English Muffin Margherita Pizzas

April 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm 16 comments

Who doesn’t remember English Muffin Pizzas? english muffins, canned spaghetti sauce, LOTS of mozzarella cheese and pepperoni slices. Ah yeah…

I think it’s like a rule or something that if you’re a mom you learn to make these before you give birth, right? Probably between the *heeheewhoo* and push parts in lamaze class. Maybe it’s in Dr. Spock’s book too. I wouldn’t be surprised.

Last week my coworker mentioned eating English Muffin Pizzas with her kidlets and ever since then I’ve been craving them. (No, I am not pregnant.) I think it’s like eating at MickeyDs for me. It’s nostalgic of my childhood. Happy meals and English Muffin Pizzas. I was a happy child.

As luck would have it, Matt from Daregal Herbs, contacted me a couple weeks ago about trying some fresh frozen herbs. I did a double take and re-read the email again. Fresh AND frozen? Isn’t that an oxymoron? But I think we all know that I like free stuff (What? he said the magic word: Free) so I said “Sure, I’ll try your fresh frozen herbs.”

*cuckoo cuckoo*


(image source: Daregal Fresh Frozen Herbs)

I was expecting a little box of whatever but Matt hooked me up! He sent me a sample of 8 different herb and herb combinations: basil, parsley, cilantro, oregano, dill flavors and herbal blends (original blend, Italian blend and grilling blend).

So I took it as a sign. A sign to give into my craving for english muffin pizza with a little more sophistication of classic margherita pizza flavors: tomatoes, basil, mozzarella cheese, balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

What did I think of the herbs? SO.FREAKING.AWESOME. Finally a way to have herbs all year around. They are a little pricey but I’d pay it and more for the ease of having herbs in your freezer anytime you need it. Honestly. It almost pains me to say that the herbs proved me wrong. I hate being wrong. But those herbs make everything so right. I am officially in love.

Warning: Looking at picture may produce side affects that include instant salivation and licking lips.


Recipe adapted from Cooking Light, Dec 2002

INGREDIENTS

6 english muffins (12 halves)
1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 garlic clove, halved
5 plum tomatoes, thinly sliced (I used 10 cherry tomatoes, chopped)
shredded fresh mozzarella cheese, to taste
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped (I used Daregal frozen basil, sprinkle to taste)
salt and pepper, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Combine oil and balsamic vinegar in small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Set aside.

Toast english muffin halves in toaster on lowest setting. Remove from toaster and brush with olive oil. Rub english muffin halves with cut sides of garlic.

[NOTES: Recipe didn’t say what to do with the leftover garlic so I minced it up and added it to the oil-balsamic vinegar mixture. Cant waste any garlic!]

Sprinkle evenly with cheese, tomatoes and basil. Bake at 400° for 10 minutes or until cheese melts and edges are golden. Brush the vinegar mixture evenly over the pizza. Sprinkle mini pizzas evenly with salt and pepper.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A/A+
He loved the pizzas but mentioned that a little protein wouldn’t hurt. What’s up with men and protein?

Wifey rating: A+
So easy and what’s not to love about mini pizzas? You could probably skip toasting the english muffin before brushing with olive oil but I like my pizzas a little crunchy.

Other rating: A+
My little brother came over for dinner and helped me make them. (He’s going away to college next year *sniff* so he wanted to learn how to make something easy to cook.) He absolutely loved this recipe and mentioned that I saved him from the next 4 years of ramen. HAHA

Entry filed under: pizza. Tags: , .

TWD #60: Do you believe in magic? Bunday Monday

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joelen  |  April 14, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    English muffins are underrated and are great outside of breakfast! These look delicious and now I’m craving pizza… lol

    Reply
    • 2. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:43 am

      I know! I use to eat them ALL.THE.TIME as a little kid but for some reason I forgot about them until recently after talking to my CW. So glad they are back in my life… haha

      Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:25 am

    YUM!!!!!!! I LOVE english muffin pizzas! Totally my comfort food. But these certainly take them up another notch! :)

    Reply
    • 4. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:45 am

      Thanks Katie! Now I have all sorts of pizza ideas with english muffins. Those english muffins are so versatile. haha

      Reply
  • 5. stephchows  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:40 am

    holy&#(t those look good… whoops you’re not supposed to curse in blog comments are you ;) I WANT ONE!!!

    Reply
    • 6. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:46 am

      No worries. You covered your cursing well. I didn’t wanna have to ban you or something. LOL

      Reply
  • 7. Nazarina A  |  April 15, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Your pictures are beautiful! This English muffin looks to die for good! Simple, yet so appeasing!

    Reply
    • 8. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      Thank you! Been trying to work on my photography skills. Appreciate your compliments :)

      Reply
  • 9. pinkstripes  |  April 15, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Oh, yes. I remember these pizzas. How fun! They look great.

    Reply
    • 10. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:35 pm

      I swear while eating them I was transformed back to a little kid. Does you love when food does that?

      Reply
  • 11. zebe912  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Those look yummmmmmy! We actually made these in 7th grade home-ec as a starter project. I need to find some gluten free muffins to try this with since gluten free pizza crust is very hit or miss.

    I like to marinate diced up chicken breast in italian salad dressing and then throw it under the broiler for a few minutes to then put on pizza like this. It goes really well with the basil & tomato that way and would give T his protein.

    Reply
    • 12. CB  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

      Ooohh thanks for the chicken+italian dressing tip! Totally gonna do that the next time I bake these up. Hubs will love it :)

      Reply
  • 13. Maria  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:55 am

    These are fun to make! SO easy and tasty too!

    Reply
    • 14. CB  |  April 18, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      Exactly! My kind of meal. ;)

      Reply
  • 15. Elizabeth  |  April 19, 2009 at 11:46 am

    I remember making English Muffin pizzas as a special event in kindergarten. I thought I was a gourmet chef after that. I’m sure my mother loved it. ;)

    Reply
    • 16. CB  |  April 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Is it bad that I still feel like a gourmet chef making english muffin pizzas? It has basil. I think that makes it gourmet. haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,328 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


