TWD #62: Absinthe makes the tart grow fonder

April 28, 2009 at 6:50 am 26 comments

I have no idea what the quote means but I just thought it was a cool play on words and had “tart” in the line. HA!

Have you ever had absinthe? It’s illegal in USA but you can order it online. (FYI Previous sentence will self-destruct in 5…4…3…) Best description. Green-ish alcohol, tastes like black licorice in 150 proof (75% alcohol) form and slightly hallucinogenic (although I personally didn’t see any green fairies when I drank it).

UPDATE: Ok I got schooled about the availability of absinthe in the USA. Read comments for more info! I have a sudden urge to go to BevMo now…

Oops! Tangent.

This week the Tuesday with Dorie-nators are baking up some chocolate cream tart hosted by Kim of Scrumptious Photography. (You can find the full recipe on her blog.) It would be an understatement to say “I love Kim’s blog”. It’s more like: I LOVE KIM’S BLOG! This girl knows scrumptious photography. My food photography inner child wants to be like her when I grow up. Her photography skills are crazy, yo!

What did I learn this week:
Baking is a process that needs undivided attention for perfection. You have to follow the process or you will get burned (literally and figuratively). Next time I will not try to squeeze in making the chocolate cream filling after dinner and before Last Cake Standing finale. FYI 1hour39minutes is not enough time.


Chocolate Cream Tart
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


To make tart crust: Look at all that butter! You know it’s gotta be good.


I decided to make the Sweet Tart Dough instead of the Chocolate version b/c I am not a huge chocolate-on-chocolate person. Gasp! I know.


I made the full dough recipe but only used 1/2 to make 3 mini tarts. Froze the other half to use some other day when the tart craving kicks in! (Full recipe yielded about 14oz of dough so I used about 7 oz for 3 mini tarts.) I popped the mini tart crusts in the freezer for about 3 hours before baking (but I think Dorie says only need 30 minutes).


Dorie says you don’t need pie weights but I decided “just in case”. I baked my mini tart crusts for about 20 minutes for nice golden brown color.


To make chocolate cream: egg yolks, starch, sugar and salt. Tip- Sift the cornstarch like Dorie says. My cream filling was a little lumpy and I blame the lazy baker non-sifted cornstarch.


I used 1-1/2 cups 2% milk+1/2 cup half-and-half instead of 2 cups whole milk.


Mmm… melted chocolate. I used 1/2 bittersweet and 1/2 semi-sweet.


I forgot to 1/2 the chocolate cream filling. Oh well. More for me!


Isn’t my mini tart slice so cute? Fits on the end of a fork. *giggle*

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He’s a chocolate person but even said that he was glad I decided to forego the chocolate crust so that he could taste the chocolate cream filling more. He ate 1 whole tart and 1/2 of another tart. I think he mumbled, between bites, “Tish izsum goo shtart”. (Translation: This is some good tart.)

Wifey rating: A
Wow. That chocolate cream is SO good. Love it with the sweet tart dough. I got lazy at the end and skipped the whipped cream but I bet it would have been amazing with. Definitely will make again!

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Bunday Monday 31DBBB #1: [Write an Elevator Pitch]

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:00 am

    That is some cute tart too! Your mini is awesome! I love it with the strawberries on top!

    Reply
  • 2. joelen  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Looks fabulous and I love that you made small ones!

    Reply
  • 3. Beryl  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:03 am

    I went vegan but if I would have stuck to Dorie’s recipe I would have gone with the sweet tart dough too. They remind me of a chocolate pudding pie my mom used to make, but way better than what came out of the jello box. The best part was (and still is) licking the spoon.

    Reply
  • 4. chocolatechic  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Wasn’t the custard just perfection?

    I added a wee bit of hazelnut coffee creamer to mine.

    Reply
  • 5. Alanna  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:50 am

    FYI, Absinthe is not illegal in the US anymore!
    http://tinyurl.com/5n5s2v

    They have lots of brands of it at BevMo now…I fully intend to buy some, wormwood and all! :)

    My FIL’s GF brought us a bottle of Turkish liquor that sounds like it’s just like Absinthe, minus the wormwood. I am SO not a fan of the black licorice flavor though….I only drink absinthe for the green fairies.
    Kidding…I never saw them either. :(

    Reply
  • 6. Karen  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:52 am

    For some reason I can see your photos from work today. Weird. But cool. Love the mini tarts I probably would have sounded like your hubby. In fact, mine might sound like that too.

    Reply
  • 7. Cristine  |  April 28, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Your tiny tarts are adorable!

    Reply
  • 8. kim  |  April 28, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Mine was lumpy too, shhh ;) lol. You are so sweet and I love both of your blogs too!!! Love the mini tarts, your crust looks perfect :)

    Reply
  • 9. vibi  |  April 28, 2009 at 10:18 am

    WOW! Your pics are getting better and better!!! It was indeed a great pick! Very well done tart, Clara! …and I’m sure you are right, Abstinthe must make the tart or heart grow fonder! LOL LOL LOL (Did you use Absinthe in the tart? If so… it must have been crazy good! I looooove black licorice!)

    A hundred years ago, thujone (hallucinogenic ingredient) was not filtered nor was the degree or amount used in Absinthe, accounted for. Today this toxic ingredient is often filtered, and the green fairy as they used to call it, can be produced again following some basic rules. Still a century ago, one would have to drink a crazy amount of Absinthe to see the green fairy! LOL Modern types of Absinthe can be found in the U.S. (ones not containing thujone). But even in Europe, where it is produced and sold freely again, the amounts of thujone and of fenchone used in the recipes, are pretty much resricted, so the chances of meeting with fairies even over there, are pretty slim.

    Reply
  • 10. Kayte  |  April 28, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    What is it about a strawberry that always sets off something so beautifully? Your tart looked very lovely, and then that strawberry just topped it all off so sweetly and so beautifully. I love the bunny photos by the way.

    Reply
  • 11. teaandscones  |  April 28, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    That is one beautiful tart. And the fanned strawberry on top – just makes it more perfect.

    Reply
  • 12. pamela  |  April 28, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    The chocolate cream was killer! I had to stop myself or there would be none left for the tart. Great job.

    Reply
  • 13. Kara  |  April 28, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Oh lovely looking tart! And I see someone beat me to the punch that absinthe is, in fact, legal in the US again. I’ve had it overseas before, but haven’t bought any stateside yet.

    Reply
  • 14. Jill  |  April 28, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Your tarts look so good with the strawberries on top! But I came here looking for absinthe…

    Reply
  • 15. Kasha  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I’m pretty excited about this blog and I am so grateful for the margherita pizza recipe. I am very much into easy and inexpensive recipes. That fits that criteria perfectly. Thanks so much! Please feel free to stop by my blog sometime. It is a far cry from yours, but I am learning.
    http://grubandstuff.blogspot.com/
    Kasha

    Reply
  • 16. Tracey  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Your tarts look great! I love all of the photos. I can never get motivated enough to take a lot of process photos. Plus the light in my kitchen stinks. I weighted the crust too “just in case” :)

    Reply
  • 17. Quynh  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    wow that looks sooo gooooood!! i love anything in “mini” size. i’m gonna have to try this recipe soon! :)

    Reply
  • 18. stephchows  |  April 29, 2009 at 6:10 am

    MMmmmmm! Last cake standing was such a fun show… thankfully my roomie pays for the cable/ DVR (otherwise we wouldn’t have it… is $$$!!) so now I never miss anything :) My roomie ROCKS!

    Reply
  • 19. Clivia  |  April 29, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Great pics! This recipe really was a winner. Glad you enjoyed.

    Reply
  • 20. Carol Peterman  |  April 29, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Wasn’t Last Cake Standing great?! Don’t feel bad about multi-tasking challenges. I have been reading a book called Brain Rules by a neuroscientist and he says it is physically impossible for our brains to multitask! When we are doing multiple things our brain ins constantly switching attention between each individual activity. I will never talk on my cell phone while driving again! It looks like your tarts were a delicious success despite your rushed prep.

    Reply
  • 21. Piggy  |  April 29, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Great idea to use sweet tart dough! Your tart looks pretty with sliced strawberry on top!

    Reply
  • 22. foodlibrarian  |  May 1, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Cute! Love the strawberry on top. It’s flirty!

    Reply
  • 23. Jules  |  May 2, 2009 at 8:02 am

    That looks good enough to eat! Nice job.

    Reply
  • 24. Di  |  May 3, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Nice job on the tarts! I definitely recommend putting the whipped cream on these–it makes for a really nice contrast with the filling.

    Reply
  • 25. Braggi  |  July 5, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Re: absinthe. There is no “filter” that can remove thujone from absinthe and modern absinthes contain as much as pre-ban absinthes did, which is to say, practically none. Not that it makes any difference because thujone, while mildly psychoactive, is not “hallucinogenic” at any dose so absinthe will never, and has never, made anyone “see green fairies.”

    There is no substantial difference between pre-ban and modern absinthes, and there is no difference between European made vs. US made absinthes, except that most of the brands out of Europe are horrible and not worth drinking.

    Read online reviews at the Wormwood Society or Le Fée Verte before buying to avoid the lousy brands. Avoid especially Le Tourmet Verte, Le Fée, anything from the Czech Republic and anything that includes “strong” in the name.

    Reply
  • 26. Braggi  |  July 5, 2009 at 10:26 am

    BTW, in the expression, “Absinthe makes the tart grow fonder.” Earnest Doud, the English poet, wasn’t taling about food back in the 1870s. See below:
    tart 2 (tärt)
    n.
    1. a. A pastry shell with shallow sides, no top crust, and any of various fillings.
    b. Chiefly British A pie.
    2. a. A prostitute.
    b. A woman considered to be sexually promiscuous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,681 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


