TWD #63: Brought to you by the letter T

May 5, 2009 at 5:13 am 22 comments

Are you getting Sesame Street flashbacks yet?

I don’t know about all the other TWD bakers, but it took me a few (million) times to spell t-i-r-a-m-i-s-u correctly. I kept wanting to add more i’s. Don’t ask me why though. My brain is just crazy sometimes. I blame my husband who kept interrupting me while writing this post about his belt, socks, shoes, wallet, cell phone… I swear. That man would lose his arse if it wasn’t attached.

I want to say that I’ve eaten tiramisu more than once but it’s not something that I seek out on the dessert menu. Usually it’s the cheesecake or crème brûlée that makes my mouth salivate and my pocketbook lighter. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited to see this on the TWD baking schedule chosen by Megan of My Baking Adventures. (You can find the original recipe on her blog.)

Although it wouldn’t be fun if I didn’t change it up a little bit. *wink*

What I learned this week:
It *IS* possible to eat your weight in frosting. Just take my word for it. *burp*


Tiramisu [Cupcakes]
Recipe adapted from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I halved the recipe and got 10 cupcakes.


I baked my cupcakes for about 20 minutes.


I poked holes in each cupcake with a fork and spooned about 1-2 tsp of espresso syrup over. Let syrup soak in a little at a time before you add more or it will overflow.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He loves coffee so he raved about the espresso syrup in the cupcake but he wasn’t a huge fan of the frosting.

Wifey rating: A
I am not a big coffee person but that espresso syrup was FABULOUS and the frosting was good but I honestly liked it more before the whipped cream was folded in. (Of course I tasted it between steps! Doesn’t everyone?)

Next week: Tartest Lemon Tart page 336

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday 31DBBB #2: [Write a List Post]

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marthe  |  May 5, 2009 at 5:50 am

    I could have guessed that you would make cupcakes, I went the same route and absolutely loved them!!!

    Reply
  • 2. chocolatechic  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I wasn’t a huge fan of the frosting either. I wish I had made it with cream cheese.

    Reply
  • 3. rainbowbrown  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Yet another adorable cupcake conversion. Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 4. vibi  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Too bad they weren’t brought to you by the letter “I” then! LOL LOL

    Those minis are too cute, CB!!! You always come up with great stuff! …I wish I’d be there to burp along with you… lol

    Reply
  • 5. macduff  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I knew you’d make cupcakes!!! Joy joy joy!!! And I think I ate my weight of the batter. I kept spooning it into my face. And I NEVER do that.

    Reply
  • 6. Megan  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Alright, I confess – I ate the leftover frosting that I couldn’t fit onto the cake – so I guess I ate my weight in it as well!

    Cupcakes were a great idea and I’ll have to do that next time!

    Reply
  • 7. Anjeanette  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Oh I love your cupcakes!! I too liked it before the whipped cream went in. And YES I tasted it all the way through. Yum.

    Reply
  • 8. Cristine  |  May 5, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Your cupcakes are awesome!

    Reply
  • 9. Charli  |  May 5, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Your cupcakes look fabulous! I’m not a coffee person either, but the flavor worked really well with the cake!

    Reply
  • 10. Joelen  |  May 5, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Cute cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 11. Karen  |  May 5, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Adorable!!! :) I love your little cupcakes and I can agree with you on eating your weight in frosting…I am not sure how though. ;)

    Reply
  • 12. Kara  |  May 5, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Tiramisu has never been a problem for me. But for some reason I feel I MUST spell mascarpone as “marscapone”. I do it every single time. So annoying.

    Love your cupcakes … they came out great!

    Reply
  • 13. pinkstripes  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    YOur cupcakes look wonderful. I give this recipe an A+. Loved it.

    Reply
  • 14. cstewarts  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Your cupcakes look amazing!

    Reply
  • 15. Tania  |  May 5, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Your cuppycakes are so cute! I wish I had done them that way!

    Reply
  • 16. Rebecca  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I had trouble with MAScarpone. Mental blizzock.

    Reply
  • 17. Di  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    The cupcakes look great! How can you go wrong with cupcakes and Sesame Street? =)

    Reply
  • 18. Holly  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Those do look really, really good. I think I like the idea of eating my weight in frosting, but I think I would have to have cupcakes with them too.

    Reply
  • 19. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  May 6, 2009 at 6:29 am

    those made great cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 20. Kayte  |  May 6, 2009 at 7:51 am

    These are so great…I love how you shared how you did all the steps. Great job!

    Reply
  • 21. teaandscones  |  May 8, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Adorable cuppie cakes. They look great.

    Reply
  • 22. Cardiff By the sea Hotels  |  September 8, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    It’s hard to come by well-informed people in this particular topic, however, you
    seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,861 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


