Um… yeah. About those cupcake pops.

March 29, 2009 at 8:46 pm 12 comments

I fail.

Maybe I should just stick to REAL cupcakes.

Me and “C.Pop” met through a mutual friend but realized quickly that it’s gonna take more than a first date to be BFF. Let’s just say that more than a few of my pops drowned a slow chocolate-y death. Who knew dipping cake into chocolate was a talent that I didn’t possess? (They are slippery suckers!)

Please take a moment of silence for the fallen.

Don’t worry. I am not one to give up quickly. Actually my personality can quickly change failure into an obsession. Therefore the 2nd batch of cake balls is chilling in the frig as I type this blog post. Maybe I should run out to the grocery store for some lifesavers?

(That was my attempt at a joke. Just laugh dammit!)

Entry filed under: random.

Let’s the popping begin! Bunday Monday

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. saoirsediarmuid  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    C. Pop amd me ain’t even on a first name basis yet. There’s no proof, but I swear I heard C. making snide comments about my shoes.

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    For reals! First, I rolled the cake balls last night and ate a few before I went to bed. And got sick. Then I tried to use plastic cutters (instead of metal) to shape the balls, and it was an unholy mess. So, I ate another two and got sick again. And that’s when I realized the cake balls were MAKING me sick, and I threw them away. Maybe the canned frosting was bad? No idea. I had no cake pop mojo last night. FAIL.

    Reply
  • 3. Natalie  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Aww, I’m sorry. I will say that the chocolate dipping stuff does take a loong time to harden!! I’ve never tried the C.Pops. Just other things. I was waiting all day for your pops.

    Sundays are like the worst baking days for me — church meetings all day — so I’ll have to try another time.

    Reply
  • 4. saoirsediarmuid  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Huh, every time I ate a cake ball my tummy started rolling too. Was feeling crappy so I called it the cramps and such, but nothing else I’vebeen eating has baothered my tummy.

    Reply
  • 5. Caitlin  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:54 am

    Not gonna lie – gloppy chocolate coating? I’ve been there too. And the pops falling apart in the chocolate. Lots of sad cupcake pop deaths. Hope the next batch goes better!

    Reply
  • 6. stephchows  |  March 30, 2009 at 6:37 am

    mmm cake balls :D You can do it!!!!! Dip that cake!!!!! :D

    Reply
  • 7. Kristen  |  March 30, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Skip the cupcake pops and make the cupcake bites instead: http://bakerella.blogspot.com/2008/05/cupcake-bites-made-easy.html, they’re so much easier…I promise!

    Reply
  • 8. zebe912  |  March 30, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I wanna see pics of the casualties. I’m one for spooning my melty chocolate onto stick-dependent objects. Or a chocolate fountain. Those come in handy for lots of things!

    Reply
  • 9. Alanna  |  March 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Girl, I know what you mean. I didn’t accept your challenge, because when I tried to make those cake ball/ truffle things for Christmas, they melted into ooey gooey disgusting globs. I will never ever try anything like that again! I’ll leave it to Bakerella… :)

    Reply
  • 10. Elizabeth - Cake or Death?  |  March 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Much sympathy…they can be brutal. I like to either use really good molding chocolate, or thin out the candy melts with mucho shortening, otherwise it’s just a gloopy mess.

    Reply
  • 11. Bakerella  |  March 30, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Nooooooo. Say it isn’t so. If you have any ?s, email me.

    Reply
  • 12. Holly  |  March 31, 2009 at 10:04 am

    You know, I tried them once before and they bombed. I made them this time and they still weren’t what I wanted, but I don’t think it was the recipe, I think it was just me. These little darlings just take some practice I guess. On top of that, my pictures were all horrible for some reason so I bailed on posting it. My friends that ate them thought they were amazing though, so that is something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 229,665 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


