Fiberlicious Pancakes in 3 minutes!

May 17, 2009 at 8:09 am 15 comments

I’ve been sitting at my desk for the past 30 minutes trying to remember if I’ve ever made pancakes before. To be honest. I don’t think so! Usually if I crave pancakes I’ll go to IHOP or MickeyDs. (Hey don’t knock MickeyDs! I’m a sucker for their sausage egg mcmuffins while Hubs is a Mcgriddle man.) I don’t think it ever occurred to me to make my own. I think it’s because I am not a good “flipper”.

Have you see those chefs on Food Network that flip veggies in their sauteed pan? Yeah. Um. I can’t do that. {hangs head in shame} I try but I end up getting the veggies on the floor, stove, hair… Don’t ask me how it gets in my hair. Long story. Vegetable suicide and all that. It’s not a happy ending.

I love breakfast foods. Eggs, bagels, pancakes, waffles, omelets, bacon, sausage… But I don’t crave breakfast at the normal breakfast times from 6-9am. I usually find myself eating breakfast for dinner. Weird I know!

But after staring at a package of Fiber One pancake mix on my kitchen counter for the past several days (weeks?) that Hubs got as a free sample on one of his emergency “OMG I don’t have any more butter can get it for me pretty please honey??” grocery store runs for me, I decided it was time to make pancakes for breakfast at a normal breakfast eating time.

A little info about Fiber One pancakes. Packaging claims that pancakes are (1) 20% daily value of fiber (2) at least 10g whole grain per serving (3) excellent source of calcium (4) 0g trans fat…

BUT I have a feeling all that good healthy stuff gets cancelled out by the massive amounts of syrup that I add to my pancakes huh?

Oops.

{wiping Aunt Jemima syrup dribbling down my chin}


Recipe from Fiber One Pancake Mix

Makes about 4-6 pancakes

INGREDIENTS

Fiber One pancake mix
1 cup water (I used 3/4 cup for thicker pancakes)

INSTRUCTIONS

Spray skillet or griddle with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine pancake mix and water until well blended. Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into greased skillet over medium-high heat. Cook until tops are bubbly and edges are dry. Flip and cook until bottoms are golden brown.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-/B+
I didn’t tell him that they were Fiber One until after he mentioned that he liked the pancakes but it had a interesting aftertaste.

Wifey rating: A-
I liked them! They are a good alternative to get some fiber but obviously not as delicious as the Paula Deen-esque caloric versions out there.

Entry filed under: breakfast.

Black & White Marbled Cheesecake Bunday Monday

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zebe912  |  May 17, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    There are some great healthy but yummy homemade versions out there. I have one with gluten that I really like. It has sort of a nutty flavor. You can make pancakes with extra fiber by using coconut flour too. Coconut flour may be my new favorite thing.

    And I like McD pancakes too but they don’t like me back. I’ve found that the correct heat makes or breaks my pancakes no matter what batter I use.

    The syrup maker in me shudders at your use of fake syrup. Really, I’m shuddering. Ick.

    Reply
    • 2. CB  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:34 am

      Coconut flour? Crazy. Where can I find it?

      Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  May 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I love breakfast for dinner, but my SO doesn’t! So if we have pancakes or waffles, it’s in the morning hours.

    Reply
    • 4. CB  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:35 am

      How could anyone NOT like breakfast for dinner (aka brinner)? I think that might be a deal breaker for me. HA HA!

      Reply
  • 5. Steph  |  May 17, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I love Aunt Jemima syrup! When I was young, I used to love it more than real maple syrup.

    Clara, can you recommend a powdered sugar buttercream that’s non crusting and is kind of soft yet pipeable, but most importantly, non crusting? I was thinking of trying Billy’s/Magnolia’s frosting because it looks soft, but there’s a lot of sugar! Stiff buttercream reminds of me shortening. Thanks!

    Reply
    • 6. CB  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:37 am

      Non-crusting? Maybe a swiss meringue buttercream? But I am not sure what you mean by “non-crusting” b/c as it ages the buttercream will get a little crusty. I am kinda addicted to the SMBC right now b/c it’s smooth and creamy vs traditional buttercream.

      Reply
      • 7. Steph  |  May 19, 2009 at 3:56 pm

        Great.. stupid powdered sugar! I love SMBC too, but some people are telling me it’s greasy. I’m thinking it has more to do with not being used to non canned stuff.

        Reply
  • 8. Joelen  |  May 18, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Now here’s a sneaky way to get some fiber in our diet! Yum!

    Reply
    • 9. CB  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:37 am

      Right?! I have to be sneaky with my body. Mind over matter. ;)

      Reply
  • 10. stephchows  |  May 18, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    breakfast for dinner is the best way to have it :) I’m a cereal person in the morning… all the fancy stuff ends up happening at dinner time :) hmmmm maybe I’ll make some crepes tonight… YUM!

    Reply
    • 11. CB  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:42 am

      Same with Hubs. He’s a cereal man whereas I’d rather have a bagel with cream cheese to start my day. Mmm… crepes. {Homer drool}

      Reply
  • 12. girljapan  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:31 am

    I am a sucker for pancakes…. and I am at McD’s every Sunday for my fix and cin melts… lol

    Reply
    • 13. CB  |  May 21, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Holla to that! McD has yummy breakfast. I don’t care what anyone else says!!

      Reply
  • 14. carolina  |  May 20, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    I love pancakes. We have them for dinner a lot! I will definitely try these out. I can always use the extra fiber. :-)
    I am so happy to see someone else make their pancakes one by one. People ask me why don’t I use a griddle. Well, they just do not work as well for me.
    Thanks for this pancake tip!

    Reply
    • 15. CB  |  May 21, 2009 at 6:20 am

      I have to make them one-by-one! I can’t deal with too many at one time. I get nervous and then they all burn! HA HA!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,698 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


