TWD #60: Do you believe in magic?

April 14, 2009 at 5:20 am 39 comments

♪Do you believe in magic?♪♫

I have no idea why that song is stuck in my head! It’s driving me nuts. I don’t even know who sings it and where it’s from. I think it’s a show? or movie? Argh! I am gonna go crazy trying to figure it out… Don’t you hate when that happens?

[Insert transition sentence here]

I was iffy about making last week’s Banana Cream Pie b/c well… I am a banana hater. By the time I decided on an Unbanana Cream Pie Tuesday turned into Thursday. Where does the time go? (Sorry Amy!)

I was already feeling guilty about skipping the last 2 weeks so I knew I couldn’t skip this week especially since our hostess is Holly of Phemomenon. Isn’t her blog name so stinkin’ cute? Seriously pink puffy heart this girl! You can find the complete recipe on her blog. Honestly don’t stop at just this recipe either. She’s a super blogger. She’s even been on TV!

*bowing down, mumbling… I’m not worthy*

Sorry I’ve been such a Tuesdays With Dorie slacker. Haven’t been that motivated to get in the kitchen lately. I guess I am in a little baking funk. It happens.

What I learned this week:
I’ve never had an amaretti cookie before and I’m kinda iffy about whether I like it or not. I might need another cookie (or 10) before I can make up my mind. But lucky for me I am willing to take that challenge all in the name of science.


Fifteen Minute Magic: Chocolate Amaretti Torte
Recipe from Baking: From My Home To Yours, Dorie Greenspan


I halved the recipe and used 2-4inch springform pans. I was kinda lazy and omitted the parchment paper hint. Bad idea! The torte stuck to the bottom of the pan. It wasn’t terrible but I did lose some of the torte to pan stickage. You should do as Dorie says and not what I do mkay?


I bought my amaretti cookies from Starbucks (Go figure!) and used the whole 1.75oz box (minus one cookie that I ate to make sure they weren’t poisonous. Obviously) processed with whole unblanched almonds.


Since I halved the recipe it was a little tricky halving 3 eggs so I kinda just estimated 1 egg and 1/2 of another. I wonder if there’s an easier technique to halve eggs? maybe by weight?


Look at all the sugar, egg, butter, chocolate, amaretti and almond goodness…


Mmmm… ganache


I divided the batter between 2-4inch springforms and I baked my mini tortes for about 25 minutes.


Pouring the ganache over the torte was my favorite part!


The innards remind me of a brownie texture. Call me weird but I love innard pictures of desserts.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A-
He ate his little mini torte in one sitting but said it wasn’t his favorite.

Wifey rating: A-
I liked the torte (it reminds me of a brownie texture) but I guess I am not a BIG chocolate on chocolate person so it was a little rich for me. Also wasn’t too keen on the little almond bits. They kept getting caught between my teeth!

Next week: Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding pages 410-411

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie.

Bunday Monday English Muffin Margherita Pizzas

39 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chocolatechic  |  April 14, 2009 at 5:33 am

    They look scrumptious.

    Reply
  • 2. Steph  |  April 14, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Great progress pics, but I miss seeing the KA..ahha.

    Reply
    • 3. CB  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:39 am

      It’s actually kinda good that we only needed food processor for this one. My KAM’s been in the sink since Sunday. HAHA

      Reply
  • 4. Leslie  |  April 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

    These are beautiful! I think doing the mini springform made them adorable.

    Reply
  • 5. Clivia  |  April 14, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Your cake looks delicious. I agree that the cake was too rich but a fun learning experience.

    Reply
  • 6. Joelen  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I love that you used mini springform pans. I used a springform pan as well and really thought it made it easier! Looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 7. Tracey  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Love all your pics. I used mini springform pans too (though I just made one torte)! Yours looks like it turned out a little thicker than mine. Like you, I found this a bit too rich. Next time I’d either leave the ganache off or get a big scoop of vanilla ice cream.

    Reply
  • 8. Teanna  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:26 am

    That song is SO stuck in my head now! The torte looks great ;)

    Reply
  • 9. stephchows  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Me and amaretto are best friends :) I made some amaretti amaretto cheesecake awhile back… it’s seriously my favorite thing in the world. so fn good!!!!

    http://stephchows.blogspot.com/2009/02/amaretto-amaretti-chocolate-cheesecake.html

    I couldn’t find a big box of the cookies though so I had to make my own. YUM :D

    Reply
    • 10. stephchows  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:55 am

      PS that song was used for mcdonalds happy meal commercials in the 80’s :D

      Reply
      • 11. CB  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:43 am

        MickeyDs? That doesn’t ring a bell. I was a wee little baby in the 80s. I wanna say its from a movie but I can’t put my finger on it! ARRGGGHHH!

        Reply
    • 13. CB  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:42 am

      Oh dang. Did you say cheesecake? Hmmm… I do have some amaretti cookies left over… You in trouble now!

      Reply
      • 14. stephchows  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:45 am

        Seriously girl, FAVORITE dessert EVER. totally amazing and worth making right now… I don’t care that it’s the morning and I’m at work… I want to go make one so I can eat it :D

        Reply
  • 15. Karen  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Those look beautiful even if they stuck! I liked pouring the ganache as well but didn’t realize it would spill so much over the edge.

    Reply
  • 16. Cathy  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Love your minis! I was wondering if I should have processed the almonds/cookies longer, because I didn’t love the bits either; to me it kind of ruined the texture. I love your process pix, and your tortes look beautiful (I loves me a good innard picture too!)

    Reply
  • 17. Holly  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Thanks for baking with me! I am glad you guys liked it. I am totally into the innards pictures too! : ) I big pink puffy heart you too!

    Reply
  • 18. Marthe  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Your tortes look perfect! I wasn’t crazy about them though….

    Reply
  • 19. Teanna  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:59 am

    That song is SO stuck in my head now!!!! Sorry it wasn’t a favorite, but an A- is pretty good in my book! They look great!

    Reply
  • 20. Cristine  |  April 14, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Great pictures! I love innard pics, too! :)

    Reply
  • 21. foodlibrarian  |  April 14, 2009 at 10:52 am

    This is so cute! I love mini desserts.

    Reply
  • 22. Kara  |  April 14, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Love the mini-springforms. Hm. Another item to add to my Cooks Warehouse list. *grin*

    Reply
  • 23. Leanne  |  April 14, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I love your mini springforms. I had to get them because I saw yours and I am so glad I did. I use them all the time! I didn’t like the chocolate on chocolate as much as I thought I would. But still very very good. The batter was the best part though.

    Reply
  • 24. pinkstripes  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Your mini-tortes look fantastic. I’m glad they were a success for you.

    Reply
  • 25. Carolyn  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Looks great! When I halve recipes, and you have to have the eggs.. thats when I break into the “egg beaters” easy to half an egg (1 egg= 1/4 c egg beaters) .. so you just use an 1/8th. Kinda cheating, but you would never know the difference. :)

    Reply
    • 26. CB  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:44 pm

      Thanks for the halving egg tip! Might have to pick me up some eggbeaters next time I’m at the grocery store :)

      Reply
  • 27. Jill  |  April 14, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Your minis look great! I really really wanted to skip the parchment too, but I forced myself to use it. We must listen to Dorie!

    Reply
  • 28. Peggy  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    based on everyone’s photos, I think I totally used the wrong cookies, but it turned out great! Yours is beautiful. great job girl!!

    Reply
  • 29. teaandscones  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Lovely little tortes. Great job.

    Reply
  • 30. Jill  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Hi Clara – I’ve only used the Smart Balance sticks a couple of times, but so far so good. I don’t think I would have been able to tell the difference in this torte. I probably wouldn’t use them for something like a shortbread that’s mostly butter, but I’ll be trying it in other recipes and will report the results! The nice thing is that they’re kind of soft already, so not so much softening time needed!

    Reply
    • 31. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:53 am

      Thanks Jill! Looking forward to your Smart Balance baking experiments :)

      Reply
  • 32. pamela  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:30 am

    I hear you on the baking funk!! The minis look fabulous! Take care.

    Reply
  • 33. vibi  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:09 am

    LOL LOL LOL Only at the last minute did I think of coming to let you know this was a great time to use that almond filling thingy to top that tort! …then I didn’t see your post today and felt even more terrible not to have told you… so… thank goodness, you ended up not using the cream topping! LOL LOL LOL

    The minis look great even without! …I hope you end up liking the amaretti (for all the science that goes into it, of course!), I sure did! Like a little shot of strait up Amaretto!!! LOL

    Reply
  • 34. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  April 15, 2009 at 11:30 am

    they look so good–i give you an A+!

    Reply
  • 35. carolina  |  April 15, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Super! I want to get some little itty tinsy weenie pans like thaat!

    Reply
  • 36. Shari  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    I want your mini springform pans! Amaretti cookies do take a bit of time to love! I’m hooked now. But I wasn’t at first. I’ve been polishing off this dessert at our house! Yours looks wonderful!

    Reply
  • 37. kim  |  April 17, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    they look awesome! i love how the unglazed cake actually looks like the amaretti :)
    oh and that (annoyingly catchy) song… besides the mcd’s, they also sang it in the movie american pie:)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Do_You_Believe_in_Magic_(song)

    Reply
    • 38. CB  |  April 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm

      Yes! American Pie!! Omg that was driving me crazy. Thanks for saving my sanity. Whew!

      Reply
  • 39. My little caravan craft workshops for kids  |  March 26, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    My little caravan craft workshops for kids

    TWD #60: Do you believe in magic? | I♥food4thought

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,875 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


