TWD #64: Not to be confused with a Pop Tart

May 12, 2009 at 5:56 am 32 comments

I use to love Pop Tarts when I was a little girl.

Looking back at it now I have a feeling it wasn’t the most balanced breakfast. Pastry dough, filled with chemically enhanced fruit jam filling and frosting that didn’t quite go to the edge of the rectangle. Might come with or without sprinkles. (But really who buys it sans sprinkles?)

I remember my mom use to cut off the edges that didn’t have frosting and eat those parts for me since I wouldn’t eat any bite that didn’t have frosting on it. Maybe that’s where my frosting neurosis comes from when I eat cake and cupcakes now, eh?

Isn’t it crazy how word association can bring up random memories? I’m suppose to be talking about a different type of tart but here I am reminiscing about Pop Tarts. Alright. Let’s get back on track.

This week’s Tuesday with Dorie bakers’ assignment was a tart. Not just any tart. The Tartest Lemon Tart chosen by Babette of Babette Feasts. You can find the full recipe on her blog. I decided to half the sweet tart dough recipe and make 4 mini tarts. I am a sucker for mini desserts. Who wouldn’t be?

What I learned this week:
You *can* eat the whole lemon (minus seeds). I know that sounds like a strange proclamation but I honestly didn’t realize my bias until I made this tart.


[Creme Bruleed] Tartest Lemon Tart
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I read the recipe more than once to make sure I wasn’t suppose to juice or zest or peel the lemon. I was skeptical but trusted Dorie so I cut the lemon up and threw everything (minus seeds) in the food processor and crossed my fingers.


Add 1 egg+2 yolks and cornstarch


… heavy cream and melted butter. (Can you feel your arteries clogging?) Pureed until smooth.


See all the bubbles? I scared the beejesus out of my husband when I rapped the pitcher against the counter per Dorie’s instructions to get rid of the bubbles. Over and over again. Ooops. Next time I have to give warning.


I may have filled it a little too much b/c it bubbled over the side a bit. Oh well… I call it rustic. HA! I baked my mini tarts for about 25 minutes.


I decided to use the sweet tart dough minus the nuts b/c I had some dough in my freezer already. High five for lazy baking! I also skipped out on the creme fraiche b/c I didn’t want anything to interfere with lemon flavor. But of course when Dorie mentioned in her “Playing Around” section to add some sugar and brulee, I knew I’d be doing that too!

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-
He liked it. Not his favorite but he ate his mini tart with no complaints. Ok maybe one. It was a little “too” tart for him.

Wifey rating: A
I love lemon anything. It was tart but I still loved it esp with the burned sugar on top! YUM!

Other rating: A
I brought the mini tarts over to my Mom’s house for Mother’s Day. I think I get my lemon love from her b/c she totally loved the tart too. My little brother also shared his raves as well.

Next week: Fresh Mango Bread page 45

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday Black & White Marbled Cheesecake

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:00 am

    I love this one! The lemon is soooo good! Nice job!!

    Reply
  • 2. April  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Those are some perfect looking tarts!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:18 am

    The minis are so cute! I used to eat pop tarts, too. Don’t know what I was thinking… so many good things with real pastry and frosting and filling it’s just not worth it! If it makes you feel any better, my husband felt the same way. Maybe it’s a man thing?

    Reply
  • 4. chocolatechic  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Your so sweet to take some to your parents.

    Reply
  • 5. Joelen  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Beautiful job! I’ll have to brulee it next time!

    Reply
  • 6. stephchows  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:52 am

    I’ve heard about making tarts like this and using the whole lemon… the idea still scares me a little though :D

    Reply
  • 7. Teanna  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I would NEVER buy pop tarts without the sprinkles! Hahah! The tart looks SOOOO GOOD and yours would definitely get an A+ in my book!

    Reply
  • 8. Charli  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Yay for using the dough from the freezer! And your brulee looks great – that was my favorite part!

    Reply
  • 9. Kara  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:34 am

    So pretty – I love the little twist of lemon on top of your tart. :)

    I loved this too. I definitely give it an A, if not an A+. I want to try it again with grapefruit, maybe, or some other citrus. Or maybe with lemon and add fruit … so many options, so many calories! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Jill  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Your mini bruleed version looks beautiful!

    Reply
  • 11. rainbowbrown  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Good golly. That crust looks incredible!

    Reply
  • 12. Linda  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Yum! That looks tasty. I have a few lemons at home. I was thinking about making “adult” drinks with the lemon, but now I have a better idea.

    Reply
  • 13. Cathy  |  May 12, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I love how your mother cut off the non-frosting part of the Pop Tart for you; what we moms won’t do for our children :-) I am so glad you enjoyed this lemon tart! It looks incredible!

    Reply
  • 14. pamela  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I’m all for using the dough from the freezer. It’s getting pretty packed in there with all of my leftovers. Nice job on the mini tarts!

    Reply
  • 15. Cristine  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I bet the brulee version was great!

    Reply
  • 16. vibi  |  May 12, 2009 at 10:40 am

    LOL LOL LOL You crack me up with pop tart stories! …apparently your frosting neurosis hasn’t altered your habilities to compose, for you are just as fun to read as ever!

    Oh! Yes… and I do love the mini!!! Too cute! perfect actually.

    Reply
  • 17. macduff  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Nice! I loved this one, too. It was nice to have something lemon-y in the mix here. And like you needed an excuse to get out the torch…

    Reply
  • 18. Linda @ Tender Crumb  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    I love your minis — and nice job on the brulee action!

    Reply
  • 19. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    wow–it looks so great with the bruleed top!!

    Reply
  • 20. Carol Peterman  |  May 12, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    My tart made a mess in the oven! Your minis are so pretty and the brulee sounds like a great addition.

    Reply
  • 21. Clivia  |  May 12, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Your bruleed tarts are lovely! Glad you enjoyed.

    Reply
  • 22. Erin  |  May 12, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Looks great! The “rustic” look is charming. ;)

    Reply
  • 23. Tracey  |  May 12, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Your tarts look fantastic! Nice job. I briefly contemplated making minis but wound up using my springform pan instead. I meant to brulee the tart but completely forgot :)

    Reply
  • 24. Tammy  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Oh, I wish I hadnt filled my brulee torch with the wrong stuff and ruined it! Your tart looks great, wasnt it fabulous to be able to use the whole lemon!

    Reply
  • 25. Di  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Ooh, I should have known you’d try the brulée option. =) It looks terrific. I’m all for lazy baking–that’s why I just used two whole eggs instead of the egg+yolks. I didn’t want to bother with separating eggs. =)

    Reply
  • 26. Kim Turner  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Wow, totally with you on the pop tart flashback and preferences! My kids now break off the edges when THEY eat them, but I still can’t eat the edges! Ha! Your little tarts are adorable! Great job! I too, read the recipe over and over before throwing in the ENTIRE lemon! Yikes, but for me, yes, too bitter. Oh well!

    Reply
  • 27. Amy Ruth  |  May 13, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Wow there you go featuring mini-tarts in your “heart movies” again. They are so beautiful and I’m glad your Mom loved them. That’s awesome. What? no bitterness???? WooHoo Way to go!
    AmyRuth

    Reply
  • 28. food librarian  |  May 13, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Holy smokes. Totally cute. I love desserts you can torch. Mine got brown on its on in the oven…and I forgot the cream! Your minis are too cute.

    Reply
  • 29. Maris  |  May 13, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    I don’t know if I would have been quite so generous as to take some to my parents! :)

    Reply
  • 30. Nancy (n.o.e.)  |  May 17, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Lucky you, having tart dough in the freezer. Like money in the bank! Your tarts are great, and your pop tart memories priceless.

    Reply
  • 31. girljapan  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I am drooling, and drooling..

    Reply
  • 32. teaandscones  |  May 23, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Perfect. Can I have one of yours, mine were a little darkish, but still good. Great job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,835 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


