*Snap* *Crackle* *POPS*

April 5, 2009 at 6:58 am 36 comments

Remember I said I wasn’t one to give up easily?

I’m backkkkkkkkk…

Obviously I am far from a professional cake pop-er like Bakerella so I thought you all would appreciate seeing my dipping… ahem… mishap… from first time.

I am happy to report that take two was better than the first run. *whew* Second generation survived the dipping process. I think they had better health insurance? LOL. Or maybe it was because I actually read the instructions more closely and realized I had forgotten a crucial step (dip the lollipop stick into chocolate before inserting into cake pop). Doh! *smacks head*

After making the cupcake pops, I decided to be a little more adventurous and attempt the Hello Kitty pops too. Don’t get me wrong. Hello Kitty is cute (who could resist that little red bow?) but I was more of a frog fan when I was younger. *wink*

Oh who am I kidding? I still heart Sanrio.


Hello Kitty and Kerokerokerropi POPS!
Recipe adapted from Bakerella

Makes about 40 cupcake pops

INGREDIENTS
1-13X9 baked cake (I used Betty Crocker Chocolate Cake mix)
1 can cream cheese frosting
1 package green candy melts
1 package white candy melts (set aside some disks for eyes)
black food safe marker
lollipop sticks
garnish (round sprinkles, M&M, jumbo heart sprinkles, white chocolate chips)

[NOTES: I used Mercken brand candy melts. Even though you might have extra candy melts left over, I like to melt more than less. Makes dipping easier.]

INSTRUCTIONS

Bake a 9×13 cake from a mix or from scratch and cool completely.

Crumble cake into a fine consistency into a large bowl. To make it easy, you can run it through a food processor. Add a can of cream cheese frosting. Blend thoroughly.


Prepare a wax paper lined baking sheet. Roll cake mixture into 1.25-1.5″ size balls and lay on baking sheet. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for several hours. (You can also freeze for about 15 minutes if you are short on time.)

[NOTES: I used my digital scale and weighed each cake ball at about 1.0 oz]

Remove cake balls from refrigerator and begin to mold into oval shape. (I use my thumb and index has a guide.) Set on a wax paper covered cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining balls. Cover and return to refrigerator overnight. (You can also freeze for 5-10 minutes.)

Melt white and green candy melts per package instructions in large bowls. (Melt as needed b/c it hardens the longer it sits.) Remove the oval cake balls from freezer and prepare another wax paper covered cookie sheet. Dip end of lollipop stick into the melted chocolate before inserting into chocolate bottoms. Insert the lollipop sticks. Continue with rest of the pops.

[NOTES: Don’t skip dipping your lollipop stick into chocolate before inserting into cake ball. You don’t want my “mishap” to happen to you!]


I used a long cup to dip. Made it much easier than a bowl for me. Make sure it’s a microwave safe cup though. You might have to nuke the candy melt again mid-dipping.

Let chocolate set completely, about 15-20 minutes.

To make Hello Kitty:
Attach 2 white chocolate chips to the top of cake pop for “ears”. Let set upright in a styrofoam block. Dip the cake pop into melted white candy melt. Rotate and let excess chocolate drip off. Let set. Attach 2 jumbo hearts and red M&M for bow and yellow circle sprinkle for nose with a little melted candy melt. Let set. To create the eyes and whiskers, draw freehand with food safe marker.

To make Kerokerokeroppi:
Make eyes out of reserved white candy melt disks and food safe marker. Dip the cake pop into melted green candy melt. Rotate and let excess chocolate drip off. Let set upright in a styrofoam block. Attach eyes and pink circle sprinkle (for cheeks) with a little melted candy melt. Let set. Draw mouth with food safe marker.

[NOTES: My food safe marker wasn’t working so I used a (food dedicated) paintbrush and Ateco black food gel.]

To complete the presentation, cover the cupcake pops in a little plastic bag and tie with a ribbon.

ENJOY!

Husband rating: A
He was impressed with how much they looked like the characters but insisted that I should have used red velvet instead of chocolate cake. Sheesh.

Wifey rating: A+
I think my Hello Kitty and Keroppi pops turned out pretty darn cute. Next time I’ll probably splurge on the mini red M&Ms for the bow but the regular was a good substitution too.

Other rating: A+
My CW told me that her daughters ADORED the Hello Kitty pops and didn’t want to eat them. Eventually they did and loved the cake+frosting+chocolate combination. And I *think* I heard myself say I’d make 80 pops for her daughter’s birthday next month… eek!!

Entry filed under: cake. Tags: , , .

Taste & Create: Let Them Eat (Cup)Cake Bunday Monday

36 Comments

  • 1. Mary  |  April 5, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Oh fine. You are just ridiculously talented. With your pops I thought oh those are cute and I could make those. Now with Hello Kitty and Kerokerokeroppi I just give up and bow to your greatness. :)

    • 2. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:48 am

      Psshah! Whatever! I couldn’t even draw straight whiskers on Hello Kitty! LOL

  • 3. junko  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

    these are just about the cutest things ever!! adorable!

    • 4. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:48 am

      Thank you!

  • 5. Tania  |  April 5, 2009 at 9:12 am

    KEROPPI!!!

    I haven’t seen him since Korea!! I LOVE HIM!

    My Aunt nicknamed me “Toady” when I was little. And the frog collection that ensued is outta control! Good think my hubby doesn’t mind!

    These are awesome. You ROCK!

    Smooch,
    Tania

    • 6. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:51 am

      LOL @ Toady! I use to be obsessed with Keroppi when I was younger but then the bunny addiction took over and the frog got bounced. I still have a special place for him though. I can’t walk into a Sanrio store without getting a new keroppi pen ;)

  • 7. Tracey  |  April 5, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Wow, those are so fabulous! I’m really impressed. I love the frog :)

    • 8. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:51 am

      I have to admit the frog came out pretty darn cute. I love the pink cheeks. I think that made it for me.

  • 9. Amy  |  April 5, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Awesome job. I keep telling myself I am going to try these one day and then I always lose my nerve. Kudos to you for trying again, they look great!

    Thank you for the inspiration!

    ;) amy

    • 10. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:55 am

      You can do iiiiiiiiiiit! Conquer your cupcake pop fear. It takes some time but they are fun to make. I think I squealed after the first one came out well. hehe

  • 11. food librarian  |  April 5, 2009 at 11:05 am

    damn. these are too cute! great job. i love hello kitty too!

    • 12. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Thanks! You can have the Hello Kitty ones. I’ll take the Keroppi. Deal? ;)

  • 13. NinaBeth  |  April 5, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    So cute Clara!! The frog is adorable!!

    • 14. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Thanks Neeners! I am partial to the frog too.

  • 15. Linda  |  April 5, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Dang CB… taking s back in time. A blast from the past. I love it! Thanks for taking me back to my childhood. I love Sanrio characters.

    cute cute cute.

    • 16. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:58 am

      I know right? I was thinking I might have to do Pochacco next time.

      • 17. Andrea  |  May 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm

        Please do!!

  • 18. hellokittyjunkie  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Pretty awesome! @_@

    • 19. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:58 am

      Thanks! Guessing the Hello Kitty pops are your favorite? ;)

  • 20. Lianne  |  April 6, 2009 at 2:40 am

    cute touch to the pops! (: hehe

    • 21. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:59 am

      Thanks so much!

  • 22. vibi  |  April 6, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Yeahhhhh! You got it baby!

    Those are absolutely delightful! bravo!

    • 23. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 6:00 am

      Wheeee! I feel so accomplished. hehe

  • 24. Maria  |  April 6, 2009 at 6:26 am

    LOVE the pops! You did a fabulous job.

    • 25. CB  |  April 6, 2009 at 6:28 am

      ah shucks. You’re making me *blush*.

  • 26. stephchows  |  April 6, 2009 at 7:07 am

    I love the frog!!! The eyeballs say it all :D

    • 27. CB  |  April 7, 2009 at 7:10 pm

      The eyeballs are ginormous huh? I am loving the pink little cheeks myself.

  • 28. debbmarie  |  April 7, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Well the second effort was definately worth it! They look great. I am adding “pops” to my “gotta try it someday” list.
    Debbie

    • 29. CB  |  April 7, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      You totally should!

  • 30. Carol Peterman  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Awesome! You are officially a pop-over-achiever!

    • 31. CB  |  April 7, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      LOL @ pop overachiever. I have a feeling that Bakerella already holds that title ;)

  • 32. Just a Girl  |  April 8, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Oh.. I love Kitty Chan, you did a fabulous job by her!!!!

    • 33. CB  |  April 8, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      Kitty Chan? I am gonna use my superhuman powers of deduction and guess that chan=hello? haha

  • 34. Heather E  |  May 31, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    too cute…i’m almost sold on this whole cake pops thing. i will have to make them very soon!

    • 35. CB  |  May 31, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      You should! They take some time but they are very fun.

  • 36. snooky doodle  |  June 8, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    How cute the hello kitty pops:)


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 230,067 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


