmm…

What I learned this week:
I love brown sugar. More than white sugar… and yes. My husband knows. HA!


Parisian Apple Tartlet
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I used Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry and mini granny apples instead of Fuji like Dorie’s recipe suggested.


I may or may not have used more than 1-2 tsp of brown sugar. But you’ll never get me to confess! I baked my tartlets for about 30 minutes.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A+
He loves anything reminiscent of apple pie but I think he got won over by the puff pastry and raved the whole time. Definitely on his top 5 list.

Wifey rating: A+
I served mine drizzled with caramel ice cream topping and vanilla bean ice cream. HOLY YUM BATMAN! I will definitely be keeping this recipe as a quick elegant dessert for next dinner party. Maybe I should send the idea to the Red Team from Food Network Star. Did anyone else watch that hideous angel food cake jam contraption that they served the to judges+esteemed FN guests? For shame.

Next week: Honey-Peach Ice Cream page 437

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday {raincheck} Bunday Monday

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill B  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:04 am

    I wasn’t going to make these, but you talked me into it. I’ll get on it this afternoon. Jeeesh

    Reply
  • 2. pamela  |  June 9, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Brown sugar is the best! Seriously, I think this was the easiest recipe that we’ve ever made with TWD. Maybe the easiest in the book! Nice job, they look great!

    Reply
  • 3. food librarian  |  June 9, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Delicious! I’m so glad you made it. It was funny watching you get convinced w the tweets! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Marthe  |  June 9, 2009 at 4:45 am

    I love brown sugar too!! Your tartlets look absolutely define!!

    Reply
  • 5. stephchows  |  June 9, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Hmmm when she puts it that way… it is crazy simple lol. Looks tasty for sure!

    Reply
  • 6. chocolatechic  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:01 am

    So glad you made it.

    Reply
  • 7. Vibi  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:08 am

    WOW! Soooo gooey… and so appetizing! Are you sure you don’t have French roots?

    Reply
  • 8. Maria  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I love apple desserts, this one looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 9. bridget  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I love the “seriously, just unfold the freaking pastry and put some stuff on it.” I can be seriously bossy, can’t I?

    Reply
  • 10. Anjeanette  |  June 9, 2009 at 6:54 am

    HOLY YUM BATMAN is right. Loving the added bit about you being won over to baking this with us;)

    Reply
  • 11. Joelen  |  June 9, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Looks fabulous! (I’ve missed commenting on your blog for a bit so it’s so good to have some time and catch up with all your cooking/baking! :) )

    Reply
  • 12. Melissa  |  June 9, 2009 at 8:33 am

    I’m glad you decided to make them! I may have put just a TAD more brown sugar than called for on mine too!

    Reply
  • 13. Tracey  |  June 9, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Your tartlet looks awesome! I love your comment about sending the recipe to the red team from Next Food Network Star. What were they thinking with that angel food cake??

    Reply
  • 14. Karen  |  June 9, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I suppose I should keep up with the tweets a little better and probably would have know how easy this was. Looks like yours turned out amazingly!

    Reply
  • 15. Hornedfroggy  |  June 9, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Thanks for baking with me this week, CB – I’m so glad you ended up making it! :) Painless, huh??

    Reply
  • 16. Clivia  |  June 9, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Mmm… caramel sauce. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 17. Geri  |  June 9, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Thanks for the mention of Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry! I think your blog is fantastic!

    Reply
  • 18. Jill  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    You really would have missed out if you had skipped this one! This would definitely be a great thing to make for a dinner party.

    Reply
  • 19. Heather Peskin  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Beautiful tart and I love the step by step pics and instructions. It will be very useful for me to try again as mine bombed this time.

    Reply
  • 20. peggy  |  June 9, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I am feeling your pain as I have the cooking blahs myself lately. Must be the heat I keep telling myself. But we loved loved these tarts! Yours look great.

    Reply
  • 21. Tania  |  June 9, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    The turned out great! And I am totally a brown sugar lover…but my hubby doesn’t know….so SHHHHHHH!

    Reply
  • 22. Di  |  June 10, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Brown sugar is the best. =) Your tartlet looks great–I’m glad you decided to make them. As far as the blogger’s block… I’m sort of having a problem with that, too. But in my case, I’m doing plenty of baking. I just have so many things to blog about that I don’t know where to begin. So I end up not writing about any of them. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 23. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  June 10, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    that bridget knows what she’s talkin’ about! looks deliciously golden!

    Reply
  • 24. Heather B  |  June 10, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I love brown sugar too! Its sooo much better than white! Love your tarts!

    Reply
  • 25. Marthe  |  June 10, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    There’s more Disney pictures coming up tomorrow ;)

    Reply
  • 26. Caitlin  |  June 11, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Oh that just looks wonderful! And see, wasn’t it worth it? Twitter-pressure is a good thing :)

    Reply
  • 27. teaandscones  |  June 12, 2009 at 11:09 am

    These were entirely too delicious to be sooooo easy. Yours look amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,665 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


