Foodie Question of the Day

April 22, 2009 at 4:54 pm 12 comments


(image source: Ninecooks)

How do you defrost beef, chicken and/or seafood?

(1) If I plan ahead far enough I will defrost in my frig overnight. (Rarely happens b/c I am Miss Dinner Procrastinator.)

(2) If I have a few hours I’ll defrost in a bowl with some cold water. (Usually if I remember at work I’ll call my husband to do it for me.)

(3) If I am in a big hurry I’ll microwave-defrost. (I prefer this method only as a last resort b/c meat always ends up with a weird taste. Maybe it’s just my microwave? *shrugs)

PS. Funny story. I accidentally got tongue-tied and told my coworker “Happy Hump The Earth Day”. Obviously my brain couldn’t decide between “Happy Hump Day” and “Happy Earth Day”. Doh! *smacks head*

Entry filed under: Foodie Question of the Day.

Bunday Monday Bunday Monday

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  April 22, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I’m the same process as you — though I don’t have a husband home to save me.

    So we eat vegetarian too much. Or we’ll probably have frozen pizza tonight! I”m too tired to cook!!

    Reply
  • 2. Tracey  |  April 22, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    I either do 1 or 2 – though more often than not it’s 2. I never defrost in the microwave because, like you said, I think it makes the meat taste weird.

    Reply
  • 3. zebe912  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I’ve started doing option 2 more, especially with shrimp. That I can defrost pretty quickly with a couple “doses” of water. A lot of times I cook without defrosting though.

    Reply
  • 4. chocolatechic  |  April 23, 2009 at 4:56 am

    If I plan far enough ahead, I let it sit on my counter till the very last minute, then I stick it in the microwave.

    Reply
  • 5. stephchows  |  April 23, 2009 at 6:41 am

    1 and 2 for sure, never the microwave though… it does taste weird. If I’m at the point of 3, I normally just make something else, or make a pit stop at the store for non frozen chicken/protein :D That’s pretty much what happened the other night so my totally tasty calazone was sans meat. You seriously need to try the dough recipe though, it’s so freakin easy I LOVE IT!

    Reply
  • 6. saoirsediarmuid  |  April 23, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Always 1 and 2, but never 3 because it makes it rubbery and taste weird. The only time I do something different is if I need to brown ground beef or ground turkey, then I put the whole thing straight into the pan while it’s frozen and heat it on low. It takes a few minutes, but you just keep turning it over.

    You can always boil chicken while it’s frozen too! Great for chicken and dumplings, or boiling it for chicken salad.

    Reply
  • 7. Alanna  |  April 23, 2009 at 7:48 am

    My answers are exactly the same as yours. I don’t like using the microwave either, because the edges always seem to get cooked, and that grosses me out.

    Reply
  • 8. Jenn  |  April 23, 2009 at 8:10 am

    it’s not just your microwave! on those nights, i order ;)

    Reply
  • 9. fergojisan  |  April 23, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I don’t use the mike anymore, but when I did it was just for ground beef. I rarely ever have the foresight to thaw stuff in the fridge, because it usually takes 2 days. It’s usually the top of the fridge for 5 hours (we have 7 cats, one made off with a defrosting roast from the counter once), or under running water/submerged in water till it’s ready. I learned that from chefs that I used to work with. Not the most sanitary way, of course. :)

    Reply
  • 10. Alyssa  |  April 23, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    On week days, right before i leave the house (around 7:55 and 8:00) I take the chicken or seafood out of the freezer. When I come home, (around 4:30 and 5:00) it is ready to be used.

    Reply
  • 11. Girl Japan  |  April 23, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    I usually take it out the night before and let it defrost in the fridge, if I am in a hurry I microwave on high = )

    Reply
  • 12. Mary  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I laugh in the face of food safety and tend to defrost on a plate on the countertop overnight. Or if it’s packed in plastic I’ll run cold water on it. Unfortunately our pig and cow are wrapped in butcher paper so if those don’t defrost in enough time on the counter I go with the microwave.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,507 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


